We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Mankato

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Mankato to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Mankato
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1285 Range Street, Mankato, MN 56002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Mankato
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

I am on the road for business almost 200 days out of every year so I see my fair share of hotel/motel rooms. I would say this hotel is a great value for those who want to make their dollar go further. They have everything you could want like an indoor pool, hot tub, breakfast, and hbo for a really decent price (almost 1/2 the price of some of the other hotels in that town). The staff was very friendly and helpful in suggesting a great place to eat (Neighbors Italian Bistro). The rooms were large and beds comfortable. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    26
    12
    13
See reviews for
49
14
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, NE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

I was lucky and came to Mankato during the coldest week of the year (-20 to -30F BEFORE WIND CHILL!) Needless to say my car wouldn't start at 7:30 in the morning after it had been sitting out in the cold all night. I didn't have jumper cables on me nor did anyone else who was eating breakfast in the lobby. I asked the front desk employee if she knew of any cheap tow truck companies in town that could give me a jump. She told me not to worry because she could call her husband to come over and give me a jump. Twenty minutes later he arrived and gave me a jump. Now that is service!

  • Liked — The service was fantastic
  • Disliked — Only wireless internet... no built in ethernet plug ins
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul mn
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

I stayed at this hotel recently and have to say that I was not pleased at all with the service or accomodations. First, several channels on the tv were snowy and when I contacted the front desk they said "that I would just have to put up with it." Clearly their front desk needed extra training. The hotel claims to offer wireless internet access but their modem seems to have been down. It was also quite obvious that the previous occupant of the room had a pet as there was cat dander and some other stuff still present in the room. Overall, this was a very bad experience and the next time I am in Mankato I will make an effort to avoid this establishment.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — front dest service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

I am a frequent business traveler to the Mankato area and have stayed at most of the hotels in the city. This is by far the worst place you can stay in southern Minnesota. Although the room appeared to be clean at first, the lamp shades and furniture had a layer of dust on them and the bath tub was not entirely free from debris. The hotel was very noisey with kids running down the hallway throughout the night. I contacted the front desk SEVERAL times but nothing was done about the noise. The manager at the front desk in the morning was very rude. After checking out, I was called a rather unpleasant name behind my back but with in full earshot by the manager. How this place manages to stay in business is one of the great mysteries of the universe. If by some odd chance all of the other hotels in Mankato were booked and it came down to a choice between this DAYS INN or the McDonalds parking lot, the parking lot looks pretty good!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Hotwire booked this hotel based on my price criteria for the Mankato area. It's located alongside HWY 169, which receives a lot of heavy (noisy) truck traffic. If I stay here again--and I likely will--I'll request a room closest to the West side of the building.

The front-desk service on the day of our check-in was neither cheerful nor annoyed. He was simply there, going about the business of checking people into their rooms. It went quickly.

The pool is very small, like the size of three king-size beds lined up side-by-side. It doesn't take more than, say, a mix of fifteen children and adult swimmers for the place to seem really, really crowded.

The morning breakfast area accommodates maybe six groups of seated guests, two or three to a table, and then it's up to the room to eat breakfast for you, so get down there early. It's got the usual "enhanced [read: waffle maker] continental breakfast" selections.

My son and I had a clean room, and I've no complaints. It's pretty much what I would expect from a motel this size.

The morning staff--who appeared to be just one friendly, hard-working lady, cleaning the breakfast area and checking out people--was genuinely wanting to help.

  • Liked — The common areas, the room, the entry way to the motel, the breakfast area: all very clean.
  • Disliked — The property is quite small, but they make the best of the available space.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

Only stayed one night. Comfy room with a fridge, but no iron. Helpful guy at the desk. Wireless internet access. Pool/spa - with 'adult' hours starting at 10pm, though when we were in there at 10.30pm two children came in and played around, despite cameras that were ?monitored and staff just a couple of doors away. Pointless 'adult' rule therefore, good in theory though.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

This is a nice place, but there seemed to be a LOT of children running up and down the halls and a LOT of screaming while they ran. When it was still going on after 10:30 at night, along with the noise coming from the room across the hall, we complained.
They came up and talked to them and it stopped. Then later, we were awakened by the sound of people tromping up and down the halls and doors slamming all over the floor.
Since it was coming from all over the floor, I didn't quite know how to complain about an entire floor, and we tried to get back to sleep, which eventually we did. Only to be awakened again and again.
We found out that there was a baseball tournement going on and a couple of teams were staying on our floor. I know it was inconsideration on the baseball players fault, but I found the hotel offers discounts to more than 10 people so I bet this happens a lot with large families and sports teams.
This would be a nice place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet, but only if you're deaf.

  • Liked — the room was nice and the staff courteous
  • Disliked — The noisiest place we ever stayed at.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Mankato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Mankato

Address: 1285 Range Street, Mankato, MN 56002
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 hotels in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Mankato 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Mankato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mankato Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Mankato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.