We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Support local artists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northrup King Building

Northrup King Building
1500 Jackson St. N.E, Minneapolis, MN 55413
612 363 5612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 276 things to do in Minneapolis
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Support local artists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Go to their website and check out their open house dates. Great time to visit with local artists and purchase locally.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

An entire building of artists studios, the NKB is great way to view local contemporary art, and talk with the artists themselves! The NKB is close to lots of great bars and restaurants, as well. Come during Art-A-Whirl, a major art crawl event put on by the North East Minneapolis Artists' Association, and tour many of the other buildings in Northeast featuring local art.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Time at Art-A-Whirl”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This was the first time that I had visited the Art-A-Whirl. This was, actually, an amazing experience, though I didn't enjoy everything--all of the art. Of course, the diversity of art and styles was impressive.

The Northrup King building itself is quite interesting. It's an old industrial building that still has all of its character. It's great that the renovation left most of the building largely intact.

It's also fascinating to see how a lot of artists have galleries and work space in the building.

In conclusion, it's definitely a must-see if you live in the Twin Cities or are a visitor who loves visiting local artists' stands.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC metro area
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great fun at Art-a-Whirl 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I admit that I'm biased (I have a relative whose studio is in the building), but I really had a great time visiting all of the artists and seeing their work at the 2012 Art-A-Whirl. You have an opportunity to view the work of many, many artists who work in a very diverse range of media - from textiles to ceramic to photography - and much more. Works are housed on multiple floors, and prices range from very affordable pieces to enormous works that are priced accordingly. Wish I lived in Minneapolis so I could visit more often!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Collection of Artists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The works are really outstanding and the artists are kind and gracious. Go on first Thursdays to get a feel for the entire place and go back to specific studios at your convenience (and the artists) for a more in-depth discussion.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northrup King Building also viewed

 

Been to Northrup King Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northrup King Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.