We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book here - they put u in another hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites to your Saves list
Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elia 84600, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Elia
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't book here - they put u in another hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked through Expedia and our booking was confirmed and paid in full. When we arrived they said that the hotel was full and they would ring around and find us another one that was more expensive which was a load of rubbish. They use a sister hotel that is located in the middle of a paddock about a mile away. We didn't have much choice as mykonos is very busy and trying to find accommodation at the last minute is impossible. We met other people at the alternative accommodation that they provided for us that had the same experience and saw the manager of alte mare dropping them off. The hotel that they provided was inferior. It appears to happen a lot - I met two other couples at de.light hotel as well that we're moved

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DimitrisZafiropoulos, General Manager at Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Mr George,
We really appreciate your time for writing your review as we found the opportunity to give a proper clarification for the case.
During the High and Peak Season our Boutique Spa Hotel is always fully booked especially with long stays of repeater guests from one to two weeks due to its category and location. Apart from the main building of our hotel there are also our villas, located only 500 meters away with exactly the same facilities and services, but with added privacy and independence as they are fully equipped. There is no doubt that ‘Arte Mare Elia Suites’ is the nearest 5* Hotel in Mykonos on the beach and a stay in a sea view suite right on the beach is always preferable than anywhere else. Though Mykonos is one of the most popular destinations and during July and August there is no availability at all, as you also found out. In this case our Reservations Department informs our guests for their allocation before their arrival and we always advise our guests to contact us in order to indicate their preferences. In your case our front office department tried also to contact you but did not got any answer. As our hotel is sold out with long stays it is very difficult for our reservations department to make any modifications for short stays on the last moment.
We are really sorry that the choice of room we had offered you did not meet your needs and expectations and we hope we will be able to revert this negative impression in a future visit to Arte Mare Elia Suites. Please contact our Reservations Department directly and I ensure that we offer you an upgraded type of Suite at our main Hotel building.
Best Regards,

Dimitris Zafiropoulos,
General Manager,
Arte Mare Elia Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    20
    13
    12
    13
See reviews for
54
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in a two bedroom with 4 friends. A two bedroom to them equates to a 1 bedroom and pull out couch in the living area. The wifi NEVER worked. When we complained of this they told us to sit in the lobby were it did work.
Worst part of the trip, no running water the day we left. We all boarded a flight unable to shower, brush our teeth or even wash our hands. They did not even offer us bottled water to brush our teeth or compensation for their fault.
We would never stay there again.
You are also 20 minutes from town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DimitrisZafiropoulos, General Manager at Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Mrs Emily,

We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed for those reasons you mentioned during your stay. Once again let us kindly inform you that we do really appreciate your complaints as a feedback from our clients is the only thing that will help us to improve our services and work on our problems.
As regards to the lack of water on your departure date this is of course a technical problem that was fixed after some minutes. We can understand of course that this made you upset because it happened at the moment you had to leave and needed water the most.

Please accept one more time our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced and note that we are waiting for the acceptance of our offer which is still open for you as a compensation.

Best Regards,

Dimitris Zafiropoulos,
General Manager,
Arte Mare Elia Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked just one week before our holidays.
I was already impressed by the flexibility and the availability of Sofia at the reservation department.
We took the all-in package (not a classical all-in) and were upgraded to the executive suites (60m2). (N.B. there was a misunderstanding, but Dimitri and Maria (owners) very kindly and quickly replied positively to our request and understood our point of view).

At our arrival, George the Handyman-busdriver-all doing, waited for us and brought us safely at destination.

The hotel is well situated next to the beach at the level of the beach (not necessary to walk down the steep hill). It is not all to big and keeps a very human size. Small but nice fitness facilties. External Swimming pool. Spa facility.

Restaurant was good. The grilled octopus is a killer. We had the opportunity to discover every day different meals. Nice wines to taste. Excellent service (especially Dragan).

Private beach.
Shuttle service by Magic George.
Good cleaning service.
The whole crew has been very kind with us and we very much appreciated their hospitality. We definitely could feel that it is a family owned hotel as our daughter could enjoy a very special treatment :-).

We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back.

I would like to thank Maria, Dimitri, George, Dragan, Anna, Sofia and the rest of the team for having made from our stay one of our best holidays.

Efharisto !

Room Tip: The executive suite offers a great view of the bay. Please be aware that there are no lifts (but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were very disappointed with Arte and Mare Elia Suites.

When we arrived at the airport we were met by someone from the hotel who said our pick up van was on the way. It didn’t arrive for at least 25 minutes or so – after a very long trip from Australia to get there this was the last thing we needed. The driver was not very friendly and spent the whole time arguing in Greek with the lady who met us. I found out later the reason it was late was that they had sent if for another pick up elsewhere on the island instead of giving us priority (we had booked it months earlier).

When we arrived Maria the manager told us there was a problem. The 3 bedroom Suite we had booked and paid for in full almost 3 months in advance was now not available for the first 2 nights of our 4 night stay. The excuse was the guests who were there had to stay on because of an “accident”. It was clear to us it had been double booked. The only option they had was a one bedroom room that had a sofa bed in the living area – this was for 5 of us (we have 3 adult sized teenage children). It was far too small for 5 people. They agreed to put in a trundle bed but the other 2 had to sleep on the very small sofa bed. They offered us accommodation at their other resort about ½ km away, but having read another review about this we said no. It took 2 calls that night to reception to get pillows for everyone and then another one again to follow up where the bedding was for the trundle bed.

They said we might get into our 3 bedroom suite the next day or the one after that (but we learnt the other client was not likely to be leaving for 2 days so it definitely was never going to be the next day). It felt like we were not being told the truth in an effort to get us to stay. Maria had sent an e-mail to me about 6 hours before we arrived to let us know there was a problem, but we were in transit and didn’t get it. It wouldn’t have helped anyway. Since they knew it was not going to be good news when we arrived, makes us wonder why they didn’t at least make an effort to pick us up at the airport on time and be friendly etc. Seems like they don’t really care.

As compensation they did offer dinner that night but it didn’t make us feel any better as we were very disappointed as we had planned this trip so far in advance and were really looking forward to staying there. We couldn’t unpack properly nor could we all fit in the room. No others were available.

The Maria promised to let us know first thing the next morning what would be done, whether they could get another bed in the room (don’t know how it would fit), whether they could offer us an additional room and what else they might offer as compensation. I had to go to the front desk 3 times to try and get this sorted the next day. She was not very helpful, kept getting distracted with other guests and the phone. Kept promising to write it all down and make clear what would happen with our refund etc but never did.

By this time we had decided to try and find something else.

Getting our refund was another comedy of errors – the original amount had to be credited but they accidently debited the whole amount again so that had to be credited too. Three days later and we were still waiting for the credit for both the original payment and the accidental debiting of the same amount again on our credit card. They did charge us for one night in the very small room. Bit disappointing after all we had been through.

We moved to the Grand Beach Mykonos and it was the best decision. Very friendly and helpful staff, much nicer rooms, beautiful pool area (and so much nicer) and beautiful views – and almost 1/3 the price!!!!

I think they did us a favour. Arte and Mare Elia Suites are dated and look nothing like the pictures on the website. The pool is very small with nowhere really to sunbathe. The restaurant is not really adjoined to the suites – it’s a small walk down the road and you don’t really step straight onto the beach from the suites – it’s also a walk down the road and then onto the beach. The bathroom smelt musty, was not very clean and a can of Pringles in the mini bar was open and half eaten – many little details not equalling a 5 star rating or quality service.

Overall we would not recommend it – the staff were not helpful, Maria was rude and didn’t seem to care and the hotel is run down and not worth the high prices.

Yes the beach is beautiful but not worth the rest of the hassles.

Be very careful about booking and paying in advance – obviously it is no guarantee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Arte & Mare is located in a beautiful place, the rooms are nice and clean and the staff, putting apart the manager, is helpfull and friendly. I've booked 3 Junior pool suites 4 months before but when me and my friends arrived we didn't get what we payed for. First of all one of the suites didn't have a private bedroom and the second one was only available for one night so the manager wanted to move us to another complex of the hotel located more than 1 mile away from the main complex where people is supposed to eat (upgrade she said). The bar and restaurant are too expensive and is not admissible to pay 9€ for a completely banal gin... We payed 980€ for two nights and we didn't get what we asked for so we left the place after 6 hours... The manager spend 6 hours trying to delay us most probably expecting that we weren't able to find a place to stay at 22 o'clock... Be careful with this kind of strategy!!! Disappointing!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DimitrisZafiropoulos, General Manager at Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of rooms and our helpful staff and we take under serious consideration that you found pricey some of our services though our prices are totally reasonable for the value and quality offered.
As to the separated bedroom, let us inform you that the Junior Suites, like the ones you chose on the time of your reservation do not have a separated bedroom, like all the other types of suites. Though we did our best to offer you at least two upgraded suites with separated bedrooms. For more convenience we proposed your reallocation in the villas of our complex, 500 meters away of the main hotel, offering of course additional shuttle bus service from/to the beach and the hotel/restaurant. For your compensation we also offered free half board in our restaurant for all of you during your two days stay. One of the main duties of the Hotel Manager is to find the best solution in every case so that our guests have a pleasant and comfort stay. She actually managed the situation personally for all these hours aiming only your satisfaction and not your delay as there was nothing to be gained of that. Not only there was no strategy in her care but she also committed to find herself a solution for you.
Unfortunately we were surprisingly concerned by your decision to leave our property late that day, but we recognize your displeasure and respect your choice. We would very much alike to welcome you in our hotel again so that you can reevaluate our services.
Best Regards,

Dimitris Zafiropoulos,
General Manager,
Arte Mare Elia Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at Arte Mare Suites and I must say that I want to go back already!! We visited many beaches in Mykonos on this trip and found Elia beach to be the best by far.. The restaurant at Arte Mare runned my Ms. Maria and her amazing staff have been nothing but gracious and very helpful with what ever we needed whether in the restaurant, on the beach which they provide service with drinks and their delicious food or room service. They were on it the whole time. This place is about 20 mins from Mykonos town and the hotel provides shuttle services to and from the Hotel. Sophia at the front desk arranged for us to have Scooters so we had an escort take us to a very inexpensive rental place. Were talking only twenty euros a day for a scooter. best way to get around. We love this place and special thanks to George, Sophia, Sandy and Janis think I spelled his name wrong and a big thank you to Maria for running an amazing restaurant.. txs, Alex Kinaj

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just returned from a stay at this hotel, and we didn't want to leave!

The rooms in the hotel are styled "rustically" - more like a french farm house than a city break- style boutique hotel, so they won't suit everyone, but they were perfect for us.

The staff at the hotel's are unequivocally brilliant, though. They work hard, and they are unfailing friendly, helpful and speak good english. As some of the other commenters have said, the beach if 20 minutes from Chora (Mykonos Town), but the hotel arranges three return transfer times per day, and will do extra transfers for a €20 charge.

The restaurant is very good- the food is tasty and has plenty of variety, the view is beautiful, and the service extends onto the beach, so we could re-hydrate and recuperate after long nights partying!

If you want to be able to walk into the town centre, this isn't the hotel for you. But if you want a relaxing stay right on a beautiful beach, and to be looked after by attentive, helpful staff, I don't think you'll find much better than this hotel on Mykonos.

Room Tip: Our room was a sea view suite, and although we overlooked the road, it's pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites

Address: Elia 84600, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Elia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Elia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new established in 2008 Arte&Mare Elia Suites is the only 5* SPA hotel in Mykonos so close to the beach as our entrance is only 20m from the golden sand of Elia beach,the no1 largest beach in Mykonos Island.It is a Boutique Spa Hotel that consists of unique, exclusive suites of 5 different kinds:Junior - Superior -Family- Executive-PresidentialEach suite distinguishes itself by its distinctive decoration, refined colors&stylish furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Hotel Mykonos
Arte And Mare Elia Mykonos Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arte & Mare Elia Mykonos Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.