We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Casual Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charley's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charley's Restaurant
920 Madison Ave, Mankato, MN 56001
507-388-6845
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 123 Restaurants in Mankato
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good and Casual Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Recently I visited Charley’s Restaurant and Lounge on a week day for supper. I cannot say the place is great but it was good enough that if in the area again I would not hesitate to stop for lunch or dinner. The waiting staff was very attentive and friendly. They started me off with a glass of wine, a salad (which was very good by the way), and a couple warm dinner rolls. For my entrée I picked the slow cook prime rib pork chops (two thick cut chops around 8 ounces each served with pork au jus) and a baked potato. The chops were tender and tasty (especially when dipped into the warm Au Jus). The chef probably cooked the loin a little too long and the meat was a little bit dry but the broth help by making it more pallable. It was a lot of food at a very reasonable price, the atmosphere was old fashion but comfortable.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

i had a great experience multiple times at charly's

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice Place Food Need Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Like I stated above it’s a nice place and the service is fine but the food really needs improvement. Someone has made the decision to cut food cost to improve profit I would guess but it has really shown up in the quality of what they are putting on the plate.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Only so-so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I was not impressed with a recent lunch Charley's. The waitress was friendly, but she had no one to help her so service was very slow. I ordered a dish with steamed vegetables esp. for the vegetables, but the new cook forgot to put them on the plate. The waitress quickly remedied the situation, but the vegetables turned out to be have been frozen vegetables--not exactly the "fine dining" the restaurant advertizes.

I did not think the walleye tasted very fresh. The seafood buffet, which my brother ordered, seems to have been mostly deep-fried fare.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Charley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charley's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.