We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our large gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 Range Street, Mankato, MN 56003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Mankato
Marshall, Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Our large gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay at the Best Western Plus because of the easy access and great swimming pool for the kids to play in. this hotel is right off of Highway 169 coming into Mankato, so it was easy for everyone to find and get to. The pool area was wonderful with a lot of room for our families to enjoy some time talking and yet allow the little kids to have fun too. There were a lot of tables and area to sit or get up and move around while around the pool. While I was checking in, I had forgotten to tell the front desk clerk, Andrew, of our desire to have all three rooms for our family lose together or adjacent to each other. When I told my wife our room number after I checked in, it was way down the hall from the other two rooms. When I asked Andrew if it were possible to change rooms to one closer to the other two, he was so nice & accommodating about it. Was very impressed by the staff and hotel & would recommend this hotel to any families traveling.Thank you Best Western, this hotel is a feather in your cap!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to provide you with the superior customer service we pride ourselves in. Our staff does try to meet our guests’ requests to be close to each other whenever possible. Sometimes if there are different room types it is difficult but we do our best. Our pool area is a great area to meet and enjoy your stay. Your comments are wonderful and greatly appreciated. We have started some of our design renovations that you will like. Best Western Plus Hotel & Restaurant will be waiting and looking forward to your return.

Thank-you,
Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
10
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a quirky place, architecturally (what is with the add-on Roman columns?), but it has everything you need, especially if you have children along.

We stayed here last year and, for this year's stay, I confess to looking at other choices in Mankato. But in the end, the BWP served our needs best. And by "our needs" I mean:

a LARGE indoor swimming pool and hot tub, an even larger area for tables and chairs around the pool, a first floor room with poolside entrance, a refrigerator and microwave in the room, free VERY high speed wireless internet (we were able to stream movies, which is not something you can do with the "high speed" internet of other hotels), a 42" flat screen tv that lets you plug in your own player's cables (my laptop's hdmi hook-up let us play dvd's on the tv), a complimentary hot breakfast (decent selections and with a very friendly and helpful attendant), and a full bar with different specials each night.

All of this added up to the following scene yesterday evening: the kids whooping it up, tossing a nerf football across the pool while mom and dad sat in patio furniture just outside the room door, kicking back with an $8 pitcher of sangria, checking email (mom) and watching an episode of Battlestar Galactica (geek dad). That's just not going to happen at any of the other hotels in Mankato, no matter how much you pay.

Room Tip: Rooms 150, 152, 154, 156, 158 put you in a nice, quieter corner of the pool area. Definitely worth p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to provide you with the superior customer service we pride ourselves in. Your comments are wonderful and greatly appreciated. As a Best Western we are always making new additions and changes to our hotel to meet the needs of our guests. We have a lot of Design items planned for the future. We look forward to having you return to the Best Western Plus Hotel & Restaurant and experiencing our new upgrades.

Thank-you,
Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Crystal, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Are Family have been takeing a winter brake with t.j. and the staff at Mankato for the last 27 years! We have always had a great time. In all the years I can think of one year that things didn't go well.
T. J. is a great Manager , she makes are stay always great and she goes out of her way to help us out.
this Hotel is great to stay at becaues of the nice area around the pool and that the pool is fenced in.
Great food!!!!!!!!!!!!!! gh@Minnesota

Room Tip: we like the pool side just to be in the middle of things. others like the suites for the quiet and r...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your kind words and positive experiences with us.Our restaurant staff does an excellent job and we have just finished updating our nightly specials. We appreciate your comments on our fantastic pool area and look forward to seeing your family again for the next 27 years. Thanks again, T.J. Overocker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the weekend here with a large group. Loved the pool area and poolside rooms. Beds were small but it was great for our large group. The kids were able to ply together in the pool area while the parents hungout and talk. The pool area is big and not the normal hot eye burning area that many other hotels are. The restaurant was ok but the cocktail area was great. Breakfast was awesome. Well worth it. The only thing I didn't like was the double beds instead of queens and a small amount of ants in the corner of the bathroom.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I appreciate your comments about our large indoor heated pool and pool area. It does layout nicely so that families can visit while others enjoy the pool. We are currently working on a design plan to continue to improve our property to meet our guest’s needs. We are almost complete with painting all our guest rooms and will be starting on the other projects following that. So you will be seeing some exciting changes starting to take place soon. As always we pride ourselves in providing a clean hotel. We look forward to having your group stay with us again.

Thank-you,
Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

For the past 8 years our families have met and stayed there a three day weekend for our "family Christmas get together". The staff and management have been most helpful and accomodating to our needs.We usualy are about 35 people and anything we have wanted or needed, they have graciously provided for us. We appreciate them and their facility!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and the service you received during your stay. You and your group are so enjoyable to work with. Our staff looks forward to seeing your group next year.

Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Priceline definately needs to review the quality level of this hotel. Once you get past the claim of the biggest indoor pool in Mankato, this hotel is very average. The rooms were clean and the ac/heating unit did a great job of keeping the room comfortable. My biggest disapointment was the lack of hot water for the shower...it was warm at best and I froze taking a shower. The hallways in the hotel go on forever...it appears the hotel was added onto several times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CozyStay55, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I apologize that you experienced a lack of hot water when you stayed at our property. That is not common. I can assure you that our maintenance has been notified. We are a two level property so we do have ½ of our rooms on first floor. Our guests like that because they can park their cars closer to their rooms because of our multiple entrances but it does give some longer halls. Your positive comments on cleanliness are appreciated. Our staff strives to provide a clean environment for our guests. Please give us another opportunity to provide you with a quality stay. You input is appreciated.

Arlene Herzberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 1111 Range Street, Mankato, MN 56003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mankato
#6 Business Hotel in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you demand only the best, but at a price that doesn't break the bank, only this Mankato hotel will do.Mankato hotels are not created equally, and it can be tough to decide where to stay. There are many reasons guests keep returning to this Mankato hotel. A great location, competitive price, and large indoor heated pool are the makings for a fantastic getaway. Our Mankato hotel regularly caters to large sports teams. If you're in town for a game or event, look no further. Enjoy a daily, complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring sizzling hot eggs, breakfast meat, fluffy waffles or pancakes, flaky pastries, cereals, yogurt, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices.Other hotels in North Mankato simply can't compete. We're located close to the Caswell Sports Complex and Verizon Civic Center. Some guests are in town for the MN Vikings Training Camp, the famous Mankato Marathon, or to check out Big College Town in the tri-college area. We've got you covered.Business travelers also frequently call this Mankato hotel their home away from home. Employees of the Taylor Corporation, Carlson Craft, Kato Engineering, and Kaye Corporation are just a few regulars. You'll feel right at home in the comfortable, spacious rooms that are perfect for longer stays.This Mankato hotel boasts unbeatable, friendly service. You'll be treated to only the best in customer service and amenities. After all, everyone deserves to be pampered and spoiled while traveling. BEST WESTERN is a gem in Mankato, and you'll be glad to stay in such great digs.Of course, Minnesota also features stunning natural beauty. Nature lovers are delighted at the incredible vistas. Enjoy the best of the city and country in this college town, where kicking back and relaxing is taken seriously.Reserve your upcoming stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant and get ready to be spoiled! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mankato Best Western
Best Western Mankato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.