We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to recommend this B&B” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Butler House B&B

Butler House B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Butler House B&B to your Saves list
Butler House B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   704 South Broad, Mankato, MN 56001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mankato B&B and Inns
Pennsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not much to recommend this B&B”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Other than to greet us at the door, show us to our room, and serve us an uninspiring breakfast (with the same egg dish served two days in a row); there was no attention paid to us during our stay at the Butler House B&B. Everything about this B&B was subpar. The curtains hang unevenly and the toilet made a terrible sound when flushed and sometimes even on its own. We were never asked if we needed anything nor was our room straightened or toiletries replaced during our three day stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Our 3 night stay at the Butler House made our Mankato stay comfortable and magical. Our host, David, recently took over running the B&B and he made us feel so welcome and comfortable.

We came to Mankato to visit Maud Hart Lovelace's home town and the setting of her Betsy-Tacy books. Staying in this wonderful home of Lovelace's era and within walking distance to her homes and those of her friends, made it easy to imagine we were one of her high school crowd. In fact, we stayed in the Betsy-Tacy room, though the other rooms were much nicer.

We highly recommend staying at the Butler House, if you visit Mankato. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Check the Web site for amenities/bath location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVAGE
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The reservation process was smooth, but we found it odd that they required a check for down payment when we made the reservation even tho we gave them our credit card #. When we got there, the hostess showed us the dining room and nothing else about the place except our room. We are used to B&Bs providing some wine and snacks in the evening, plus often chocolates; this wasn't done but a pair of wine glasses were in the room. The room was clean, but the sheets kept coming off all night ( and we were just sleeping!) and there was no mattress cover on the bed. There was a small TV and a video left in the room which was nice. Breakfast was a huge disappointment. There was a small cup of fruit with about a teaspoon of yogurt in it, the coffee was pretty foul, the "homemade pastry" they advertise on their site was definitely NOT homemade and tasted like and was as stale as cardboard. The egg dish was a bland, microwaved souffle. The hostess didn't refill our coffee carafe. The tiny scoop of sherbet and cookie after breakfast were tasty. When we were ready to pay, they wouldn't take a credit card w/out charging 5% extra, but this wasn't noted anywhere on their website so we had to use all our cash to pay for the room since we rarely carry checks anymore.
The neighborhood was quite noisy and there were loud train whistles all night.
We will never go there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

These people are the most unkind, rude B & B/hotel owners I've ever encountered. In October,2008, I booked a suite for 3 nights for a convention in July, 2009. As per their request, I sent them a $50 check to hold the room. Two weeks later, disaster hit. My elderly mother had a stroke, and when she was released from the hospital in early December, she came to live with me and I became her caretaker. I realized I could not attend the convention next July and called to cancel my reservation. Sharry, one of the owners, seemed quite understanding and said my $50 check would be returned. On Christmas Eve I got a check for $20, stating that $10 per night had been deducted as per their cancellation policy. I called again and spoke to Ron, who was adamant that this was their policy. He even wrote me an email stating I'd been rude to call on Christmas Eve (which was when I got their $20 check and when they were open!). He actually felt victimized by my complaint! This is a heartless way to do business and a mean-spirited way to treat someone who is down on her luck. Also consider the fact that this is 7 months prior to the date of the reservation, and that this is a room that will surely be filled by someone else for the convention.

  • Disliked — Ron's unkind attitude
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2004

Held our Groom's Dinner here, and also stayed the night of our Wedding. Beautiful old house that you will feel very comfortable in!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Butler House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler House B&B

Address: 704 South Broad, Mankato, MN 56001
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Butler House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Butler House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butler House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.