We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Chaya Bistro - CLOSED

La Chaya Bistro
4537 Nicollet Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55419-5036
612-827-2254
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 46th Street
Transit: Bus stops right outside our door: Routes 18 and 11 (near 46th Street Station)
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very delicious, unusual food in a lovely place. Had lunch there and had a hard time choosing from the menu--everything sounded great! Mediterranean meets Mexican meets Italian. Lots for vegetarians to eat here as well! A bit pricey but worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow - Nice Neighborhood Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

First time at La Chaya. Fun and innovative menu. Terrifi guacamole - best I've had perhaps ever. Nice take on calamari appetizer as it was paired with shrimp. Calamari was dedent, shrimp was to die for! Excellent seafood paella, sea bass and Cuban pork special. A friend raved about the vegetarian pasta dish he had. Great cocnut tres leches cake and spcied molten choclate cake. Prices not cheap but reasonable. Total for 4 with 4 glasses of wine, 2 appetizers, 4 entrees and 3 desserts = $180.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Caribbean/Mexican bistro.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Second review from a year ago. Chef Tony has changed it up a little. Wonderful patio if weather permits, dog friendly as well. Service was exceptional as usual.

We tried the Caribbean salad, nice texture and very fresh. Next was the calamari with shrimp, nice and light with excellent sauce. Entree was the braised short rib, succulent, presented on a bed of flavorful Caribbean rice.

Finally tried a house made chocolate lava cake with cinnamon ice cream and more importantly perfectly prepared cappacino.

We always look for these chef driven restaurants, you won't be disappointed here. Enjoy

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wish I lived closer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place is the best. The décor is understated and calm; the wine list interesting and the food amazing. If I lived closer I'd be there at least once a week. Fresh seafood in MN? Oh yeah....I had scallops that were perfection. And don't forget dessert - the watermelon sorbet was a dream. I would have gladly taken leftovers home had there been any!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Mn
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Exciting new menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

La Chaya continues to serve some of the best seafood in the Twin Cities, and it has been consistently good in the three years we have been dining there. Their sea bass is perfection.

As much as we have loved the place in the past, now there is a new twist to the menu that makes La Chaya even better. A new chef from Puerto Rico is infusing the menu with Caribbean influences. It is hard to classify the menu, except to say it is a fusion of Mediterranean and Caribbean.

We tried the Tostones appetizer, mashed plantains fried like little pancakes that came with two sauces, one avocado based and one tomato based. Delicious. As an added flavoring, the server brought out a pouring bottle filled with colorful condiments: peppers, garlic, and pineapple in a delicate rice wine. It was a treat of both sight and taste.

Caribbean salads were expertly dressed, as was the greens-apple-blue cheese salad.

We tried their latest version of the sea bass. They tweak it from time to time, and it is always superb. We also had salmon on purple yams and light and fluffy seafood/chorizo paella, both excellent.

Dessert was a banana flavored crème brûlée and a tart key lime pie on a coconut crust. Yum.

The décor is both modern and restful, and they have their own private parking lot.

The date of our visit was May 29, 2013

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chaya Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chaya Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.