We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a prime downtown location not far from the convention center. I walked to the convention center. The hotel had a great restaurant for breakfast which I used for meeting with clients. In the evening I used the lounge to entertain clients as it had areas that you could have private yet open areas to discuss business. The staff was first rate and always helpful. Although the room was not large the bed was very comfortable and working desk was very functional. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you do not have to rent a car - mass transit is within a reasonable distance to walk. The saving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello steve4608,
I hope you are having a great start to the New Year! Thank you for taking personal time to share and reflect on your recent experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay; we appreciate it as we look to reviews on areas to enhance on delivering outstanding guest experience. It’s great to see that you enjoyed the versatility of our spaces when entertaining your clients! I think your room tip highlight is a perfect option when traveling to Minneapolis!

SIP.SAVOR.CELEBRATE.
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    235
    103
    38
    25
See reviews for
57
332
69
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Probably the best and fanciest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Positives: Comfortable big rooms. Very nice bathroom. Excellent iphone dock/alarm clock/radio. Great location in DT Minneapolis. Great 360 view of DT on the top floor. Excellent mini bar.

Negatives: You can shut the bathroom door completely but it does not prevent the sounds from coming out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello MoNabhan,

Greetings from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I hope you are having an enjoyable start to the New Year! Thank you for the sharing with us your 5 star review from your recent stay! I personally hope that 2013 allows you to travel to many exciting destinations!

Cheers,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a last minute search when my friend could not host me. What made my trip was Danielle, the concierge who greeted me and sent up a bottle of champagne with a thoughtful note. The trip was not for pleasure but a necessity. Between that and the cold weather, this batcave-like hotel worked out great! Not sure i'd want the darkness in the summer. I had great service in the bar area and loved everything overall. All concierges were helpful. I would recommend a scrub down of the walls in the bathroom. They were dirty, as was the shower curtain, which is very noticeable when walls are painted a dark color and the shower curtain is white.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Elasuki,
Thank you for sharing your recent W experience with the Trip Advisor community. The entire team appreciates your thoughtful review. Danielle will be so delighted with your gracious comments! We are doing though rough inspections of our bathroom walls as noted in your comments to achieve a higher standard of cleanliness. We hope to see you back around the Foshay soon!

Thank you!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I went there for a romantic get away and we were blown away by our experience at the W. We stayed in a corner 'Wonderful Room' and it was perfect. A full mini bar, a huge walk in shower with mood lightening, a down comforter bed, and a minneapolis view that couldnt be beat. During the Dec. months it is perfect. The city streets are lit up beautifully and the hollidazzle parade was just 1 block away. Great eating places all within a block, "The Melting Pot" "Hells Kitchen" and "Mannys Steakhouse." We are a young couple so to save some money we parked across the street in the parking ramp and paid $10 to park there instead of $30 (plus tip) for the valet. We also went to the amazing Prohibition Bar on the 27th floor of the hotel during happy hour (5-7pm) certain drinks and beers were $5. The drinks were made with hop shelf liquor and fresh fruit well worth the money. Drinks not during happy hour were very spendy $15 and up!! The whole second floor of the hotel is "SWEAT" a workout area. This hotel is more for couples and business. It did not seem very family friendly and not much entertainment for kids. The service did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and pleasantI WILL be coming back to this hotel again, there is not one thing I would have changed!!

Room Tip: The "Wonderful Room" has everything you need from a King size bed, walk in shower, mini ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattHaw3019, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello stangkat07,
Happy New Year from the entire team at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I can’t thank you enough for this ecstatic 5 star review! It’s so great that you enjoyed not only the hotel but the sights and sounds that Minneapolis has to offer; it’s very beautiful in the winter! I welcome you back to W Minneapolis-The Foshay and hope you are having a great start to the New Year!

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Walking into this hotel is like taking a step back in time. The room was small but well-decorated. The shower was luxurious and sexy, with one corner in frosted glass that faces into the room. The downside of this: when someone goes to the bathroom in the middle of the night and turns on the bathroom light, it lights up the bedroom through the shower.

We found a lot of excellent dining within a mere block or two. Hell's Kitchen on 9th Street, and Bombay Bistro right across from The Foshay, were accessible and delicious.

We walked a mere block to watch the Holidazzle parade the week before Christmas and did some shopping without having to drive at all.

Parking is pricey ($30/night, valet only) - more expensive than other downtown Mpls hotels. We got a great weekend rate ($89/night), though, so it seemed a worthwhile splurge to pay for the parking.

Although I didn't have drinks in either of the bars, we wandered through -- they're gorgeous and oh-so-decadent! Perfect for a romantic date.

Room Tip: As for AWAY from the elevators, as the elevator doors open almost directly into some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello J T,
Greetings from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I can’t thank you enough for this outstanding 5 star review! It sounds like you were able to take in the sights and sounds of what the hotel and the city of Minneapolis had to offer during your stay! It was my pleasure to respond and share your review with the team.

Best,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

W Hotel Minneapolis-The Foshay clean modern and had all you need, staff very helpful, big bonus to the night manager Brian Nylandeler, he made our experience in Mpls even better. The W- Hotel is close to all amenities. The room I got was quite spacious with one hell of a view of Downtown Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello BigCoppa,
WOW! Thank you so much for this incredible review! I am so excited to share this review with the team and especially Brian. He takes such great care of all of our guests and it’s a joy to read that he made your experience so much better! Please, come back and visit us soon!

Cheers to a New Year!
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel rooms are aesthetic to the eye! Corner room has amazing view from higher floors. Tall windows. Three window bathroom. Large shower. Water pressure needs to be improved though. Bliss products were fantastic! Ask for the Krups coffee maker. Bring ear plugs because you can hear the elevators and also the ventilation across the street. Has both HBO and Showtime. Overall everyone was very customer focused!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello AdventurerMN,
Happy Holidays from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! Thank you for the gracious words from your recent stay at W Minneapolis-The Foshay! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the aesthetic of our rooms! We’d love for you to return for another great experience at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#21 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.