We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during the last weekend of December. Check-in was a breeze, our room was clean, the bed was ultra comfortable (I think I'm going to buy one from their web store), and the nightlife inside the bar area was fantastic.
All in all it was a great stay but if there's one thing I could've changed it's that the shower is disappointing. It looks nice and it's large but the water just trickles out. There was no way to dial up the pressure and that was frustrating.

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer the best views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello cam01209,
The entire team at W Minneapolis-The Foshay is very much appreciative that you took time to reflect and share your recent experience at our hotel. We love seeing and hearing what our amazing guests have to say and look forward to ultimately creating an incredible W experience for them. It’s great to see you enjoyed the W signature bed so much that you are looking at purchasing one for your home! We hope to see you around the historic Foshay in the near future!

Thank You,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    238
    103
    39
    25
See reviews for
57
335
71
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The W really packs a punch upon arrival: great location, a moody lobby and trendy decor. That is mostly where it stops, in my opinion. We weren't floored by the service, our room was itty bitty, and overall the hotel didn't seem to have a lot going on. We loved the bar on the 27th floor, it was cozy, intimate, and had a good vibe. The hotel is in a great location, we walked to Manny's for dinner and drinks. Otherwise, I would say there are other hotels in the area that would be a better bang for your buck.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello AnnaMaris,

Thank you for sharing your experience at W Minneapolis – The Foshay with the Trip Advisor Community. It’s great to get feedback as we can take steps in the right direction for areas of improvement! It’s great to hear that you had a great time in the Prohibition Sky Bar on the 27th floor! For future reference, W Minneapolis-The Foshay offers a variety of room type selections from a Wonderful Room to Cool Corner rooms and even a variety of suites; due to its historic structure, guests can experience over 57 room type configurations! In addition, guests of W Minneapolis-The Foshay of course have complimentary access to the historic museum and 30th floor outdoor observation deck with breath taking 360 degree views of Minneapolis! If you ever find yourself around the Foshay in the future; don’t forget that DJ Paris drops the beats in the Living Room Friday and Saturday nights!

Cheers to the New Year!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Service was great. First room not clean, was upgraded to a corner room. It was beautiful, clean, and quite. Was comp'ed a bottle of wine for the trouble. The downstairs Bar and DJ were great. We had a fun time.



  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello StPaulO,

Thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor your experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! It’s great to hear that you had a great overall experience however we should have had it right the first time! I hope you’ll forgive us and hope that you will come visit us in the near future!

Sincerely,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I just stayed there for a long weekend. Plenty to like about the hotel but also plenty to be aware of if you are planning a stay.

Likes: Pretty convenient location. A few blocks from the Metrodome and the convention center. A number of good restaurants very close including two in the building (Keys Cafe for breakfast and Manny's Steak House). The hotel is part of the Skyway system so you can stay warm inside to get to most destinations within walking distance. Plenty of parking nearby although it can be expensive depending upon the day and time ($5 on weekends but up to $30/day during the week). Upscale shopping at the nearby Nicollet Mall. 15 minutes from the airport; 20 minutes to the Mall of America by car. Lobby area is typical W style with a nice big bar area which was hopping at night. We stayed in a "cool corner" room which had many large windows with several good views of the city but since you are in the middle of a downtown area, the views aren't great in general. There is also a bar/lounge area on the 27th floor which reminded me strongly of one of the old time upscale member clubs where the rich and powerful would go to relax and socialize after work. Very comfortable atomsphere with small rooms and breakout areas with comfortable seating.

Points to consider: The room walls are pretty thinly insulated. You could clearly here conversations through the walls at times. Ask for a room away from the elevators. The elevators basically open directly across from some rooms (imagine walking down the hall with your arms stretched out. One hand would be touching the elevator doors and the other the door to your room). This is just because of the architecture of the original building which was built in the 20s. No bathtubs (at least not in my room which was a don't care for me) or pool (also a don't care). Big shower with one of those big round shower heads the hang from the ceiling. Water pressure was abysmal so taking a shower was like rinsing off in a light rain and with the hanging shower head, you can't dial up the spray like you can on some shower heads. You are probably either going to really like or really hate the hotel decor. Everything is muted with colors in the dark purple, gray, etc. Soft lighting in common areas and in the rooms. Everything is kind of dim, dark, muted. Personally I like to be in a bright room which you are not going to find here (no overhead lights, side table lamps are low wattage). The type of bright lighting that I like wouldn't really be consistent with the look and feel that the property is going for so it is a conscious choice that you will like or you won't. I had some bad experiences with the front desk staff but these were rectified after consulting with hotel management so I won't dwell on them here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Public Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello JohnK1470,

The W Minneapolis team appreciates you taking some time out of your busy schedule to submit a review of our hotel. It’s my pleasure to read and respond. I do want to apologize that the lighting of the hotel was unsatisfactory during your stay. We have taken many steps inside the guest rooms to add additional lighting per guest feedback however the lighting in our public spaces does fit the design aesthetic we are trying to achieve at the hotel. The hotel does provide 24 hour valet parking with in and out privileges for $30 per night; which does remain competitive in the local market. Thank you again for sharing your review with us and we hope to see you back at the Foshay Tower soon; even if it’s just to say hello!

Happy New Year!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a prime downtown location not far from the convention center. I walked to the convention center. The hotel had a great restaurant for breakfast which I used for meeting with clients. In the evening I used the lounge to entertain clients as it had areas that you could have private yet open areas to discuss business. The staff was first rate and always helpful. Although the room was not large the bed was very comfortable and working desk was very functional. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you do not have to rent a car - mass transit is within a reasonable distance to walk. The saving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello steve4608,
I hope you are having a great start to the New Year! Thank you for taking personal time to share and reflect on your recent experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay; we appreciate it as we look to reviews on areas to enhance on delivering outstanding guest experience. It’s great to see that you enjoyed the versatility of our spaces when entertaining your clients! I think your room tip highlight is a perfect option when traveling to Minneapolis!

SIP.SAVOR.CELEBRATE.
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Probably the best and fanciest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Positives: Comfortable big rooms. Very nice bathroom. Excellent iphone dock/alarm clock/radio. Great location in DT Minneapolis. Great 360 view of DT on the top floor. Excellent mini bar.

Negatives: You can shut the bathroom door completely but it does not prevent the sounds from coming out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello MoNabhan,

Greetings from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I hope you are having an enjoyable start to the New Year! Thank you for the sharing with us your 5 star review from your recent stay! I personally hope that 2013 allows you to travel to many exciting destinations!

Cheers,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a last minute search when my friend could not host me. What made my trip was Danielle, the concierge who greeted me and sent up a bottle of champagne with a thoughtful note. The trip was not for pleasure but a necessity. Between that and the cold weather, this batcave-like hotel worked out great! Not sure i'd want the darkness in the summer. I had great service in the bar area and loved everything overall. All concierges were helpful. I would recommend a scrub down of the walls in the bathroom. They were dirty, as was the shower curtain, which is very noticeable when walls are painted a dark color and the shower curtain is white.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Elasuki,
Thank you for sharing your recent W experience with the Trip Advisor community. The entire team appreciates your thoughtful review. Danielle will be so delighted with your gracious comments! We are doing though rough inspections of our bathroom walls as noted in your comments to achieve a higher standard of cleanliness. We hope to see you back around the Foshay soon!

Thank you!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#22 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.