We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Save Saved
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed recently at the Forshay when we were forced by airline schedules to spend an extra night in Minneapolis. Easy access to everything including the freeway. Great bar and restaurant. The handle on the shower in room 2010 was a little loose and the dark purple paint showed every ding. Those are nitpicks but I try to do honest reviews. It's spendy but they do cash and points if you're on the Starwood system.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Alaskanabroad,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay, and it was a pleasure to have you for an extra night! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the fabulous onsite bar and restaurant scene, with Manny’s Steakhouse, The Living Room bar, and Prohibition all within the historic Foshay Tower!

My apologies you found the shower door handle loose and the paint did not meet your expectations in your guest room. I will be sure to address these issues with our engineering department right away, please see my direct message to obtain room information. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Minneapolis and the continental US!

Happy Holidays,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    195
    84
    30
    20
See reviews for
42
269
59
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

With a moto of whatever whenever, how could it not be a fantastic place to stay. I have been to the foshay several times to go the fantastic bars or to Manny's steakhouse, but never to stay in the hotel. This place has their stuff together! Everyone was pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are very nice and the location is second to none downtown. The breakfast at Manny's is delicious (must try the smoked bacon carved tableside). Spike the bartender makes a mean blackberry mojito too. The fireplace in the lobby was a welcoming place to sit and visit with friends and family with our favorite cocktail and relax.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a view above the surrounding buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Welcome, ritsriii,

Thank you for staying with us at W Minneapolis-The Foshay, what a pleasure to have you as our guest! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed some of the fabulous on property areas, including Manny’s steakhouse and relaxation and libations in the Living Room! Our doors are always open, and our talent is ready to accommodate Whatever/Whenever!

Cheers,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

To start, I got a great deal on the rate - a bit less than $125. In all, the property was a typical W property: modern, fun, lively, clean, and professional. If you've ever been to a W, you'll know exactly what to expect; no surprises. The bathroom was a great space. Having seen a few other hotels in the area that my colleagues were at, I'd say the W is among the best choices of comparably situated and priced hotels. Also notable: you can walk from the hotel to the convention center (and a number of other locations) via an indoor walkway, never stepping outside, which is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello Nate M,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the space of your guestroom, convenience of the downtown property, and accessibility to the Minneapolis skyway system! Looking forward to having you for another visit!

Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The only complaint I had was that there was no coffeemaker in the room. After my review the hotel wrote me back saying there will be a note on my file to make sure there is one on my next stay. Great location and vibe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Welcome jmorchyk,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for staying at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! You would like a coffeemaker in your guest room? We have it covered! As the W brand service philosophy, our talent are here to accommodate Whatever/Whenever! Thank you again for the feedback; hope to see you back in Minnesota again soon!

Best Regards,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Every time I stay at the W Minneapolis, the service is impeccable and the ambiance is excellent. Room is always perfecly clean and well kept. Staff is friendly and attentive. Highly recommended for a stay in downtown minneapolis. Dont forget to look at the bubbles in the livingroom!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello troydz,

Thank you for being our guest and the fantastic five star review from your stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I am glad you enjoyed our Roaring Twenties, Meet Modern Cool décor and ambiance in the Living Room and throughout the historic Foshay building. I look forward to having you again, Cheers!

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Starwood was really smart to put a W into the Foshay building. The Foshay itself was the first high rise in Minneapolis and has a classic look that withstands the test of time. The W did an excellent job inserting modernity into the interior such that it provides the experience you expect. Also, the service here was far friendlier than at many W's. Maybe it's a Minnesota thing but they have their people doing a better job than many of their peers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hello mondial82,

Thank you for staying at W Minneapolis-The Foshay, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the historical charm of the iconic Foshay building! Thank you for the kind words regarding our guest service, I will be happy to pass on your feedback to our talent! You are welcome back anytime for another fabulous Whatever/Whenver experience.

Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We are a retired couple who come for the Vikings game. We remember the foshay tower from our younger years when it was the highest building in MSP. You can choose lots of hotels but this place is a part of Minnesota history and therefore unique. We love how they have updated it. Location is excellent for top shows, target field, target center and metronome, orphem and top restaurants. Also Macy's. Both bars are just too cool and fun. They are often on Priceline.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hello MaryBQ7038VQ,

Greetings from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! Thank you for sharing your kind words about your recent W experience. It's great to hear your emotional connection that you have with the historic Foshay Tower. We worked very hard with the historical society to preserve many features of the original tower! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Historic W Minneapolis-The Foshay.

Best,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#16 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Starwood, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.