We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again...a great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne

Save Saved
You added GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne
908 S. Kniss Avenue, Luverne, MN 56156   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Luverne
Lyman, Wyoming
1 review
“Again...a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After staying at the Grandstay in July 2013 and having a wonderful experience, we booked rooms in December 2013 and again, the stay was fantastic. The staff is always welcoming and helpful and the rooms are top-notch. With a family gathering and a lot of kids, this is the place to go. The pool, the breakfast, just the overall atmosphere made it feel like a home away from home. I will be booking rooms here every time I travel back to Luverne to visit family. A++++.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for returning and staying with us in December and for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the stay and found the staff welcoming and helpful. We are glad you and your family gathering enjoyed the pool, breakfast, rooms, and overall atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had four couples from various parts of the US meet at the GrandStay in Luverne for a larger family event in the area. Our time at the GrandStay went perfectly in every way. I got one of the 2 room suites so I could have groups of people over to visit and the place was beyond my expectations. Our room had a full sized kitchen (except oven) - big refrigerator and dishwasher - and a long multi-purpose counter-top island between the kitchen and the living room so we were able to do more than we had prepared for to do. We had 25 to 30 people stop by over 3 days and all were clearly impressed with the Grandstay. We are Hilton Diamond level so we are frequent travelers and we relate this property to a Hampton Inn but nicer in most every way. Now - people make a business, especially in hotels, and the folks at the Luverne GrandStay were all so very nice. Being a group event I had numerous telephone calls directly with the hotel prior to our stay and I can't overstate how nice and helpful everyone I talked with was to me. Our group had many interactions with the front desk, breakfast, and housekeeping staff and all were exceptionally nice and helpful to each of us. Even if a Hilton property was in the area I would stay here instead.

Room Tip: The Suites are not much more e
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

While we did not request or require an accessible room, we were given one. It was an opportunity to try one. Whoever designed s shower with a shower head shooting water toward the end of a shower curtain certainly was logic challenged. The placement resulted in water overflowing the ledge go the shower floor. It would have made more sense to place the shower head on the traditional side and thereby spray into the opposite wall instead of the shower curtain. The jacuzzi in the bedroom (without any accessible grab bars) was even more of a joke! A jacuzzi in an accessible hotel room? What a waste. Did appreciate scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy for breakfast :)

Room Tip: Accessible king room (#130) has jacuzzi and a joke of a shower if you want a good laugh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We found this on the AAA list of places to stay that would accept pets. We weren't sure where we were going to pull over on our trip back home. We have a 50 lb. dog and couldn't get a room at Chamberlain. . . . . 35 lb limit. So, we drove on to Luverne. We had turned down two others because they looked more like hotels. I was skeptical as it is more hotel than motel but it was going on midnight and we couldn't go any further. I explained that I would prefer close to the doors since I had an dog and the receptionist got us in very close!! This was the best stay on our trip! New and clean! We got the discount for AAA, too, which we didn't in Wall, SD . . . . . it was more than Luverne! And not nearly as nice! This place was awesome!! Close to the interstate, clean, quiet, and great breakfast items!! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: If you have pets, ask for a room close to the exit . . . . much easier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne and for your review! We are very glad to accommodate you and your dog in a room near an exit. We hope you will visit again soon on your next trip and enjoy the proximity to the interstate, the clean and quiet rooms, and the great breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We picked this motel because of the mediocre ratings for others in the area. There were no AAA ratings for this motel but it was new and the cheapest of all. It has really exceeded our expectations, from service to cleanliness to decor. Because it is new, the prices will undoubtedly go up but for right now, it is far above surrounding motels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great place just off the freeway in Luverne. Stayed here with our 2 dogs and couldn't have been more pleased. Nice room, clean. Elevator was unexpected for a 2 story rural hotel, and was appreciated since one of our dogs is old and can't make the stairs, so I didn't have to carry a 60 pound dog up and down. Breakfast was decent - better really than most similar hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne and for sharing your experience! We are glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay and the elevator came in handy. We hope you will return again soon and tell others about the great location, easy access, wonderful accommodations, and caring staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just before 11 pm we realized we couldn't make it to SD before getting tired on a cross-country trip; we saw this hotel from the gas station across the street and called to try to get a room while filling up. That call rewarded us with the last available king suite, which was also pet friendly--BONUS, as we had a cat with us. There was an additional charge for the cat, but it was worth it. The suite had a huge comfy bed and a Jacuzzi tub in the room (not the bathroom, the ROOM--think Poconos-style suite)--and an indoor pool and hot tub that were open until midnight. Rooms on the first floor are handicap accessible and the shower is more than adequate if you aren't into taking a bath. Breakfast was free and tasty, with eggs, bacon, cereal, juice, coffee, all the usual items, and fresh/replenished promptly by the manager. Front desk staff was perfectly polite regardless of the hour and super friendly. I would absolutely stay here again with no question.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the breakfast area will be noisy/high traffic in the morning. Rooms further down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne and for choosing stay at the last minute long your cross-country trip. Trying to find a place late at night is never easy or fun and we are glad you chose to stay with us. Travel can be stressful and having a comfortable, clean room along with a warm, delicious breakfast can refresh you...and your pet! We hope you will consider staying with us again should you pass through the area on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne

Address: 908 S. Kniss Avenue, Luverne, MN 56156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Luverne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Luverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish, comfortable yet affordable 51 room, non-smoking, pet-friendly, and limited service hotel offers a variety of king and queen rooms and specialty suites for the leisure and business traveler. Each guest may start the day with the Gourmet Express Breakfast™, Seattle’s Best Coffee, and Bath & Body Works products and finish the day in the pool and whirlpool. Complimentary high-speed Internet and the Grand Returns Reward Program are available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.