We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rapidan Dam Store

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rapidan Dam Store
54116 Glory Ln, Mankato, MN
(507) 546-9997
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 123 Restaurants in Mankato
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is such a small camping ground that should have great, laid back service - but it's currently Nazi occupied. They lock the gates so you can't leave past nine. Better not have an emergency!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A unique little restaurant right next to the dam.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Rapidan Dam Store is actually a restaurant, but they do sell stuff as well. It is Very casual, much like the little diners of the past. The food is outstanding. They have the best burgers and homemade pie that draws people from miles away. A bonus is the view of the dam after your meal!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stockton, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great pie.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We took 5 kids to see the dam. Afterwards we went to have pie and malts. The malts are big enough to share. The kids enjoyed them. I had peanut butter cream pie. It was so good. It was a small place, old but clean. Friendly staff. We had 3 malts split and 2 pieces of pie for under $20. All the way home I was wishing I had got some pie to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a tiny little place outside of Mankato. It is old and nostalgic. It's an old country store full of charm. They are only open seasonally. I think from April to October? I think they have the best burgers and pie of all time. These pies were featured in food and wine magazine at one point. There is a little park and you can walk out on the dam. There is also a campsite and trails. We leave the dogs in the car while we eat and then take the dogs for a walk afterwards. Very reasonably priced. Heads up though! They only take cash and checks. Maybe local checks only. Best for families.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great burger joint with AWESOME 'homemade' pies!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

First, be aware that they are only open April 1 through October 31.

Secondly, be prepared for some inexpensive, but great food. Grilled burgers, potato salad (creamy mustard style) and the fries are all great. Finally, the pies! Not huge slices, which is great for the waistline, but each of the three I had, blueberry crunch ala mode, after my cheeseburger, were spectacular; we took some others (coconut cream and chocolate pecan silk) to go.

The service was friendly - we were made to feel like we were right at home. It isn't fast food, but it's worth the wait. Also, there's a park across the street if you want to picnic it and there are great views from the walk out on the dam.

They are open 7:00 - 7:00, so get there early to get your favorite pie as they may run out. The chocolate pecan silk is only available on the weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rapidan Dam Store also viewed

 

Been to Rapidan Dam Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rapidan Dam Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.