We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams do not come true...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Minneapolis - The Foshay to your Saves list
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dreams do not come true...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The W hotel in Minneapolis was hugely disappointing. Except for the outstanding staff that were responsible for retrieving cars, do not expect exemplary or even good service at this location. The hotel would have been better served to have a computer check-in in the lobby instead of the dour faced staff. The "welcome" desk was indifferent, unfriendly, and poorly informed. During our two day stay we did not receive a greeting (e.g. "Welcome, how may I help you?" or "Good morning"), did not receive any unsolicited advice (e.g. available services and locations of these services, how to use the cumbersome security for the elevator), never saw the concierge, received misinformation when asked questions regarding their observation deck and museum, and housekeeping was only acceptable. Gorgeous bathroom with a lukewarm shower (takes 7 minutes to warm up), wet towels were not replenished, matted damp bath mat on day of arrival, and do not expect a pad for jotting down notes. With the exception of the staff attending the door and cars, one does not feel like a guest at this hotel and we ultimately left feeling disgruntled and unwelcome.

Room Tip: Rooms near ice machines will have excessive noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMpls-Foshay, Guest Relations Manager at W Minneapolis - The Foshay, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Hello There KWSNewYork,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; your time and feedback is greatly appreciated. I am truly apologetic that we didn’t deliver a true W experience to you and your guests throughout your stay. We pride ourselves on being able to grant wishes on a daily basis. We are currently working on strengthening our communication within our talent members and making sure they have the correct tools and knowledge to inform our guests better. I want you to know that the condition and below normal attention to details that you encountered in regards to your room are below standards for W Minneapolis- The Foshay. Our Director of Operations has met with our Director of Style and his team to make sure that these style issues are addressed. I hope that we gain back your trust within W Hotels and invite to return for another stay.
Best,
Matthew Hawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    217
    99
    35
    23
See reviews for
53
313
64
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great place for a fun night downtown. The decor is awesome - modern mixed with the history of the Foshay. Every luxury needed. My favorite is the martini glasses and shaker in the room!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I stayed at the W Minneapolis for the first time. The W is in the renovated Foshay tower in downtown Minneapolis. The hotel has a great Art Deco design and the rooms were awesome with many windows and amenities. Very convenient for all downtown activities. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My new husband and I stayed at The Foshay for our wedding night. Though the entrance was loud and teeming with people (even at nearly 1am) we were able to check in quickly. The staff person recognized it was our wedding night and upgraded us to an amazing room on the 22nd floor. The views were spectacular, the bed was delightful, and the bathroom and its amenities were fantastic. We ordered room service for breakfast the next morning and it was delivered promptly. The food was great - just what we needed. We will definitely stay at this hotel again. Not a single complaint! Thank you for a wonderful wedding night!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

The W in Minneapolis was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful. James at the front desk was so personable. We had a small problem in our room and he made sure to correct it right away. We stayed two nights and both nights the staff was excellent. The rooms were very nice and clean. The room had a refrigerator which was fully stocked with beverages of all types. The valet was very helpful with the directions. And the concierge Wed night (May 31) was very nice and helped us with the elevator and finding our way around the hotel. I will definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend to all of my friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I've always been indifferent with respect to W's, but I got this room for $129 when i missed a flight connection at MSP. Bones of the old building its in are very nice. Public spaces are nice, but on the Friday evening I was there, it was a total party scene- loud, with a somewhat vulgar crowd moving between the bar on the main level and one on the 27th floor. Front desk service was welcoming and excellent. Room quality was quite good, if overly "try too hard to be trendy". Hallways were typical W-> 1970s motel feel with dark lighting designed for you not to notice. Crowd on my floor seemed to be a bunch of hicks having a weekend in the big city- they were loud and obnoxious, and sound insulation in the room wasn't great. Overall though, a good deal for the $129 I paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay for our tenth anniversary.

Liked the architecture, furnishings and staff.

3 block walk from theater district.

Had a pretty active bar but we didn't hear a peep of it.

Car was easily parked and retrieved by valet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Minneapolis - The Foshay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Address: 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Minneapolis - The Foshay 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, historical W Minneapolis Hotel - The Foshay inspires innovative style in a soaring icon of art deco splendor. Take in splendid art, music, shopping, dining and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Minneapolis - The Foshay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Minneapolis - The Foshay Hotel Minneapolis
w Hotels Minneapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Minneapolis - The Foshay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.