We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato

Save Saved
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Raintee Road, Mankato, MN 56001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Mankato
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
23
6
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Where to start? The hair on the bathroom shower walls or the paper thin walls that woke me up out of my dead sleep to my neighbors getting it on? Do not stay here. Not work the price for what you get. The fixtures are falling apart and everything is outdated. Also, the sounds you may hear at night cannot be unheard. Sick.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerMankato_MN, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I would like to apologize for your stay with us. I have brought on new staff to address the housekeeping issues. The light fixtures are being replaced along with new carpeting in guest rooms and new flat screen LED TV’s in the living rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the GrandStay Residential Suites in Mankato in Sept. 2012. We had been looking forward to the stay since this was our first experience staying at a GrandStay property. What a bad first impression. The overall room layout was nice and the cleanliness of the room was adequate. Unfortunately, it went downhill from those first imrpressions. Aside the the tired and shabby room decor, the room had several problems including a faulty hide-a-bed, broken window blinds on the French doors that led to the bedrooms and a used candy wrapper in the bed. Again, we probably could have overlooked some of these issues but the customer service issues pushed us over the edge.

When we went to inform the front desk of the broken hide-a-bed, the clerk acted surprised that the room had even been rented out since it had been flagged not to rent out due to the broken sofa sleeper. This was especially disturbing since there were plenty of empty rooms in the inn that night. Shortly after this episode we received a call up in our room to inform us that we needed to get out of the room since it was 20 minutes past checkout time and that we would be charged for an extra day if we didn't get out of the room. In my many years of traveling I have never experienced a call of that nature. You would think they would have just left us alone considering that they made my son sleep on a broken bed the previous night.

To cap the whole thing, when we came down to check out, I asked about a price reduction for the faulty bed. The clerk told me to call the manager when she returned in a few days. When I told the clerk that I was not too pleased to have been called and told to get out of the room since it was past checkout time, she rudely told me to "have a nice day."

Obviously, my nice day began as soon as I left the hotel.

P.S. - The breakfast was also subpar.

Room Tip: Maybe a room in the Holiday Inn Express across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerMankato_MN, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I would like to apologize for your stay with us. Thank you for your response all feed back will help us improve the hotel. My staff and I have been working on all issues that you brought up. We have all new bedding in the hotel and are working on getting carpets replaced, along with other items in the rooms. I hope the next time you are in Mankato that you will give us a try or at least stop and take a tour of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is small and located in a convenient area in Mankato. Lots of dining and shopping options are nearby. We stayed in a one bedroom room with a sleeper couch. It is perfect for a long weekend when you need a full size refrigerator to store all of your drinks and snacks. The room was clean, the carpet was showing wear and needed cleaning. The bedding and blankets should be replaced. The pool is quite small. The hotel lobby is nice and welcoming. The staff we encountered were pleasant and willing to help. We will return and hope to try the two bedroom next time to have a bit more space.

Room Tip: Upper floors might be the best for sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerMankato_MN, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us back in July! It is nice to hear that the room worked good for you. We have been updating the hotel. We have all new bedding and have started to replace carpeting. we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Mankato!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. It looks like it used to be a nice hotel, but it's starting to show its age. Our carpet was buckled and torn, and there was evidence of prior water damage. Pool is very small. Breakfast is okay. Free wifi was hit or miss. Ask for a room on the backside away from the highway.

Probably an average hotel for Mankato but the owners should invest more in upkeep to get it back to where it was.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerMankato_MN, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us back in June. Since your stay we have been working on up dating the hotel. We have all new bedding and have started to replace carpeting. We have also made changes to the breakfast. I hope that the next time you are in Mankato you stop and check us out. You can come in ask for a tour of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls,mn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had booked a one night stay at the hotel about 3 weeks prior to our March 31st stay. Our sports team were all staying at this hotel. Our after 7pm check-in was halted due to an overbooked hotel and some unexpected damaged rooms. We were directed to another property down the road. I would have expected the GrandStay to honor prior reservations in favor of walk up guests. My girls were very disappointed with the change in plans.The replacement hotel was the same rate as the GrandStay, but with none of the amenities. Repeated attempts to resolve the differences in room rates have gone unanswered by all levels of management. I did expect more service out of the GrandStay, but sadly this is not the case. My warning to all who arrive, do so early as to safely secure your reservation for the night.

Room Tip: arrive early or call to confirm the reservation
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The place has a very friendly homey feel to it. Nice pool. Small convenience store. Very pleasant staff. The rooms are equipped with a full kitchen including a dishwasher. Ideal for the longer stay traveler. The manager told me one woman had lived there since the day they opened.

The staff are extremely pleasant. I like the separate bedroom concept even if the living room is a bit on the small side. Ideal for 1 or 2 people but no more. If your group is bigger I suggest the two bedroom suite.

I travel to Mankato frequently on business and am familiar with many of the hotels. Grand Stay is certainly in the top 5. There is only one thing that keeps me from making it my number one hotel in Mankato. The internet speed is extremely slow. My business is heavily internet based and they had speeds of .60 Mb on several speed checks. I really don't understand why they insist on cheaping out on this vital communication source. It is quite inexpensive to increase speed. Who wants to wait 5 minutes to see a 2 min. You Tube.

The other small negative is they are a bit off the beaten track but lets face it Mankato isn't that big so that you can't get anywhere in less than 10 minutes.

If the internet is no big deal to you this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato

Address: 1000 Raintee Road, Mankato, MN 56001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family, Business & Extended-Stay Suites Hotel GrandStay Mankato, MinnesotaGrandStay® Residential Suites Hotel in Mankato, MN offers spacious family and business hotel suites, perfect for an extended-stay, business trip or vacation. Located east of the intersection of Hwy 169 and Hwy 14, next to the River Hills Mall. This all-suite hotel features a delightful complimentary breakfast buffet, high-speed Internet, 39" HD LED televisions, fully equipped kitchens in every suite and more! Enjoy your stay in Mankato, MN and experience all the comforts of home during your stay at GrandStay® Residential Suites. The city of Mankato offers scenic high bluffs, slow winding rivers, quiet prairies and thriving farmland. Experience the vineyards and orchards or escape to the trails for hiking, biking, and exploring the hidden parks.During your stay take a swing at the local golf course, shop at The River Hills Mall, or take a stroll through the charming shops. All of this is only minutes away from GrandStay Mankato, centrally located to:* Mankato State University* Bethany Lutherean College* Rasmussen College* South Central College* Emanuel St. Josephs Hospital* Mayo Health Systems* Taylor Industries* MTU* Agstar* Verizon Headquarters* Kato Engineering* Bolton & Menk* Verizon Wireless Center* Caswell Park* River Front Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Suites Mankato Hotel Mankato
Grandstay Residential Hotel Mankato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Mankato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.