We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words - Juicy Lucy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maplewood 5-8 Tavern & Grill

Maplewood 5-8 Tavern & Grill
2289 Minnehaha Ave E, Maplewood, MN 55119-3834
651-735-5858
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Maplewood
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two words - Juicy Lucy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This place has such a wonderful laid back atmosphere, you can't help but feel comfortable the moment you walk in.

We've had a few different things off the menu, but time and time again, we come for the Juicy Lucys, and they have several varieties (the spicy one is my personal favorite).

The waitstaff is always attentive - our glasses were never empty.
It's a neighborhood staple here. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

It is a small place but the service is usually good and the food is always good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, ia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“went twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

the first time, good food, good service. Second time, both were poor. the sandwich (juicy lucy) was not hot. the waittress was slow and uncaring. her tip reflected the service. wont go back there.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST PAUL MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I LOVE THE CHEESE CURDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I an a southern transplant and some of the food is different. lol I love the cheese curds and Juicey Lucy. The staff are all nice and I love the patio where you can eat, have a beer, watch the game and have a cigarette any season. I'll keep coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Best Burgers Around and...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Best Burgers Around and prices are unbelievable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maplewood 5-8 Tavern & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Maplewood 5-8 Tavern & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maplewood 5-8 Tavern & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.