We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, No Frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Inn of Maplewood

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emerald Inn of Maplewood to your Saves list
Emerald Inn of Maplewood
2025 County Road DE, Maplewood, MN 55109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maplewood
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ok, No Frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night while attending a concert at the Myth. They charged $69.00 for the night. I had stayed here a few times in the past five years.

This hotel is pretty basic, nothing fancy, no pool, but definitely serves the purpose if you're looking for inexpensive and convenient. It's very close to Maplewood mall...within walking distance. I like staying in this area because of the mall and all of the restaurants and stores which are on the roads which border the mall property.
The room was nothing fancy, but it was clean (although the cleaning staff forgot to empty the garbage can in the bathroom of the people who were in the room before me) and spacious The window/wall mounted heater worked well, with built-in digital thermostat (yay!). Check in and out was quick and easy. Everything in the bathroom was fine as well. So this is a good choice if you are looking for basic, affordable and conveniently located accommodations.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haines City, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We reserved a king non-smoking room but when we checked the desk attendant took us to our room only to discover it was still occupied. He kept apologizing that he didnt normally work this shift and he found another room but it had no sheets! He then gave us keys to a different room with two beds which is not what we wanted. He then called his manager and told us he was giving us a suite at no additional cost to us! WOW! The room was a storage/resting place for end tables and broken items!!! There were 6 end tables lined up around the room, the phone wasn't plugged in because the cord was broken, there was a floor lamp that had two different color cords taped together with painters tape ( which we never plugged in) one end table had a leg that was totally broken off and the desk behind the couch was missing the front middle drawer front and had sharp nails sticking out on both sides! The sheets were terribly frayed and see thru!!! The bathroom was so small you had to straddle the toilet to close the door. On the plus side we had no towels or wash cloths in the room and when we called they were promptly delivered. The room was very old and tired and had not a picture anywhere on any of the walls.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We needed a room for one night and didn't need any frills. This hotel is located at the intersection of I-694 and White Bear Avenue, so it was very convenient and easy to locate. The check-in process went smoothly, although there had been a small mix-up during the reservations. The employee was friendly and professional. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The heater worked perfectly, with no weird smells or temperature fluctuations. They offer a great variety of TV channels. The bathroom included towels, etc. for two, plus plastic drinking cups, shampoo packets, hand and bath soap, and a hair dryer. There is no complimentary breakfast, but there is a Perkins right next door. They are right by the Maplewood Mall, so there are tons of great restaurants and shopping within just a few blocks. Although they advertise themselves as "no frills", I didn't notice anything important missing from our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoyt Lakes, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were in the area for a graduation had many family members so we all stayed at the Emerald Inn. Easy to find and to get back on the freeway. Close to Maplewood Mall and a few eating areas. Not the fanciest place, no pool, but the rooms were clean and the bed so so. If had to be in the area again would stay for the price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Surprised at how expensive this area is to "rent" a bed. Looked for 2 nights lodging while on a 2 week trip and found this place because some friends live in the area. Convenient to freeway, gas, food, and stores.Just over $50 a night when we stayed. Rooms are VERY clean, good size. Bathroom was clean, defiantly on the small size but adequate. Fridge and microwave were handy for us. Internet not quite high speed, but did the job for checking e-mail and light browsing. Were a few construction workers staying and had some of they're trucks taking up some of the parking which seems limited already for the size of the building. Considering the Twin cities hotels can go for 2,3 or 4 times what we paid, I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This seems to be a pretty pricey area. I needed to be in this neighborhood for a MN Drinking Team event, and all the other hotels were much more expensive (even with loyalty discounts).
the room was average to small, but clean and has a frige and microwave, which I always appreciate.
The smoking floor was very smokey, but luckily the window opened and let in some fresh air.
It's right on the freeway and easy to locate. We didn't have trouble with the noise until a big-rig truck decided to park (with the motor ON) outside our window for a long time in the wee hours of the morning.
There's no breakfast, but there's a perkins right outside and a couple vending machines.
They have a strict "no visitors after midnight" policy.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance, as well as a shopping mall and a nightclulb.
They do have free wiFi

Room Tip: Proably better higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed with my family over the weekend while visiting grandparents post Christmas. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Place was very good for the price. Didn't have alot of extras but we were not looking for them and glad didn't have to pay for it. My daughter said that the wireless was great, but I didn't use it. Front desk and housekeepers were friendly.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor and it was quiet and internet was fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Inn of Maplewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Inn of Maplewood

Address: 2025 County Road DE, Maplewood, MN 55109
Location: United States > Minnesota > Maplewood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Maplewood
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Emerald Inn of Maplewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Inn of Maplewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.