We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The W Foshay ROCKS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The W Foshay ROCKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed at the W Foshay several times and each time has been awesome, most specifically because I was proposing to my now fiancé! The staff at the W helped iron out a ton of details for the proposal itself and we all pulled it off as a great surprise. Lisa, on the concierge staff, embodies the brand's "whatever, whenever," attitude. I have stayed with Starwood a ton for work and pleasure all over the world and W Foshay ranks with the best of them. If you need things to do, places to see, food recommendations, Lisa can make it happen and you can rest assured she wont lead you astray. If you are a meat eater and are in the mood to get overstuffed, hit up Mannys steakhouse. Unreal cuts of meat (both in size and quality), great sides, fun and knowledgeable staff, awesome wine list and good liquor drinks to wash it down. If you are there for a special occasion, grab a Wonderful suite, nice layout and great city views.

Room Tip: Wonderful Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Sam T,
Hello from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! First of all, thank you so much for allowing our team to be a part of such an incredible moment in your life! It’s great to hear that you were taken great care of by our fabulous concierge Lisa! Lisa has done a great job sharing with our team about this upcoming experience and the team was very excited; filled with anticipation with this great moment taking place at our hotel! To the sweet simple things to the big moments; it was our pleasure to be included.
Congratulations!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    217
    99
    35
    23
See reviews for
53
313
64
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed at other W locations, but this was my first in Minneapolis. This location compares to all others, and I love the vibe the W offers. Our Spectacular Room was very spacious and modern. I did not hear a thing in the hall or other rooms, and we were near the elevator. The amenities are first class (Bliss spa products), and the bed super comfortable. The shower did take a bit to warm up, but after it did, it was awesome, no issues with water pressure as others have noted. There is convenient and reasonable self parking around the corner ($22 for 24 hours) that you can get to without having to venture outside. The front desk attendant was super friendly, and did not "discriminate" because I booked my room on Hotwire, which happens sometimes. The lobby is beautiful, and I wish we'd had time to enjoy Prohibition or some of the other hotel offerings. We stayed here while attending a show at First Ave, and it was a $4 +tip cab ride back from the venue. i would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Wisgirl01,
Thank you for taking the time to share this fantastic review with the Trip Advisor community! My apologies that you didn’t have time to experience Prohibition; you’ll need to come back to witness the fabulous 360 degree views of Minneapolis! It was my pleasure to read and respond to your review! I personally hope that you are staying warm this winter season!

Best,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I think the W is a great hotel. I really loved the style of the rooms with their funky mini bars and glass showers but the static electricity made me feel weird. Oh and the lifts/elevators are sooooooo spooky try and get a room away from the services.

Room Tip: avoid the elevators/lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Carolyn H,
Hello Carolyn! Thank you for reflecting on your stay with us at W Minneapolis-The Foshay all the way from the United Kingdom! We can’t thank you enough for the gracious review and we are happy to read that you experienced many wow’s during your stay!
Cheers!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What I loved:
Excellent location
Fabulous historic building
Personable service
Gorgeous rooftop bar overlooking city...try the whiskey bread pudding.
Knowledgable concierge helped us arrange several dinners.
Accommodating staff brought us a humidifier for our very dry room.
Well-designed but cozy corner room had lots of light.
Surprisingly quiet rooms thanks to layout of a small number of rooms per floor.

What I could give or take:
The lounge area adjacent to the lobby is a bit too dark and brooding...and boudoir-ish for my taste.

What I didn't love:
So, if you were never into or are so over the club scene, don't plan to grab a drink at the hotel on Friday night. My husband got carded trying to use the lobby bathroom.
Gym was well appointed but treadmills had seen better days.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the W two nights. With temps below zero outside, we were plenty warm inside. The suite we booked was spacious and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the corner room was bright and cozy in the morning. Service was excellent, including valet, bellmen, room service, and concierge. There was an elevator malfunction during the day Saturday, but it seemed to be addressed quickly. We had dinner at Manny's- right in the hotel- incredible food and service! We also spent time at Prohibition on the 27th floor, a "modern vintage" destination that is very comfortable with great service. The Living Room downstairs adjacent to the nightclub space was also comfortable and fun for our late night gathering of friends.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Harvey_boys!
Greetings from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us. In addition, I will make sure to share your review with the Manny’s team! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to the next!
Stay Warm,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I will be staying at the Foshay this week. For the past few years we have been traveling to Minneapolis three times a year. This will be our first time at the Foshay. To be frank after reading some of the reviews I was tempted to switch, but I am very impressed by the consistent responses from the Guest Relations Managers. My family has owned a limousine service and I am well aware how difficult it is to provide consistently great service. There are often influences and circumstances beyond your control. A good manager cannot control everything that happens but he or she can control how they react. Also I am very impressed by the email we already received asking if there was anything we would like to have set up. We will be there on Friday with great expectations. Gail and Bill O'Keefe Connecticut

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Mr & Mrs. Okeefe,

Thank you very much for the kind words you left for us at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. We hope that you have a fabulous stay with us; please let our team know if there is anything we can do to make your stay a pleasurable one. Have a safe and wonderful weekend!

Warmest Wishes,

Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.