We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Premier Drive, Mankato, MN 56001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I decided to have a get-away weekend near the relatives. We booked into this hotel and were asked if we would like to be on a waiting list for a king suite. Since it was only a few dollars more, we said sure. We received the upgrade for the promised amount and it was well worth it. Spacious, temperature was kept great our whole stay (and it was below-zero weather outside), nice pools, great breakfast. After we returned home, a nice letter was sent by the manager thanking us for our stay with the hopes we would return soon. We plan on doing just that!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Artsutup,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on TripAdvisor. We truly do appreciate hearing from our guests and from what I can tell; we were able to meet your needs to a “T!” From the upgrade that you requested to the excellent service that we were able to provide you. That is truly what our “Be Our Guest” atmosphere is supposed to be!

We are so happy that the room was to your liking and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you back to Mankato!

Wishing you safe travels,

Tim Jahner, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    37
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
29
6
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've stayed at this location several times over the past 10 years. This is a great value considering the quality, typically, of the Country Inn brand. Location is great, and there is an attached restaurant/bar (though if I review the bar it may get low marks for service---waiting 12 minutes to be acknowledged while sitting at a bar stool really isn't great).

Here's the thing about the Country Inn. The breakfast area was a shambles...and the workers were carping at each other. I don't think it's their fault. They were overwhelmed with a conference of some sort, and it was busy. It appeared two people were trying to keep up with a full hotel.

Come on management.....part of the hotel charge here is a full, stocked, clean breakfast area. You had to know there was a conference. One more person serving would have made all the diffference.

9 times out of 10 this is a great place. I will absolutely stay here again. I may try to negoatiate a lower room rate and forego the "free" breakfast....but the hotel is great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Joe F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts about our location. Whether they are good or bad, as a management team, we need to hear them form loyal guests as yourself.

We have talked to our Breakfast crew to ensure that our Breakfast room is being kept clean and our Breakfast items are kept stocked. We all sincerely apologize that this was not the case while you were staying with us.

Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Mankato Area.

Wishing you safe travels,

Tim Jahner, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Mn
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I knew I would be making mulitple trips to Mankato and I decided to book one night at the Country Inn & Suites to see if I liked it before I booked the additional nights. Not only was my first stay exceptional, I didn't consider looking at other hotels for remainder of my time there. I ended up spending two and a half weeks there and I took advantage of all of their amentities, except for the guest laundry. The staff is wonderful. They seem to be genuinely interested in ensuring that their guests stay is as comfortable as it can be. I found all areas of the hotel to be very clean and well stocked. It's likely that my job will bring me back to Mankato in the future and I look forward to staying at the Country Inn & Suites again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Chopper2,

From what I can tell, our staff preached our “Be Our Guest” atmosphere while you were here! That is truly what the Country Inn & Suites is known for and we greatly appreciate the kind comments you left letting us know, we did right.

We know how hard it can be to find a good place to stay and we are grateful that you gave us the chance to WOW you over, instead of looking elsewhere. You took a chance with us the first night and with you staying two and a half weeks, shows that our entire team knows what good service should look like.

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to show you the service you can expect, not only at our Country Inn & Suites location, but at all of our locations! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Wishing you safe travels,

Tim Jahner, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very pleased with the conference space, the prompt setup and necessary attention to event contracted details and available parking. The food service was more than adequate for the group and we receive positive feedback from attendees. We have continued to book this same location now for the past several years and have already made arrangements for the 2014 event.

Room Tip: Event did not require over night accomodations
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Ann S,

Our entire Sales & Catering team is enthusiastic with the kind words that you had for them. They are the backbone to making sure all meetings being held in our Conference Center receive top notch service!

We are excited to host your group in the upcoming years and cannot wait for you to take advantage of our newly renovated Conference Center, which will occur in the coming months!

Wishing you safe travels to your next destination,

Tim Jahner, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a regugular at this hotel. I stay in their suites and typically have a lunch program for my area clients. The entire facitlity is top rate. It starts with the terrific staff. They are available at all times to assure that I and my guests have what we need. If you are a meeting planner and looking for a Mankato area venue, you can't go wrong at this Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
eatlocal1ofakind –

Our staff is so pleased that you had a wonderful experience at our location! Our Sales & Catering Team takes pride in making sure that every meeting is successful and enjoyable for all, and when our clients need something, that they are readily available to assist.

With your travels, you know what is expected and we are pleased that we were able to provide you with that type of services! We look forward to seeing you in the area next time your travels bring you to the Mankato Area!

Wishing you safe travels,

Tim Jahner, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled extensively. I would never have guessed a hotel in Mankato MN would be the best experience. Very attentive staff, extremely helpful housekeeping and security. The rooms were very clean and well stocked. I will be returning to this hotel each time I visit the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dancer-skater-drama –

You must know what excellent service is, with all the traveling you do and we are pleased that we were able to provide you with that excellent service you are accustomed to! We will be sharing your comments with our entire staff and let them know that they are truly demonstrating our “Be Our Guest” customer service mentality.

We are also very touched that our rooms met your expectations with the cleanliness and being stocked with the amenities that you were looking for! Our housekeeping team prides themselves with making sure every room is cleaned from top to bottom! So, we thank you greatly for noticing that.

We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to the Mankato Area!

Wishing you safe travels,

Tim J. Jahner – Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had our hockey team stay while attending a tournament in Mankato.
The Vikings were playing the Packers in the playoffs and another hockey team had the breakfast room booked. So the front desk staff and the manger from the restuarant adjoining
were able to set us up in the Business Center with a TV and space for everyone to watch the game. Too bad the Vikings did not work as hard as the staff did to accommodate.
Everyone had a great time and we will book there again when we are back in Mankato for another tournament in March.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Greg S,

We are as disappointed in the outcome of the Vikings vs. Packer game this past Saturday as you are. But, we are hoping you Hockey Team were able to pull off the games they competed in!

We are very glad that we were able to accommodate you with getting the area set-up so your entire group could enjoy watching the game together. We want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and from what we can tell, we did.

We hope that you travels will bring you back to the Mankato area with your team, or just your family, so we can WOW you once again.

Wishing you safe travels,

Tim Jahner, Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1900 Premier Drive, Mankato, MN 56001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mankato
#2 Business Hotel in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Mankato Hotel and Conference Center is conveniently located at the intersection of Highways 14 and 22 in the beautiful Minnesota River Valley. Featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space and an on-site restaurant Bonfire, our Mankato hotel is an ideal destination for travelers of all types. With its Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, charming decor, comfortable amenities and convenient location, Country Inn & Suites is one of the top hotels in Mankato, MN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson _ Mankato, Hotel Mankato
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson _ Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center
Country Inn Mankato
Mankato Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.