We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the French come across the channel to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bouche

La Bouche
61 The Strand, Walmer CT14 7DP, England
01304 368881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Walmer
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: French Provincial Cuisine is on offer at the renovated former Lord Clyde Public House on Walmer Seafront. We offer simple, wholesome, value-for money dishes based on the owner’s French experience of more than forty years. We try to be as authentic as possible, in a relaxed and friendly environment. Do not expect 'fine dining', although we have an excellent wine and beer list. Do not believe everything you tread on TripAdvisor, good or bad! Come and try us for yourselves. We are not perfect, but we proud to be doing what we do.
England, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One the French come across the channel to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I can understand why French people come across the channel to experience this quintessential French provincial restaurant.

La Bouche serves a great selection of true French dishes in a French style. This is French food cooked to perfection, presenting you with variety of original tastes to be savored. I chose the French version of black pudding from their dishes of the day, It had a very smooth, almost pate like consistency. This was followed by a really good (and large) portion of Belly of Pork.

If you are very hungry and at all worried about portion sizes do what I did and order the belly of Pork, or finish with the selection of unusual French cheeses (some of which are liquid at room temperature). Ask what order to eat the cheeses in as they are best eaten in order of weakest to strongest tasting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    39
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Waitress service needs to be improved,but the staff were lovely.
Wine expensive. Food OK but nothing to shout about,with a few minor adjustments could be good.
We were with good company so the night was good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I had my first visit to La Bouche on 1st September and it certainly won't be the last. As soon as we opened the door, I thought we were walking in to a little part of France rather than a restaurant in Walmer - the rustic style was perfect. Three of us started with the beignets, which melted in the mouth. For the main course I had a dish I've always wanted to try, chicken with 30 cloves of garlic, and it certainly didn't disappoint. The dish came with rice, which I'm not very keen on, but the friendly staff had no problem when I asked if I could have French fries instead. The portions were so hearty that none of us had room for pudding, but we were all pleasantly surprised to see how reasonable the bill was even though we had had two bottles of a crisp Viognier. To summarise - authentic decor, a warm welcome, delicious food and a good wine list. Try it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This little gem is a MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

On 20th august,we had a lovely evening in La Bouche.The staff were friendly,nothing was too much to ask for:
The food was tasty,well presented, and we were served copious portions.The dishes offered on the menu are not pretentious and will give you an idea of what many French people eat on a daily basis,or if they receive family and friends.
And finally,the prices are very reasonable.
We do recommend it very strongly

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed fantastic food here that really was truly French in style. It seemed to get very busy so we suggest booking in advance. It's just outside of Deal town on a road called The Strand.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bouche also viewed

 

Been to La Bouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bouche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.