We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Museum with Visiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minneapolis Institute of Arts

Minneapolis Institute of Arts
2400 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404
612 870 3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 87 Attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel through 4,000 years of world history as you view more than 80,000 works of sculpture, photography, paintings, drawings and prints.
nyc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Museum with Visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

We saw the Italian Fashion Exhibit, which I enjoyed. It was fun to see designed from the past and some more recent designs. It didn't compare well with fashion exhibits Imhave seen at The Metropolitan Mseum of Art in Nyc, however. We enjoyed the art, especially the Impressionists like Renoir. There were many students there when we went and it was nice to see the Museum filled with all ages!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    104
    11
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cruz Bay, St. John
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Arts Mecca of the Midwest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This arts complex displays its diverse collection in a setting that rivals DC, Chicago, New York, London, Berlin, or Paris.

The old building, itself a work of art, was fortunately left mostly unspoiled by the "modern" wings added in the last part of the 20th Century.

The Institute is a gratifying full- or multi- day visit for the arts aficionado. I have been there many times since I was a kid, and learned something new with each visit.

The grounds are also a treat for young and old to experience during the summer.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An exhibit you won't want to miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

The MIA has exceptional exhibits overall, but "Italian Style:Fashion Since 1945" is an exhibit that should not be missed. Takes one through Italian fashion from 1945 through 2014. It ends in mid-December, so make plans to see it. I visited this exhibit twice.

Beyond this exhibit, the MIA offers innumerable opportunities to experience art from around the globe and through all ages. A superior arts institution.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best of the Twin Cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

A remarkable place! We always make it a must-see when entertaining foreign visitors.
If you have a person in your party who usea a walker, they will check your walker for free and furnish you with an electric cart (also free). Great service and much appreciated.
Nice restaurant and gift shop.
Free admittance for all.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Its a great place for free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

It has a fabulous collection on its own. Great guest exhibits also. Take the whole family. Great place for a date.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minneapolis Institute of Arts also viewed

 

Been to Minneapolis Institute of Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minneapolis Institute of Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.