We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great HIE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Adams Street, Mankato, MN 56001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Mankato
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great HIE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a baseball tournament in Mankato. Large rooms, great pool area with a separate kiddie pool with "fountain" thing. The place looks brand new but and was in a great location. Restaurants and entertainment in close proximity. Friendly front desk and the usual breakfast fare. Hoghly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was especially nice to hear how excellent you found our staff to be. We were glad to have met the expectations that you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the Mankato area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
11
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here while moving to the area. Had many pets which the hotel was accomodating (gave us a room on the lower level near the side door to the outside), although not free like LaQuinta hotels. But on that note, the hotel was very nice. It is newer, beds good, decor appealing and breakfast was very good (many choices). It is located closer to the new section of town, a walk away from a grocery store and a short drive to the mall and many restaurants. It is easy to get to as it is right off the highway. Quiet, ample parking and safe. It is located at the end of a road with no other businesses or traffic. Many times I did have to wait for someone to show up at the front desk, but other than that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments relating to your recent stay with us. We are fortunate for our property to be located in such close proximity to many notable local attractions, restaurants, and shopping options – it is great that you agree! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This HIE is a very new location. So new if fact, that there's not much else at the end of the road where it is located. With the new comes what you would expect ... well appointed rooms, clean and not worn out yet. The location is in a good, safe area and is relatively near many places to eat, shop, etc.

I did find some troubling things with this property, which I imagine are not the fault of the local owner team. We were in a King Suite. When we first walked in, we thought "this room is huge". As I walked around the cavernous room, I began to realize what a waste most of the space is, and how terribly the room is designed and laid out. There is a huge entry way, with a long walk to the sitting area where there are enough cabinets to match a one bedroom apartment. The work area/desk is also in this area. Then you walk through an archway into the bedroom. There is a clear separation between most of the space and the bedroom where the only tv is located. I like to sit at the desk to work, and watch tv. In this room, you can't. The tv cannot be viewed because of the arch separator between the two areas. If you wish to use the sofa to sit on to watch tv, you are viewing the tv in the other room. You can see the tv, but it is around the corner, again - in the other room. There's also no lighting near the sofa. The closet is tiny, and not deep enough to hold a man's jacket with the door closed. There are a few other things I don't like, but I'm summing it all up by saying it's terrible room and style design. The HIE designer is also in love with dark brown, blues, greens and grays. This all adds up to dark and ugly, rather than the sophisticated look I guess they were going for.

And as I will add to all future HIE reviews going forward - the pillows from central supply are HORRIBLE, and please stop training your housekeeping staff to short sheet the beds.

As I do every time I check in, I have re-made the bed ... irritating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments will be shared with our entire team as it helps us continue to improve. All HIE do use triple sheeting when making beds, we strive for consistency throughout the Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express will not disappoint. Large rooms with microwave and fridge, comfy beds, lots of pillows, nice swimming pool area with hot tub and a separate shallow kiddie pool. The wonderful breakfast with cinnamon rolls, biscuits/gravy, eggs, sausage, cold cereal, pancakes, etc... Very clean, looks brand new. Location is close to the mall but far enough away from the highway that it is quiet. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was especially nice to hear how excellent you found our staff to be. We were glad to have met the expectations that you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the Mankato area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were in town for a family members graduation from MSU. All in all a great place to stay. Nice and clean. The continental breakfast has many options to choose from. The second day we were there our room keys wouldn't not work. We went to the front desk to have it fixed. There was no one at the desk. It took quite a while for someone to come. Other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean big room. Well maintained with comfy beds and good desk to work at. There is an Applebee's andan Olive Garden nearby. The Mall is also close and has a lot to offer. I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments relating to your recent stay with us. We are fortunate for our property to be located in such close proximity to many notable local attractions, restaurants, and shopping options – it is great that you agree! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family and I always stay here when visiting relatives in Mankato. The team of employees thre have always been very friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located, of modern design, and quite comfortable. We always enjoy our visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was especially nice to hear how excellent you found our staff to be. We were glad to have met the expectations that you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. We hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the Mankato area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mankato East
Address: 2051 Adams Street, Mankato, MN 56001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Mankato
#6 Family Hotel in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Mankato, is the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mankato, Minnesota! We are conveniently located off of highway 22 & 14, just a short drive to Downtown Mankato. With our world class service and many Mankato businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Mankato! This state-of-the-art Hotel features a contemporary design highlighted by spacious public areas and guest rooms. Take advantage of our special in room amenities such as free high-speed internet access, microwave and refrigerator, 32 flat panel LCD TV with movie channels. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool and wading pool. We have your work and workout covered with our 24-hour business and fitness centers. Points of interest Companies: Alltel Wireless, Walmart, Taylor Corp, Ridley, Katolight, Hickory Tech, Kato Engineering and Winland Electronics. Hospitals: Immanual St Joseph Hospital and Mayo Health System, Mankato Clinic. Universities: Minnesota State University Mankato, Bethany College, South Central College, Gustavus Adolphus. Local Attractions: WOW Zone Family Entertainment Center, Riverhills Mall,Mount Kato, All Seasons Arena, Caswell Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.