We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2051 Adams Street, Mankato, MN 56001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Mankato
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is very new, very clean, and the rooms are very quiet. We stayed in a room at the very end of the hallway near a back exit and even then it was very quiet. The breakfast was good, and the pool area is well-kept with a nice little area for babies/toddlers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear JSyverson,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mankato MN. We appreciate the compliments and we look forward to seeing you the next time when your in Mankato Mn.

Sincerely,
Gerry Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
12
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had occasion to stay at this newer hotel on short notice due to a death in the family. We had three rooms for 11 people. They all commented on how nice this hotel was compared to other middle tier hotels, including Holiday Inn Expresses. This property felt like first class hotel the moment you stepped into the lobby. The staff was very professional. The rooms were large, complete with refrigerator and microwave, and plenty of room to spread out our stuff. The free breakfast was one of the best, including hot cinnamon rolls, hot scrambed eggs, hot sausage (catch my drift?) and apancake making machine that only required the push of a button to pump out goldent pancakes, hot off the griddle.

The location is near a major mall and a huge grocery store, plus several restaurants within walking distance.

We'll be back whenever family matters cause us to visit Mankato again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

You think "small hotel" in a medium-sized town and expect the typical slightly musty/cramped/outdated place. (Not a tought specific to Holiday Inn's, just in general).

However, this place has/is:
new;
refined (for what it is);
clean;
large-scaled (rooms long enough to easily hold 3 queen beds, and wide enough to actually walk rather than slither past the ends of the bed);
reasomably priced (with free wifi, fridge)
updated decor (no tacky art or furniture).
too small of a TV (come on, does a 42" really cost that much more than a 36?)
quiet (no outside sounds)
a ac/heater that turns on and off like a home system (rather than just loud blowing all day & night)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsMankato, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Djlund999,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mankato MN. We appreciate the feedback. We pride ourselves in providing superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We look forward to your next visit when your in the Mankato area.

Sincerely,
Gerry Burke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

My bathroom was dirty and there was hair in my bed. Also I found small brown bugs dead in the bathroom... not sure what to think but since I stayed here a year ago (then I would have given all fives) this place has really gone downhill fast... very sad as I love holiday inns :(

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear cjbear1,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had over the bathroom. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The rooms are clean and quiet. The staff was very accommodating for the large group we had at the hotel. The breakfast was hot and the selection was good. The kids had a great time in the pool. It is close to a number of shopping areas and right off the highway

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Mankato MN. The location is good, close to shopping and eating establishments which was nice. The room was a good size and more importantly it was very clean. The presentation of the hotel was nice as well. There was adequate parking. There was also free internet. The breakfast was complementary and was good.

A couple things that I did not like was upon checking in the reception girl was talking with I assume a maintenance person and did not even acknowlege our presence or even look at us until she was done talking. Although she was pleasant enough a smile or nod would have been better. She did not talk about breakfast times or how to get on the internet, all which is usually standard where ever we have stayed. We know that the code for internet is usually on the key folder and we knew there was breakfast, just would be better customer service to go over those things.

The second issue I had was that they allow pets. There was not a lot of availability the weekend we stayed, so I did not even think to look at whether they accepted pets or not. We had a dog barking down the hall from us that we could hear occasionally.

Anyway, overall it was fine and if you do not have an issue with pet allowance then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We chose this hotel because not only did it have a pool, but it had a toddler pool too! It was 1 foot 1 inch deep with something that came up out of the middle and shooted out water. The pool was open until 11pm so that was nice also.

The breakfast was wonderful with lots of options. From scrambled eggs, waffles, fruits, yogurts, and more. The rooms were very nice and the beds were VERY comfortable.

The only complain that I have is that the towells were very hard! After getting out of the pool, it felt like you were getting a body scrub too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East

Address: 2051 Adams Street, Mankato, MN 56001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Mankato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mankato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Mankato, is the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mankato, Minnesota! We are conveniently located off of highway 22 & 14, just a short drive to Downtown Mankato. With our world class service and many Mankato businesses, restaurants and attractions within walking distance from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Mankato! This state-of-the-art Hotel features a contemporary design highlighted by spacious public areas and guest rooms. Take advantage of our special in room amenities such as free high-speed internet access, microwave and refrigerator, 32 flat panel LCD TV with movie channels. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool and wading pool. We have your work and workout covered with our 24-hour business and fitness centers. Points of interest Companies: Alltel Wireless, Walmart, Taylor Corp, Ridley, Katolight, Hickory Tech, Kato Engineering and Winland Electronics. Hospitals: Immanual St Joseph Hospital and Mayo Health System, Mankato Clinic. Universities: Minnesota State University Mankato, Bethany College, South Central College, Gustavus Adolphus. Local Attractions: WOW Zone Family Entertainment Center, Riverhills Mall,Mount Kato, All Seasons Arena, Caswell Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mankato East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mankato East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.