We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipsters Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
south dakota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hipsters Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The downtown location is awesome. Really cool place to stay with hip lighting and design. We all got kind of annoyed by the overly hipster/ironic decor everywhere. Wish they left some room in the minibar for our own items. Very low water pressure in the shower as everyone else stated

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello valtravelpal,
Greetings from W Minneapolis-The Foshay! Thank you for sharing your recent experience while you were with us. On behalf the hotel, I apologize that you were not comfortable with the atmosphere of the hotel. The original design took many years to achieve as we looked for an equal balance of bringing the historical art deco aspect of the Foshay Tower together with modern design beauty. W Hotels throughout the world are a reflection of the city to which they are born. We hope that we have another future opportunity to have you back to enjoy the historical experience of W Minneapolis-The Foshay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    226
    100
    36
    23
See reviews for
53
320
65
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

For a stay in Minneapolis this is a great downtown location.

Situated in the famous Foshay Tower opened in 1929 there are rooms facing in all four compass directions, so you could in theory be quite picky about what you want to see from your window.

The tower is 30 stories high, and on the top floor there is a museum of sorts with some memorabilia connected to the building. It is the only building in the world modeled after the Washington Monument in D.C. and for about four decades was the tallest building in Minneapolis. There is also a fantastic observation deck on the top floor which wraps the entire hotel giving a 30 story 360 degree view of the area.

Guests of the hotel can access the museum and observation deck whenever they choose (during opening hours) for free.

If you want to eat, there is an embarrassment of choices that probably totals over 100 within five minutes walk of the hotel. But if you just want to huddle up inside in the cruel Minneapolis winter, there's a nice bar restaurant in the lobby area, a cafe and an upscale steak house all without going outside.

In fact you're also on the Sky Walk system so I guess, anything you can access via that would be included in places you could eat without going outside.

The decor of the W chain is not for everyone. Interesting colors, a little too much purple in my opinion. But it's fun, I guess.

My room was well appointed with a excellent bed and plenty of pillow options. A desk right in front of the large windows overlooking the city. Big screen TV with plenty of HD channels. A very stylish minibar, which although doesn't have a specific area for personal items, when I moved some of the over priced drinks out, the maid didn't try to put it all back and move my stuff out as they will in some hotels. There's even a selection of glasses (even martini glasses!) to use.

The bathroom is good, shower could use a shade more pressure, but it's not bad.

Overall then, I like the hotel. The location is amazing, the decor is interesting, the building is historic, and you have access to all the down town stuff in Minneapolis, and you're on the Sky Walk system which has over five miles of access without going outside in the cold.

I've stayed at other similarly priced property in the city and they all have their pros and cons. However, The Foshay Tower is a unique and iconic building in this town, so it is an experience to stay there beyond just another hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello ZTC808,
Thank you for this very well detailed review from a Senior Contributor of Trip Advisor! I appreciate you taking the time to share with the Trip Advisor community your perspective of your recent experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. It sounds like you had ample time to experience Minneapolis and everything that it has to offer. It will be my pleasure to share your review with the W team. You’re always welcome back to the historic W Minneapolis-The Foshay.

Sincerely,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a friends summer wedding. The W hotels are known to have a Posh feel and a very contemporary flow. This one did not disappoint in either regard. They did a great job converting a historical landmark into an awesome hotel while maintaining notes of history with the museum and observation tower at the top of hotel. Breathtaking views of the entire city from up there and very interesting details about the Foshay and it's founder in the museum. Our room was pretty nice with the standard W flare. Nothing to write home to mom about but a nice room nonetheless. The hotel in its entirety is what makes it great though. The ambience, customer service, amenities, and bar make this place a gem. The location couldn't be much better with everything from the huge downtown mall to all of the great restaurants being within very short walking distance. The standard complimentary shuttle service in Acura MDXs make for a nice convenience if you plan to stay local (5 mi radius). The city has a ton to offer and it can all be experienced right from the doorsteps of this great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hello NavyBuck,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at W Minneapolis-The Foshay. I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It’s great to read that you also enjoyed the historical aspect of the Foshay Tower. We worked very hard with the Minnesota Historical Society to preserve as much as possible of the original elements. We pride ourselves on our service and location which we know our guests enjoy! I hope to see you back at the historic W Minneapolis-The Foshay, even if it’s just to say hello!

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really like this W hotel for Minneapolis. Close to walk to many great restuarants , if you don't want to eat at Manny's inside ( it's excellent though).. Room was spacious and well appointed. Bathroom great, except I don't like the rain water shower heads, not enough pressure for think hair. Night life is insane at this location both on the main floor and 27th.. Staff is excellent and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello Bryce T,

I couldn’t thank you enough for taking personal time to share your outstanding experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay with the Trip Advisor community! You go to such great length in detail about your stay and it will be my pleasure to share your review with the entire team at W Minneapolis- especially to Kate and Brian. We truly want to go that extra step for our guests because you are all very important to us especially when you are traveling away from home; we strive to make every guest feel at home away from home. We look forward to having you back at the historic W Minneapolis-The Foshay.

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The location is great, the guest services are great, the club is great, the decor and design are brilliant, the service is absolutely second-to-none! This was a business trip, so my personal time was pretty limited. The night watchman, Brian, was super helpful in suggesting places to go and things to do, and filling me in on local happenings / culture spots. Totally made the place feel like home, whatever I needed he was there to help with. He shared local travel tips for leisure, entertainment, shopping, etc. Extremely helpful and personal guy. The club is very nice, I'm surprised at how many people can pack into such a small space without it feeling crowded. Big overstuffed furniture and fire pits help to thin out the crowd, and there are actually places that are "quiet" enough to chat people up. The bartenders are all outstanding, one in particular was Kate - after a few drinks I just asked her, "make me something," and she came up with something perfect every time. The security at the club were really professional guys - they didn't get in anybody's way, but they made sure that everyone was safe, and they dealt with idocy appropriately but discreetly. For the most part the club crowd is good. I didn't try out the restaurants, but the room service was pretty good. Their breakfast menu is pretty basic, and they don't offer English breakfast that I recall, but what they did have was excellent food. One nice little touch I thought was nice was that they changed the floormats in the elevators - from good morning, to good afternoon, to good evening. A small but neat little amenity. The place is full of stuff like that, tiny little things that add that sublte little pizzazz. The only downside that I can really think of is that the property is in a jumble of 1-way streets, so if you miss a turn getting there you might have a long night if the traffic is bad. But the Valets are courteously quick to help you forget about your vehicle, and they are also super helpful in where to go / what to do. Based on the property, the amenities, the decor, and the staff, I will definitely return here.

Room Tip: I checked pretty late, the night watchman gave me the 10-second skinny on my room and I asked if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello Bryce T,

I couldn’t thank you enough for taking personal time to share your outstanding experience at W Minneapolis-The Foshay with the Trip Advisor community! You go to such great length in detail about your stay and it will be my pleasure to share your review with the entire team at W Minneapolis- especially to Kate and Brian. We truly want to go that extra step for our guests because you are all very important to us especially when you are traveling away from home; we strive to make every guest feel at home away from home. We look forward to having you back at the historic W Minneapolis-The Foshay.

Whatever/Whenever,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is always great. It is convenient to the best restaurants. Love the amazing bathroom...especially the shower! They treat you very well here!

The community areas of this hotel are great (The Living Room). The standard room is quite spacious. The beds are super comfortable. The staff is very quick and attentive.

The only thing that takes getting used to is the darker lighting in the hallway. But I didn't mind at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello JJAMom,
Thank you for your recent review of W Minneapolis-The Foshay. Feedback is critically important to us and I look forward to reading all the reviews and sharing them with my team. I hope to see you back at the historic Foshay even if it’s for a quick hello!

SIP.BASK.CELEBRATE.
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stay at the W when in Minneapolis for work. It's in a central downtown location and is conveniently connected to the Skyway. The W is also connected to Manny's Steakhouse, which is good for client dinners. The hotel has a spacious bar / lounge area (if you don't mind how dark it is) on the first floor and a second, called Prohibition, on the top floor of the tower, which is a great space with good view.
The guest rooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms seem new and are filled with Bliss spa products. The hotel gym is also really nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello awesometown,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your comments about W Minneapolis-The Foshay. I hope that you enjoyed the Bliss Products; you can find them in all W Hotels around the world; I know I personally do. Your comments were gracious and very much appreciated. We are thankful to have the opportunity to provide a comfortable stay when you’re traveling for work; your Starwood Preferred Guest account will be growing with points in no time.

Cheers,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.