We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum. And no admission fee.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minneapolis Institute of Arts

Minneapolis Institute of Arts
2400 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55404
612 870 3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 270 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel through 4,000 years of world history as you view more than 80,000 works of sculpture, photography, paintings, drawings and prints.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent museum. And no admission fee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We visited this wonderful museum on a Sunday afternoon with many of the city's inhabitants joining us. We went to see China's Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses. Excellent exhibit, lots of people but well managed. Knowledgable curators were speaking to the crowds about the exhibit. Really was worth seeing. That aside the museum has done a good job exhibiting their collections which are varied and extensive. There is a nice place to buy lunch and even a beer or wine. Before we realized it we were there almost three hours. Time flew while we were having fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    124
    14
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Third greatest museum in America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I always visit art museums when I travel, and the only American museums that rival the amazing collections of the MIA are the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC and the Philadelphia Miseum of Art. Donr miss the amazing collection of Chinese art and architecture, and the Prairie School design collections.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Get an annual membership”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

With an annual membership you get information on the latest exhibits and free or reduced admission. Recently was wowed by the Rembrandt exhibit - learned of the challenges in determining if the work is an original or one of his students. Also seeing the exhibit from the first Chinese emperor's tomb including the terracotta warriors was wonderful, knowing I'm not going to get to this part of China to see the entire excavation. I would recommend taking any tours offered by their docents. Helps you to see and appreciated art in a whole different way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have now been to two exhibitions - the Rembrandt showcase and Terra Cotta Warriors. Both were professionally displayed, and the background information was very good as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Minneapolis places!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The building and the art work is wonderful to walk through. This is the place I come to escape for the day. After strolling around I like to relax up in the the D'Amico cafe for coffee and a bite to eat. Other than the special exhibit that is visiting at the moment, the museum is free visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minneapolis Institute of Arts also viewed

 

Been to Minneapolis Institute of Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minneapolis Institute of Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.