We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for music and drinks !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triple Rock Social Club

Triple Rock Social Club
629 Cedar Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Cedar-Riverside)
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,598 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Vegan, Vegetarian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Cedar-Riverside
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Perfect place for music and drinks !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

One of the coolest venue in minneapolis to see live acts with good sound, beer and atmosphere.... A have to stop location ;-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, but make sure you are seated in front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Been here twice for breakfast after a couple races and have enjoyed the food both times. However, the second time, we were seated in the back room (near the band set-up area) and service was really, really slow....also, it's pretty dismal back there when it's 10 in the morning. Nonetheless, the food was still good and the drinks just as good. I'd recommend this place for your post-race or hangover cure breakfast!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You must have brunch here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The only down side of Sunday brunch at the Triple Rock Social Club is that it's small and has a dedicated following of patrons who show up just before it opens at 10 a.m. So just get there about 10 minutes earlier and you'll be good.

This is a punk rock bar and it looks like it - if you went to college in the 1980's you'll feel like old times. The Bloody Marys are generous and the food is terrific. They have vegan food but I was too focused on their Mother Biker (eggs, potatoes and cheese) to worry about a healthy diet. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oh Mother Biker, let me count the ways... vegan & omni brunch heaven with kick-butt staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Ah,T-Rock. Loud punk and 80s hair metal from the juke box, Star Wars memorabilia interspersed with naughty monkey tchotchkes, posters about bands and of course the obligatory PBR and bacon shwag... why of course you're the best vegan weekend brunch-spot in the Twin Cities.
Don't get me wrong, Pizza Luce, Modern on Chicago Ave., and Bryant-Lake-Bowl hold their own, but you just can't beat Mother Biker. ....Oh, Mother Biker. This nacho "cheeze" mistress of the late morning isn't just for vegans -- she made it to #12 on City Pages list of top tasty Twin Cities dishes in 2011. http://blogs.citypages.com/food/2011/04/the_triple_rock.php
I can't get enough of her, and eat here as often as possible with the hubby and with the best lady friends. Sure, there are other things on the menu. And i'm sure everything's good... except maybe the vegan pigs in a blanket, which are really bland...probably because they're meant for kids and not 40-year-old ladies who douse everything in hot sauce and drink whisky. (Oh, and sometimes there's one or two kids here, but their punk-lovin' parents are generally way more attentive and the kids better behaved than at other restaurants.)
The other great thing about this place: the staff.
Beth, the go-to weekend server in the front or main room, is an efficient wonder. Full room but you need another pot of coffee? Poof. It's there. Like magic. She and the bartender (who has an awesome Ferdinand the Bull tattoo) and the barback are fast and the perfect blend of tough (it is a bar) and friendly. Tip extra-well.
...Oh and I gave it a high rating for special occassions because the hubby and i have spent our anniversary here -- the annual July 4th D4 show. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Midwestern sandwiches of the Americas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had my reasons for wanting to come here. I left happier than when I arrived.

Cheap, quality drafts, cool bar staff, and above all... a mystery chef's special. It's called the "Chef's Revenge" and costs $9. They bring you "whatever the chef thinks you need."

Apparently the chef thought I needed a triple-decker sandwich filled with cheese and some kind of pulled spicy-BBQ chicken, atop a hillock of tater tots.

He wasn't wrong.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triple Rock Social Club also viewed

 

Been to Triple Rock Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triple Rock Social Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.