We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Pancake House

Original Pancake House
6322 Vinewood Lane, Maple Grove, MN
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Maple Grove
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
sanibel
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a large group (9 adults and two under 3 yrs.) and everything was perfect, great service, generous portions and good food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate here at about 9:00 on a Wednesday morning. Upon entering the restaurant and seeing the 2-sided fireplace and the comfortable wood decor,, we decided the building had previously been an up-scale restaurant. The hostess said no, they were the first restaurant in the building. We were surprised at the large menu, consisting of MANY kinds of pancakes and crepes. We decided on a baked apple pancake and cherry crepes. The pancake was huge, and very tasty, with large slices of Apple and the right amount of cinnamon. The bottom crust was a little doughy, but not overly so. The cherry crepes were delicious, with tart cherries and very thin crepes. They were not covered in sweet syrupy sauce as is too often done, only cherries and whipped cream. There were three large crepes. We took enough of both dishes home for the next day's breakfast! We will definitely look for OPH restaurants again as we travel!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to start a day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food is consistently good. The staff takes very good care of you. Call ahead to get your name on the list to move you to the head of the line of people waiting when you arrive.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Expensive, long waits, 49er pancakes are tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were out running errands and were close to the Maple Grove Original Pancake House. The Happy Husband has been wanting to try the Original Pancake House for a couple of years, and even though I have eaten there I figured it was good to participate in his experience... Having tried to stop and eat at various OPH locations and just weren't up for waiting in the hugely long lines -- it's breakfast food and we're just not that patient. Today we noticed there weren't too many cars in the lots area and took a chance, it paid off we walked right in.

We were greeted and seated promptly and the rest of the folks in the restaurant were made up of the over 50 crowd and business people. It is a fairly open space, so it would be loud if there were lots of people and children in the space.

The coffee at Old Pancake House is always good, and today was no exception. We ordered the 49er pancakes which are ultra-thin and come in a regular (3 cakes) and short stack option. These 'cakes are HUGE so consider that when you are ordering. The Happy Husband also ordered bacon -- sides seem to mostly be a la carte -- and it was okay, not spectacular but good enough. I ordered the Irish Omelet and it was huge. A little too rich for my preferences, but the dogs loved the meal when I brought it home for them.

For breakfast food, I always find OPH to be too expensive, and based on my years-and-years-and-years of traveling I have a good idea of what things cost. Here's a breakdown so you can make your own decision about the value of the meal.

$5.20 - 2 coffees ($2.60/each)
$4.75 - bacon (3 slices)
$8.95 - 49ers Pancakes (3 each)
$12.75 - Irish Omelet
$31.65 - SUBTOTAL
$2.30 - for the Great State of Minnesota
$33.95 - Food and Tax TOTAL
$6.05 - Tip
$40.00 - Breakfast TOTAL

The Happy Husband wanted the experience, and got it. We won't be working too hard to go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Family Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

One of my favorite breakfast spots in the Twin Cities, good service, fantastic food, and lovely atmosphere. I will continue to come here! They also have delicious lunches!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.