We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Experience - Lots of Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience - Lots of Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

For cheaper rates, try this hotel on a holiday weekend. This isn't your run-of-the-mill hotel being that it is restored historic building. Décor is very modern--similar to an ALOFT hotel. The bed was very comfortable. We were surprised there was no coffee in the room. Though very expensive, it's worth the time to visit the Prohibition sky bar, which has a lot of lounge furniture and views of the city. We also very much enjoyed looking around the exhibit about this building while visiting the observation deck at the top of the tower. And of course, you have to eat at Manny's.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for view of the city. Low floors look right at nearby buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello MrsDrO2U,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. I am happy to hear you took in the deep history of the iconic Foshay Tower at the rooftop museum and observation deck, and got to visit Prohibition, our 29th floor sky lounge as well. Be sure to let us know you when you are staying with us next so we can place a coffee maker in your room prior to arrival! Manny’s also serves complimentary coffee each morning for our fabulous guests!
Sincerely,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    233
    101
    38
    23
See reviews for
55
331
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Uruguay
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our Team meeting the last week of August 2013. It is in a convenient downtown location close to downtown restaurants and shops. The service is excellent and the style and decor are what are to be expected of the W: upscale, yet minimalistic. Everything was great here, but there is just one item I should point out, please be aware of elevator #2. We got stuck on it for 15 minutes which made us late for our team outing. I kind of thought it was amusing, but my coworkers becoming claustrophic and hyperventilating on the floor were not as enamored by the experience. In subsequent conversations with the hotel staff I understand this has been an ongoing issue. There were signs posted on it intermittently that it was operating, then temporarily out of service, etc. so stay off that one if you can! :) Otherwise, excellent stay.

Room Tip: Avoid elevator 2 or you may get stuck, at least for a few minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello ckckckckckck,
Thank you so much for visiting W Minneapolis in the iconic Foshay Tower! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our innovative 1920’s style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor.
Please accept my apology for the malfunction of second lift for you and your associates during your stay. This feedback will be shared with my leadership team to look at ways to continually improve our elevator services.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon, for Whatever/Whenever!
Best Regards,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The W Minneapolis is in a great location in downtown Minneapolis. The lobby and the meeting rooms are well appointed and the lounge area is very trendy. Rooms are comfortable and have everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Greetings, DennisDykau,
Thank you so much for the stellar five star review - it was great to have you as our guest at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I invite you back anytime to the historic Foshay Tower for another fabulous W experience!
Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a business trip for me and I was in town for a week. My business took me to Roseville just outside of Minneapolis but the hotels in that surrounding area have been less than stellar. The W Foshay is less than 15 minutes away from the office and it has everything you need. Nice steakhouse (Manny's), breakfast, bar, fantastic lobby area, service was excellent including the valet service. The beds were comfortable, maid service took care of everything including new shampoo when needed. There are also plenty of nearby restaurants and shopping. If you like Indian Cuisine, which I do, there is a fabulous restaurant across the street. The only negative, the fitness room, called Sweat, isn't very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello Scott B,
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! It is our pleasure to accommodate all of your needs under the roof of the iconic Foshay Tower, from your guest room and meals, to valet. I will be happy to pass on your kind words to our guest services team, including style and wheels! Sweat, W’s fitness center, will be undergoing renovations in the near future, sure to be a great fit!
Thank you!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

good hotel clean and modern ..but enough cute stuff ..that hasn't changed in years. need an update ..good for parties at the bar on the weekend , but i'm too old for that. Interesting for the kids because its different ... but amenities are very pricey or as thy say spendy.

Room Tip: all room are god
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello nivea21,
Thank you for the feedback from your most recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. The Living Room bar is definitely a hot spot on the weekends, with a spinning DJ and flowing cocktails. The historic Foshay Tower really has something for everyone, including the Foshay Museum on the 30th floor and breathtaking citywide views from the Observation Deck. We welcome you back anytime!
Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recently visited Minneapolis for a conference and had the pleasure of staying at the W Minneapolis-The Foshay. The valet area was small, and I had to circle the property upon arrival, as there were many people attempting to pick-up/drop off cars at that time; however, the staff were efficient and rectified the problem quickly. I did not request a room upgrade but received one upon arrival, and the room was large and comfortable. The hotel was dim and definitely designed with intention of being modern, which I can see to be a selling point for some and a negative point for others. It really did not matter to me. The room and hallways were always clean during my stay, and staff members were always helpful. Ordered room service once, and this was also excellent. The hotel was well-located and within walking distance of the convention center. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Greetings JLS7615,

Thank you for the spectacular review of W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I am happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to receive a complimentary room upgrade upon arrival. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the guest service to our talent, and I invite you back again to enjoy another fantastic W experience, be it for business or pleasure!

Best Wishes,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

So nice, in the heart of everything!! Staff was very friendly and helpful!! Will def stay here again!!!! We had such a nice room, reasonable price for a nice hotel! They truly live up to their theory of the W! Whatever whenever and the staff lives up to that theory!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComplexHotelMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello seasonb0202,

Thank you for being our guest at W Minneapolis-The Foshay and for sharing your great review with the TripAdvisor community! It is our pleasure to ensure you get our Whatever/Whenever service; we can’t wait to have you back again!

Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.