We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try not to stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
111 West Lind Court, Mankato, MN 56001-0400 (Formerly Mankato Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 hotels in Mankato
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Try not to stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Mankato is a busy town so if you are going there get a hotel early. I chose this Rodeway Inn because we were arriving late and didn't feel the need for amenities. But this was ridiculous. Had to call for someone to come out of the back and check us in. The entire establishment needs a complete facelift. The shower had long black hairs in it. There was only one shampoo. There was a desk but no electricity anywhere near it. The breakfast was nasty little doughnuts and poor quality coffee. It was cheap but disgusting.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albert Lea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Not a decent stay for the money, even with a company discount. I am being polite and reserved in calling this place a DUMP. The halls and stairs were filty, stained. Walls need cleaning. The ceiling tile on the second floor was stained and cracked in places. Our room smelled moldy too. Seriouslly I'm trying to figure out who to call about this sewer hole.

Room Tip: Spend the night in your car.... not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Me and my wife have stayed here a few times due to my job. Other employees from our company were staying here. The manager got a motel guest to run the front desk and the woman done nothing but lie on guests and charged them what she wanted to, to stay. We never paid the same price for a single night stay, 1 bed-smoking room. We were charged anywhere from $30-$50 for the room. I would not recommend this motel to any company employees and if there is anyone other than the guy manager at desk, just turn and walk out. Rooms aren't worth the price your charged. Go to the Motel across the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We were in Mankato for the weekend to take out son to MNSU. We were busy all day with moving him in and seeing the campus. We called other hotels in the area and they were way too expensive for the short amount of time we would need the hotel for. Mankato Inn was $45. The mattress was comfy and the room was clean. The breakfast was not so thrilling, but you are not paying for a full breakfast. Muffins, cereal, coffee and juice was just fine. The savings on the room allowed us to go out for a Big Breakfast. The location was great and the staff was nice. My son had stayed here for previous MNSU visits and had the same experience. Mankato Inn will be a place to stay on our future visits. Also loved the HiSpeed Internet in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here. The owners are slowly upgrading things. The rooms are small but adquate and a real bargain for the price. People next door talked pretty loud which was annoying but then one of my business contacts told me her night was awful at the local "name brand" hotel where a wedding was being held and she got moved twice with very little sleep that night. So the loud talking was not too much to complain about.

The old carpet is slowly being replace. There is free wireless internet, HBO. I almost want to keep this gem a secret. The parking lot is filling up so it is likely word is getting out that this is a great bargain.

I need to find out where they get their pillows, they were the most comfortable I have slept on in recent years.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I stayed at the Mankato Inn while I was in town for a wedding. The staff was extremely curteous. When I checked out I had forgotten my cell phone charger and an entire oputfit. When I called to ask for my items, the staff spent their own money to send me my items the same day. Now that's great service! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hardypardy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

My family and I were traveling back to North Dakota after attending a family reunion in Chicago. The entire town of Mankato was booked except for this place. Needless to say there was probably a reason why this was the only motel in town with rooms left. The place is literally falling appart. Although there is evidence that some remodeling has been done (1/2 of the columns on the hotel are painted one color and the other 1/2 are painted another), MUCH more needs to be done. The carpets in the hallway were filthy and the walls looked as though they were splashed with coffee. I thought the post below was joking but he was entirely serious about the housekeeping. Needless to say I should've slept in my car.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 111 West Lind Court, Mankato, MN 56001-0400 (Formerly Mankato Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 hotels in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mankato Hotel Mankato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.