We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bouche

La Bouche
61 The Strand, Walmer CT14 7DP, England
01304 368881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Walmer
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: French Provincial Cuisine is on offer at the renovated former Lord Clyde Public House on Walmer Seafront. We offer simple, wholesome, value-for money dishes based on the owner’s French experience of more than forty years. We try to be as authentic as possible, in a relaxed and friendly environment. Do not expect 'fine dining', although we have an excellent wine and beer list. Do not believe everything you tread on TripAdvisor, good or bad! Come and try us for yourselves. We are not perfect, but we proud to be doing what we do.
Deal, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last minute decision to eat here on Monday - fancied somewhere a bit different from our usual outings. We both had 3 courses and each and every mouthful was delicious! (I can be such a fussy eater!) Cheese beignets, lamb, goose, cheese and creme brulee. Kir, pastis and a decent bottle of red. Chatty, informative and welcoming waitress (manageress?) Low key interior but comfortable. A fortunate choice for the evening.Intend to return regularly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    39
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, and fab menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

went with a group of 12, service was brilliant, and food was great, menu changes regularly, and a fine choice

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Macs cafe for breakfast was more appealing. Was expecting a very tasteful meal but had no starters. And when I eventually got a main course was very bland. Service was excellent on a plus side..

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Did not let us down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We ate here for the first time this October. We were a bit wary at first having read early reviews, despite the fact we live very close by, we had not tried it ourselves. Decided to give it a try when we returned from a holiday. It was great for lunch, chicken liver on salad with raspberry vinegar was really good followed by chicken dishes which were good too. The host was charming and took the time to chat to us. Cost was very reasonable. We will go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“14 very satisfied ladies. Great food, must be tried.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Faultless service from the start. The staff were very helpful in organising a large table for 14 ladies, which we did well in advance. We were very well looked after and the food was very pleasant. Not over priced, or fussy, simple amazing food, presented smartly. The boss even came over to say hello when it was his night off, which was lovely.

There was a mixed bag of orders, from the Christmas menu, though to choices from the ample winter menu. Personally I opted for the mushroom pancakes, not going to try to do the french terminology as I would fail. It was a light and bubbly pancake filled with creamy mushrooms, and it was a treat to eat. Very tasty served at a nice temperature, very creamy but not obscuring the taste of the mushrooms. Next up was the Chicken cooked in apple sauce, this was perhaps a little dry but the slight sauce and apples made this no problem at all. The presentation of this was lovely. I rounded up my experience with tart of the day (chocolate) which was hastily swapped with a friend for the brioche pudding, not a chocolate dessert fan, which I adored, quite boozy but very pleasant, not at all stodgy.

All in all we had no complaints from any of the group, we all felt it was a lovely venue with good service. We would be happy to repeat the experience again, not bad for 14 ladies to agree!

This is not a posh place with over priced fancy food. This is a Bistro, check out the definition on Wikipedia, this place ticks the description beautifully.

I will be back and I will be taking my family and I know they will love it too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bouche also viewed

 

Been to La Bouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bouche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.