We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Beach Lodge

Manhattan Beach Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manhattan Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manhattan Beach Lodge
Save
You added Manhattan Beach Lodge to your Saves list
39051 County Road 66, Manhattan Beach, MN 56442   |  
Hotel amenities
New Brighton, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food was good but cold. Service was very slow. Portions were small and over priced. We made reservations and were switched to a differant dinning area. We were told the service was slow because a large party was ahead of us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We apologize for your recent experience. We strive to provide great food and service to all of our customers. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    9
    8
    10
See reviews for
11
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've have only stayed at this hotel once and actually have reservations to go back this weekend. Last year we had 4 couples that came up with us to celebrate my husband's birthday. The check-in process was painless and we were able to even get into our rooms early! We had brought a cake for my husband's birthday and they allowed us to put it in their kitchen fridge until we had the party. On a day's noticed they gave us a private dinning area for all of us and gave us our own waitress for the night. Now, given that it was in March and they weren't that busy. They even stored the rest of the cake for us until it was time to check out. They answered every question we had and even gave us some ideas for things to do around town. Being in the hotel industry myself, I can truly appreciate when a hotel goes above and beyond the call of duty and they certainly did. Two thumbs up!!! Can't wait to go back this weekend.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those with decks attached!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your husbands Birthday with us at Manhattan Beach Lodge!! We hope you enjoyed your most recent stay as well and hope that you continue to visit with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The trip to the Manhattan Beach Lodge was great! We had the best room in the house which included a separate bedroom, 2 person whirlpool tub in the bathroom, gas fireplace, deck and lake view. We only ate one meal in the restaurant and the burgers were great! The staff were all very accomodating, helpful and friendly. It was great to be able to rest, eat and relax, in addition to our snowmobile trip on the adjecant trail!

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor and on the end so it was extra roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay with us! We hope you will come back and see us in the summer were you can enjoy our beautiful lake front and sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The weather was really cold outside. Even the snowmobilers were inside! But it was cozy and warm inside our master suite. This was our second visit once in summer of 2012 and now this winter 2013. I found the staff attentive, the bartender at happy hour fun, mixing great drinks and at dinner the food, especially the small plate steak bites paired with the mixed green salad tasty.

Our TV in the bedroom didn't work properly but the suite was clean and roomy. Our bed was a comfortable king size and except for some noisey neighbors downstairs one night our two night stay was relaxing. The lodge is close the the Crosslake city park where we went cross country skiing before the temp dropped to -2 degrees! For extra savings we used Star Tribune Steal Deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was very cold outside. We are happy that you were able to enjoy our amenities in town. Please come back again and see us. Hopefully it will be warmer for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

By coincidence, my wife and I were here on the two coldest days Minnesota has experienced in four years. Perfect excuse for sitting around the fireplace, reading and napping and enjoying the coziness. The clean room was well designed and decorated. Staff took good care of us. Because it is lakeside, it would be a very different kind of pleasure being near the water in the summer. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the service good.

Room Tip: They all have lake views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the very cold weather last week. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

LivingSocial currently has a great deal for staying at this lodge. $109 to stay 2 nights (Sunday and Monday). Cost includes bottle of wine, continental breakfast and $25 gift certificate to the lodge's restaurant. I typically do not pay for lodging at the full prices listed for this lodge. This is a historic lodge which has been renovated. All rooms face Big Trout Lake. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The housekeepers and restaurant staff were very friendly and accomodating. The only complaint I have is that the front desk was not always available when we needed assistance. Perhaps the lodge should think about having a phone at the front desk for customers to call when the front desk staff is unavailable.

Room Tip: The mini suite is very roomy and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We'e been going to eat and drink at Manhattan Beach for years, but the service has hit an all-time low, and we will no longer return. We wanted to sit on the patio, recently, and we were told by the very unfriendly reservation staff person to wait and we'd be seated. No smile, no greeting, no hospitality. We looked at the patio and only three of the 10 tables were filled, with noone else waiting. We asked the staff person if we could be seated at a table with an umbrella for shade. Ten minutes later we were told to follow her and she led us to the only table with no umbrella, directly in the sun. She explained lamely that people staying at the hotel had first dibs on tables. We replied that noone else seemed to be coming. No reply from restaurant grouch. We left. This is typical of this hotel's service. The view is great, the staff lacks courtesy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefishproperties, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I would first like to apologize for your recent experience at Manhattan’s. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make everyone’s experience a satisfying one. The principal goal at Manhattan’s is to provide great food and service to all of our guests and we encourage all of our patrons to make reservations for dining whether on the patio or inside. Please accept my sincere apology. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manhattan Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manhattan Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Lodge

Address: 39051 County Road 66, Manhattan Beach, MN 56442
Location: United States > Minnesota > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the natural beauty of the woods and waters take you back to a quiet and restful place. At Manhattan Beach Lodge, nature will surround you inside and out. Relax in our locally crafted pine furniture and enjoy great sunsets and fireside dining in our full service restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.