We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude owner/manager - denied our reservation.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Melrose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Melrose to your Saves list
Super 8 Melrose
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   231 E County Rd 173, Melrose, MN 56352   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melrose
Austin, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude owner/manager - denied our reservation.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Upon arrival, we were told that the room we booked (one Queen) was not suitable for 2 adults and our 12 year old child. Forced to upgrade to a different room (2 Queens) for an additional 15 dollars. I reluctantly agreed, but was not happy, and was told by the manager that he didn't want any complaints and that we would not be allowed to check in. Manager told me that if I wanted to complain, I should call Obama. Ended up driving back to my home town 4 hours away at 10 PM on Saturday night which was actually very dangerous considering the late hour and lace of sleep. Priceline contacted the hotel on my behalf, and the manager told them that I was rude - which was untrue. Still trying to get this squared away with Priceline and Visa. Better Business Bureau should investigate the practices at this hotel - in the meantime, I will discourage any of my friends and family from doing business with his very unreputable establishment.

Room Tip: Not allowed to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
21
1
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckspocket tn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

When asked for a heater because room had so much cold air blowing in I got call a liar about having the heat on and then finally got a extra heater that wouldnt work then got told how he was a contractor & I was a idiot ! Not how I'd do business! Then said it was warm enough for them & if I didn't like it to leave ! Also not to make him any madder...threatning me ! lol like he was a threat! What a joke !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luverne, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

WORST SERVICE EVER!!!! I would not wish my experience with this hotel to even my worst enemy!!! The service was rude, and they had many hidden fees. The stay ended up costing way more then what I was first told. By a couple hundred dollars!!! Save your money and a huge headache and DO NOT STAY THERE!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California desert
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Have stayed here in the past while visiting in the area.....the new owner has put much effort into spiffing up the previously tired appearance. Spotless floors and bathrooms. Friendly service. Top rating for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Would not cancel reservation because I phoned 10 minutes after the cut-off time, even though I clearly did not need to have a reservation since I was the only reservation they had. Super 8 Customer Service tried to get them to honor the cancellation and they still wouldn't do it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

I hadnt been to the Melrose Super 8 for a while, and when I returned I was pleasntly surprised. The hotel had new mangement and the staff was very friendly. The room was very clean, and the breakfast was good too. I definately reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean room and a good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luverne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

I booked the free night through my Wyndham Rewards card and received a confirmation number. They stated they could not find it when I got there. I PAID for a room, which they later came to and told me I had to leave because I was not 21 (I am 20). The national Super 8 HAD my reservation.
WHAT A NIGHTMARE OF A HOTEL - rude staff and discriminatory!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Melrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Melrose

Address: 231 E County Rd 173, Melrose, MN 56352
Location: United States > Minnesota > Melrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Melrose 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Melrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Super Eight
Melrose Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Melrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.