We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Inn & Suites Mankato - Not planning to return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Premier Drive, Mankato, MN 56001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
TwinCities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Country Inn & Suites Mankato - Not planning to return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were in town for a family event Fri/Sat. Check in was easy, room was on 2nd not 3rd floor as requested. They noted they were full. Room was acceptable until I attempted to use the Wi Fi and discovered single bar service in the room. Went to front desk and could get very slow, 3 bar service. Desk could do nothing and indicated again they were full. TGI Fridays, one of the highest rated Mankato restaurants had been located next to the Country Inn. Apparently they closed on Tuesday. We had to go in search of a location for dinner. Returned later in the evening to attempt some work, again minimal and extremely slow wifi. Hall very noisy until 10pm. Thank fully things did become relatively quiet at 10:30.
6am we were awakened by kids racing through the halls and slamming doors. Hall floors appear to be wood. Thus noise really carries. There was little chance to sleep after that. The breakfast did not include any eggs, bacon or sausage. The offerings were high carb biscuits and gravy, oatmeal and waffles.
We choose to cancel our second night stay and returned home after the event finished on Sat evening.
This stay and these problem have not been encountered at other Country Inns, but we are very disappointed and believe this property is badly overrated.

Room Tip: You need to be on the top floor to have any chance of a quiet wakeup in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hi MnTiger,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that you didn't have a great experience during your last visit to Mankato and that you cut your visit short. I would like to visit with you more about your stay because we want to make right.

At your convenience please call me at 507.388.8555 so that we can discuss it further.

Wishing Safe Travels,
LInda Osborne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    37
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
29
6
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

From the moment we walked in the lobby I knew it was gonna be a great stay. Everyone at the Mankato country inn and suites were very pleasant and professional. We would highly recommend this accommodation. You can rest assured they take pride in their hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Hi bbo83,

Our team is one of the best around! Thank you for the wonderful compliment. Everyday they come through those doors ready to "Wow" a guest and it looks like we succeeded during your stay.

We hope to see you on your next visit to the area!

Wishing Safe Travels,
Linda Osborne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed one night. Upon arriving, I immediately found this motel to be very clean and gracious and I was glad I had reserved there. Really needed the afternoon tea after driving all day, so I appreciated that. The restaurant next door was good as well, so that is a good combination for a tired traveler. In the evening, I had two hours of noise from that wretched type of motel guest neighbor from hell (actually a couple in the room next door, very rudely loud and obnoxious, using the room for a WRECK room), and went down to report it at the desk. Not getting to sleep in a motel is intolerable, and can be DANGEROUS when one has a day of driving ahead. I must say that the staff handled it graciously and made my stay worthwhile. The breakfast was substantial, with many good choices. Men women and children ought to find it quite satisfying. I definitely recommend this motel because of the way they seem to think of everything and the way they handled the noisy neighbors incident. They obviously care about their guests' experience. Well done.

Room Tip: I guess it depends on who is in the room next to you. I was on the top floor for quiet, but until t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Hi LindyGDuluthian,

Thank you for the kind remarks regarding our hotel. Our team takes great pride in ensuring every guest feels the hallmarks of our brand. Caring, Consistent and Comfortable.

I am pleased that we were able to remedy the noise situation. We would agree, a restful nights sleep is essential when traveling.

We hope to see you on your next travels to the area!

Wishing Safe Travels,
Linda Osborne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I recently hosted a conference for 75 guests at the Country Inn and Suites in Mankato. From the beginning of the planning process the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Every detail of our conference was taken care of and the sales team was very accomodating to my last minute requests. Hotel rooms were clean and tidy and the service team was friendly. I never ran into an employee that didn't greet me with a smile and a friendly "hello"! The catering department at the hotel is also quite good. The food was served on time, was exactly what I had asked for and was delicious! We had MANY compliments from conference attendees on the wonderful food. Overall, a great experience. If we ever host our conference in the Mankato area again, we will return to the Country Inn and Suites!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Hi C0nferencePlanner,

We are pleased that your meeting was successful and that you had such a wonderful experience with the hotel and our team!

Melissa and her team take a great deal of pride in the details. We can't wait to see you again.

Wishing Safe Travels,
Linda Osborne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is impeccably clean from the lobby to our room to the pool. Everywhere we went it was obvious that the manager has pride in taking care of this hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming. I spilled some of the waffle mix and the attendant happily cleaned it up with a smile on her face. Overall it was a great experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite where there were two rooms. One for parents to relax and one for kids to be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOsborne, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi Michael S,

I am so pleased that you had a great stay and I can't wait to share with the team all you had to say. We will make certain to recognize Ester for her attention to detail in the breakfast room!

We take a great deal of pride in our hotel as a team and we look forward to your next visit.

Wishing Safe Travel,
Linda Osborne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went to the hotel for a wedding. When we made reservations were given rates for the event and prior to our arrival they reconfirmed our reservation with a phone call. Rooms were ready when we arrived which was nice. The food at the reception was fantastic. We had been to a wedding reception here before and that time the food was also very good. My only negative for the hotel was the breakfast. The room is too small for the amount of people that come down for breakfast. We went there twice to find a place to eat and get food. Just too small of an area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi Pam R,

Thank you for the great review. Our wedding coordinators work to ensure that the bridal couple and their guests have a wonderful evening. Sounds like the wedding was a great party!

We appreciate the feedback regarding our breakfast area and will look to ways to make improvements.

Hope to see you again when you are in the area.

Wishing Safe Travels,
Linda Osborne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have used your facility for three years in a row and find it to be outstanding. The sales and catering department go our of their way to make sure you are satified. The food is always good and fresh. Access to a toaster for the bagels was a nice surprise. They continue to impress and we continue to book our meetings there. Way to go staff!! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi ChrisbMN,

First and foremost thank you for you continued business to the Country Inn & Suites Hotel and Conference Center, Mankato.

We love to hear that we are taking care of you and your guests! The special touches that the team does to make each meeting comfortable are important and I am glad to hear that you are pleased and impressed.

We look forward to your next visit.

Wishing Safe Travels,
Linda Osborne, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1900 Premier Drive, Mankato, MN 56001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mankato
#2 Business Hotel in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Mankato Hotel and Conference Center is conveniently located at the intersection of Highways 14 and 22 in the beautiful Minnesota River Valley. Featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space and an on-site restaurant Bonfire, our Mankato hotel is an ideal destination for travelers of all types. With its Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, charming decor, comfortable amenities and convenient location, Country Inn & Suites is one of the top hotels in Mankato, MN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson _ Mankato, Hotel Mankato
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson _ Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center
Country Inn Mankato
Mankato Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Mankato, Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.