We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and trendy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Save Saved
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WHotels.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Minneapolis
Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool and trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at The Foshay for 3 nights on a business trip. As a fan of modern boutique hotel style and also Art Deco design, this place suited me perfectly. Ideal location for downtown area (Nicolette Mall is 1 block away) and also the Metrodome where the Vikings NFL team play. I'd booked and paid well in advance and got an excellent rate.

Very comfy bed, loads of quality pillows, enormous shower cubicle, although my water pressure was disappointing. Don't expect tea & coffee making facilities in the room, but you can ask for a pod-style coffee maker FOC.

Fitness room is adequate; about 10 state of the art cardio machines, plus weights etc., open 24 hrs but unattended.

Downsides? Everywhere is very dimly lit (foyer, rooms, bar etc). Manny's Steakhouse restaurant is expensive for breakfast. I went to a coffee shop one block away and ate for a fraction of the price.

Upsides? Stylish design. Service was excellent, everyone was polite, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The young lady who checked me out (her name's Imani) was especially good. Warm, natural and pleasant. I'd also recommend the limo company the hotel arranged for me; the driver's name was Aden.

Room Tip: Almost half the rooms are Corners so you get more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello Bellamoonbeam,
Greetings from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! Thank you so much for this positive review of your recent stay. First of all, it’s great to see that our guests are enjoying the art deco design elements that we have worked so hard to preserve at the Foshay Tower. We know that this iconic building has many qualities that are very important to the state of Minnesota and it was important for us to do everything we could to maintain these features. It is also great to see that W Minneapolis continues to provide outstanding guest service; it will be my pleasure to share with the entire team and especially with Imani! We hope to see you around at the hotel even if it’s a quick stop in to say hello!

Happy Holidays,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    180
    78
    28
    17
See reviews for
37
243
57
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We were excited to get a deal on the w. unfortunately, we were not impressed with our stay. It seems to be more important to have a very pinkly lighted club feel than to make guests happy. The place has the potential to be very classy and grand, but the "clubby" vibe makes it seem cheap and tacky. The room itself thankfully was not lighted with the same pink light as the rest of the hotel, but certainly valued form over function. It is cold, unwelcoming, and impractical. The walls are thin, and we spent the morning we planned to spend relaxing listening to several children screaming and slamming doors over and over and over again...
In the plus category, the prohibition lounge is quite an exceptional people watching experience, and the "truth or consequences" cocktail is one of the best I've had. A unique setting for a lounge, but again, inpractically laid out and a little chaotic.
This hotel and setting has the potential to be outstanding. They missed the mark.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello Jill572011,
Thank you for submitting a review of your recent experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. I want to apologize that your overall experience at our hotel failed to meet and exceed your expectations. We strive to make sure that all of our hotel guests are comfortable and enjoy the overall experience during their stay. W Minneapolis-The Foshay prides itself on our outstanding personalized guest services and providing a consistent luxury brand lifestyle experience. From the Acura experience to our Whatever/Whenever signature promise; we are here for you; the loyal guest. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the neighboring guests and their presence in the hallways. It’s very unfortunate that this occurrence can affect other guests and their overall experience. I personally hope that we have a future opportunity to have you in-house again. Please see my direct message to further communication on your recent experience.

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

W is a very nice hotel. They have enough staff to be responsive and the hotel is well cared for.

When you enter the very dark cave like lobby, there is a purple glowing blob and a yellow glowing blob. These are the front desks.

The rooms were fine except for the design again. Dark neutral tones with goofy looking lamps, chairs. It was kind of like the ( imagined) 1950's meets the Jetsons. It had a magenta minibar and lamps that look like they popped out of a hallucination. Since there is almost no sun at all in Minnesota, I can't understand why the overall color scheme is grey.

I slept well. Too bad when I did awaken, I thought I was in a bad dream.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello Cupcake3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor Community. My apologies that the design of our hotel made you feel rather uncomfortable. W Minneapolis-The Foshay draws design inspiration from the historical nature of the Foshay Tower built in the 1920’s. Design being a passion point for W Hotels worldwide, the Welcome Desk pods that meet and greet guests before you take the lift home to your overnight accommodations are inspired by the luxury fashion house of Viktor and Rolf. These pods are one of a kind and are replicas of the famous “Flowerbomb” luxurious perfume bottle. We are extremely lucky to have such incredible pieces of work hand created and installed at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. I hope that I was able to share some insight on where we draw our design inspiration from at W Minneapolis. It was my pleasure to read and respond to your review. I hope to see you back at the historic Foshay Tower!

Thank you,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine River, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night just before Halloween and when you walk into the lobby you sort of have a haunted house feel. The low lighting and odd colors give a pretty eerie vibe, but the folks at the check-in desk seemed to be real people and were very welcoming and helpful. The elevator was key controlled which gives a bit of a secure feel with a lot of non-guests in the bar.

The bedroom and bathroom had a touch of foreign travel as you have to re-learn how to turn on lights and faucets. The bathroom was a decorator's final exam with bold colors, and the super-trendy green glass tiles. Low lighting throughout which is less handy in the bathroom, and low water pressure from the rain shower head.

The beds were fantastic and the room was spacious. No coffeemaker in the room which is odd in the U.S., but they will deliver one if you ask. Coffee is available in the downstairs bar in the morning and there is free Wi-Fi in the common areas but not in the room. The ice machine on our floor was not operating during our visit so we had to walk down a floor.

The top floor bar (Prohibition) was closed on Sunday, but the lobby bar was open and there is plenty of night life a block away on Nicollet Mall. We watched the world series and football at the 8th Street Grill across the street. Mannys Steakhouse in on the first floor where it is appropriate that they bring out steaks for your choosing on what appears to be a hospital gurney.

We nailed the room on Priceline, while their normal pricing tends to favor the expense account travelers. The location is just about perfect and there is reasonable overnight parking in a ramp across the street or valet parking at the door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
John_Z_MN,

Hello There! Thank you for taking the time to share your review of W Minneapolis-The Foshay with the Trip Advisor community! We appreciate the positive review. We hope that the team at W Minneapolis-The Foshay was able to deliver a fantastic experience while you were with us. Finally, we hope to see you back in the near future!

Happy Holidays,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel! It is beautiful place and the service is impeccable! They will do anything to make you happy and to make it right! Great location in downtown Minneapolis. Great for walking around as lots of restaurants nearby as well as shopping and bars. It has something for everyone. Also has a lounge on the main floor that gets pretty busy on the weekends and is alot of fun.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello Tamitrue,
I can't thank you enough for this generous 5 star review; it's my pleasure to respond. W Hotels Worldwide truly believes in our Whatever/Whenever philosophy and I am glad that you were able to experience it while you were on property with us. The talent at W Minneapolis-The Foshay are here for the guests and to make sure that they have a safe, fun, unique W experience. I hope we have the pleasure of having you in-house soon!

SIP.BASK.CELEBRATE.
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fabulous building. Manny's Steakhouse is superb. The location is ideal but there are myriad hotels in a 4 block radius. Charging an additional $125 for my dog? Inexcusable. Starwood should be ashamed. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello KristenOsgood,
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with W Minneapolis-The Foshay especially with your travel companion. We realize that pets of our guests are family and are just as important to us. We are very thankful that we have the opportunity to allow pets through our P.A.W. program (Pets Are Welcome). To ensure that the hotel can provide consistent experiences for everyone, it is essential that our Style team executes a deep cleaning procedure to any guestroom that is participating with the P.A.W. program. In addition, the P.A.W. program comes with all of the essentials that would be needed to make sure that our friendly pets are well cared for and comfortable during their stay. I hope that I was able to share a little more information about the P.A.W. program and I hope Starwood Hotels and Resorts Worldwide has a future opportunity to have you and your travel pet companion stay with us in the future. Please see my direct message for further communication.
Sincerely,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Interesting decor (swanky hipster), although a bit too heavy on the purple lighting everywhere (even in the shower!). Very nice room and the bathroom was beautiful. Heating in the room was an issue (not very responsive thermostat) and, as others have pointed out, very low water pressure in the shower. Prohibition and the Living Room were good bars, very lively. Centrally located to everything. Exercise room was perfect! Enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello Jemote,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay with the Trip Advisor community. My apologies that your in-room heating system took longer than expected to get you warm and cozy during your stay; as we approach the colder season, we are taking the necessary steps to ensure that thermostats are in great working condition. W Hotels are always about what’s new/what’s next so keep your eyes open, you may see us mix up color wise! We hope to see you back at W Minneapolis-The Foshay!

Best,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis
w Minneapolis The Foshay
Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.