We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho

El Rancho
1419 E. College Drive, Marshall, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 42 Restaurants in Marshall
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Ghent, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We love the El Rancho, so I hate to say anything negative. But the new buffet set up definitely needs some help! Basics like keeping items stocked (for instance, tortillas were hard to come by!), having bowls available for the salsa, making the cheese visible, etc. are the type of details that need to be worked out. On the plus side, the chicken fajita meat was much better than what I have gotten when I ordered chicken dishes off the menu and it is a great value for the money which was appreciated by my husband and son. I, myself, will stick to the menu next time. I am looking for better food, not huge quantities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed coming here on a Friday night. We got a double beef fajita that was delicious with lots of leftovers. They also serve you chips and salsa when you sit down. The salsa was pretty good, but I think the chips were corn based, not the flour tortillas we're used to so we didn't like those as much. But you can't complain when it's free! Our server was super friendly and the food came really fast. I'd go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food and service is very good! Owner is arrogant, takes business for granted.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Try anything on the menu, it is all very good food! The girls are very friendly servers and always very cheery. Too bad the owner isn't just a silent partner. He is very arrogant and crude. They will be successful because of the good food/service but I wont be back. The place downtown is doing a much better job since El Rancho came to town and the owners are very thankful that you choose to spend your money there.....Mariachi understands you have more than one option for good Mexican in this town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Benton, Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been to the restaurant a few times and it's pretty typical Mexican food. I had a quesidilla once and it was pretty plain. But I have had the fajitas and chimichanga and they were both very good. The service has always been great as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We came for lunch on March 17 and were pleasantly surprised! We had eaten at the other mexican restaurant in town once and were disappointed with the flavor...not at all here! We were given delicious fresh chips n salsa while we looked over the menu and enjoyed some Jarritos. My husband ordered an appetizer of hot wings (extra hot and saucy!) and the Cancun special, both of which he loved. I ordered the Carne Asada and was blown away with the quality, flavors, and generous portions! Our waitress Yury was exceptionally attentive and took good care of us! We would recommend whole-heartedly a visit here as we felt very welcomed and left with happily filled bellies and some leftovers for later!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho also viewed

 

Been to El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.