We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a wonderful old building!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's a wonderful old building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Foshay Tower is a great place to house a luxury hotel. The room we had was fabulous and the service was top notch! The only issue we had were the two bars: too crowded and too loud! They could improve things if they had a nice bar for guests only.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hello Craftybeer,

Thank you for sharing your review with our team here at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! It is my pleasure to share your review with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the historic Foshay Tower! Stay Warm.

Cheers,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    211
    93
    33
    21
See reviews for
49
298
62
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Sunday, October 27th and didn't have a good experience. With all the hotel choices in downtown Minneapolis, this place is not somewhere I would recommend or return to. Here's why:
-the cooling system didn't work in our room, everyone was hot all night long
-glasses were chipped
-stains on furniture (gross!)
-not really any hot water in the faucets or shower
-bar closed at 11 when it was completely full of people willing to pay for drinks
-complimentary coffee in the morning was a joke. They were out, didn't apologize, but asked if we wanted a handful of coffee grounds instead (what?!)
-called to have our car brought up from valet and our request was ignored; we had to ask again after standing in the lobby for 15 minutes

For the hype and the price of this hotel, they could do a much better job of pretty much everything. Definitely not worth it, at all.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here, try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hello Shauna P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our team. Your feedback is extremely important to us and it's my pleasure to read and to response to your review. On behalf of W Minneapolis-The Foshay, I would like to apologize that we didn't deliver a satisfying W experience. I want to make sure that we can address all of your concerns in your review. In regards to these efforts please see my direct message and I hope that we are able to gain your trust back as a future guest.

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at W Minneapolis - The Foshay. Very nice hotel, comfortable beds, modern design and look. Location is fantastic for anyone looking to be in the middle of the action in downtown Minneapolis or if you have business in Minneapolis. The biggest drawback is the darkness of the hotel. It seems odd to say but the entire hotel -- rooms, lobby, bars, etc. -- are very dark. Not a huge deal but definitely takes some getting used to.

Room Tip: The suites on the upper floors are very nice. Only 4 rooms per floor so very quiet and private. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello husker7028,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay, and thank you for sharing your comments! The modern design and look of W Minneapolis is paired with a 1920’s Art Deco charm, creating slightly dim lighting through most of the iconic Foshay Tower hotel. It is the pleasure of W Minneapolis to welcome you back next time you are in the Twin Cities.

Best Regards,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I recently spent our 10 year anniversary overnight at the W Foshay. It was an incredible experience!! The lobby is gorgeous, staff is welcoming and rooms are beautiful and modern. We were first placed in a room with a beautiful view but it was near the elevators. I don't normally care but this was a very special occasion and so we called down and asked if they could find a quieter room for us. Within minutes a doorman came up to our room, carried our bags and escorted us to another room that was perfect for us. We had plans out for dinner and music but loved the room, the view and the comfy bathrobes so much that we stayed in for the whole night ordering delicious food from Manny's Steakhouse and toasting with champagne. The king bed was incredibly comfortable and we didn't hear a sound from any of the other rooms the entire night. I really appreciate that they expect guests to keep quiet when staying there because that was exactly what we were looking for. We both had the best sleep we've had in a long time. I highly recommend the W! We hope to spend many more staycations there!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors- 16 and up have great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Welcome mplssweetlife,

Congratulations on your recent 10 year wedding anniversary, and thank you so much for celebrating with us at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I am thrilled to hear you had such a fabulous W experience, and we could easily accommodate your request for a more quietly located guest room! I’m happy to read that you took advantage of our wonderful amenities, from the Bliss Spa bathroom products, to the complimentary plush bathrobes and the W Signature beds that look out on the beautiful Minneapolis skyline. I anticipate your next say with us in the iconic Foshay Tower, for a night on the town with buzzing entertainment, or a lovely night in!

Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located in ther midst of downtown, this stylish hotel is very comfortable with great amenities. My only reason for not giving it a 5 star rating was my ersonal preference for retaining the original art deco architecture thorought. The main bar was excellent and very friendly. The restaurant was superb, but quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Greetings, baritoneglck,

Thank you for following up on your recent W Minneapolis-The Foshay experience. I am happy to hear you took comfort in your conveniently located Foshay Tower guest room with fabulous amenities and luxury bedding. We look forward to having you back for another great stay or for a sip in the Living Room Bar.

Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

For context, this comes from a die hard SPG fan who has lifetime elite status with SPG. I was excited for the opportunity to stay at the Foshay due to its historical significance to Minneapolis. However, the room smelled funny, the elevators slow, and the staff unhelpful. The first two are self descriptive, so I will elaborate on the third. Staff provided errant answers to questions, the driver of the Acura went into a rage at some other driver before realizing he had passengers in the car. And what's with the 'we won't pick you up' policy? If returning to Minneapolis, I would not stay at the W again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello TheOpsDoctor,

Thank you for communicating your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. W Minneapolis is firmly committed to providing a Whatever/Whenever W experience. We appreciate your brand loyalty to Starwood Preferred Guest & your reflections are very important to me. It’s upsetting to read that your guest room had a smell, and the onsite lifts were slow in the historic Foshay Tower. I would like to extend my personal apologies that our talent did not meet your expectations regarding your inquiries, and the behavior of the Acura driver was less than desirable. These behaviors, I can assure you, will be addressed immediately. I would love to have a future opportunity gain your trust back within W Minneapolis-The Foshay. Please see my follow up message regarding details of your stay.

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very professional, quite, nice, all around a perfect 10... Doormen are the most generous in helping with bags, valet service and directions ANYWHERE. The front desk will cater to your needs as needed. Stayed here twice and I am from MIami, I highly recommend it. Some rooms are small as to the higher floor you get the smaller the room but the better the view. The location is extremely central as I am a runner and the beautiful Minneapolis River is closely located. I love the dark look in the hotel it potrays a quite, peaceful environment while vacationing.

Room Tip: HIgher rooms better view but smaller size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello Marlyn R,

What a wonderful review to share with the Trip Advisor community; thank you for staying with us at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! It is genuinely the pleasure of our talent, from Welcome Ambassadors, Wheels valet, the Welcome Desk and everyone else at W, to accommodate your needs and make each stay most memorable! Come back soon to relax and rejuvenate, while taking in breathtaking views of downtown Minneapolis. Thank you Marlyn R!

Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.