We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Italian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caldo Italian Kitchen - CLOSED

Caldo Italian Kitchen
100 W College Drive, Marshall, MN
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A casual fun atmosphere serving fresh Italian and American food.
Lake Benton, Minnesota
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unique Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have gone to this restuarant a couple of times and have been impressed by the variety on their menu. They had a wide range of pasta dishes to choose from. Everything I have order has been delicious. They also give you these pickled vegetables and fresh bread to eat. Plus that have some wonderful desserts.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurtSMarshall_MN, Owner at Caldo Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for driving from Lake Benton!
Those pickled veggies are great, make a good afternoon snack too.
Hope to see you at Caldo soon.

Kurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“many mistakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

several different mistakes with our orders. (there were 3 of us). Wrong dressing on salad. Wrong side with entree. Forgot lemon in drink. The steak was excellent but the pasta had too much oil in it. Had to wait 10 minutes for our dessert, although it was free for a birthday. The atmosphere was nice. Waitress was very pleasent but "flustered". I don't think I will go back there for a while.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurtSMarshall_MN, Owner at Caldo Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! Our goal is to deliver a great value, great food and service in a comfortable and fun atmosphere.
It sounds like the server may have lost focus during your visit. I will continue to train and encourage servers to be precise, friendly and speedy.
Feel free to ask for the owner anytime you visit, I't's always good to meet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick bite and found a gem of a place! Appetizers were wonderful and the wild mushroom soup was awesome

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurtSMarshall_MN, Owner at Caldo Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for you review. I'm so glad you're group had a good time. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great New Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place opened recently in the space formerly occupied by Landmark Bistro in downtown Marshall. Our group went there for our annual dinner and were very happy with the overall experience. Service was very friendly and attentive and we even had visits from the chef and owner inquiring about the food. Everyone in the party was very satisfied with their meals which included Chicken Picata and Milanese, Veal, Salmon and some Pasta Dishes. The Menu is not huge but offers a variety of selections including steaks, pastas, some very interesting appetizers. The atmosphere is great, decor is very nice and tables are spaced so it doesn't seem noisy or crowded. Nice, very reasonable wine selection. As with any new restaurant there were a few minor glitches but overall this is a really great addition to the SW Minnesota restaurant scene. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KurtSMarshall_MN, Owner at Caldo Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the review, I'm glad your group had a good time!
Have you made it back to Minnesota?
The weather is just starting to clear for Spring.
Hope to see you soon, thanks.

Kurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caldo Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caldo Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.