We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you would expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne

Save Saved
You added GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne
908 S. Kniss Avenue, Luverne, MN 56156   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Luverne
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More than you would expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great place just off the freeway in Luverne. Stayed here with our 2 dogs and couldn't have been more pleased. Nice room, clean. Elevator was unexpected for a 2 story rural hotel, and was appreciated since one of our dogs is old and can't make the stairs, so I didn't have to carry a 60 pound dog up and down. Breakfast was decent - better really than most similar hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne and for sharing your experience! We are glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay and the elevator came in handy. We hope you will return again soon and tell others about the great location, easy access, wonderful accommodations, and caring staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just before 11 pm we realized we couldn't make it to SD before getting tired on a cross-country trip; we saw this hotel from the gas station across the street and called to try to get a room while filling up. That call rewarded us with the last available king suite, which was also pet friendly--BONUS, as we had a cat with us. There was an additional charge for the cat, but it was worth it. The suite had a huge comfy bed and a Jacuzzi tub in the room (not the bathroom, the ROOM--think Poconos-style suite)--and an indoor pool and hot tub that were open until midnight. Rooms on the first floor are handicap accessible and the shower is more than adequate if you aren't into taking a bath. Breakfast was free and tasty, with eggs, bacon, cereal, juice, coffee, all the usual items, and fresh/replenished promptly by the manager. Front desk staff was perfectly polite regardless of the hour and super friendly. I would absolutely stay here again with no question.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the breakfast area will be noisy/high traffic in the morning. Rooms further down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne and for choosing stay at the last minute long your cross-country trip. Trying to find a place late at night is never easy or fun and we are glad you chose to stay with us. Travel can be stressful and having a comfortable, clean room along with a warm, delicious breakfast can refresh you...and your pet! We hope you will consider staying with us again should you pass through the area on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were traveling thru the area and stopped at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised not only by the experience, but very reasonable rates!! Only 3 months old and a great location for travelers! Will diffinately share our experience with others!! Hope to stay again soon here or others we come across in our travels.

Room Tip: Great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for visiting GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne and for your review. Thank you for sharing with others and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and brought your 3-month old!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are in the middle of a long trip from Mt Rushmore to Chicago, and needed a place to spend the night. The GrandStay in Luverne is a new hotel, comfortable, and very convenient to I-90. The heating/cooling worked well and was quiet, and the free breakfast was adequate. The Internet connection using the WiFi worked well and was easy to use. And the price was better than most of the competition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne during your trip to Mt. Rushmore! We are very honored to elected to stay with us and we are very glad you enjoyed the comfortable accommodations, breakfast and WiFi. Please consider staying with us again upon your journey home to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived to this brand new hotel grateful to have secured a night's stay, we did not realize that around 700,000 motorcycles would be traveling around to get to Sturgis Bike Week. We are not bikers, we were just a quite couple traveling with our dog in need of a good night's sleep. They charged us $20.00 extra for the dog which was fair we thought. The staff at the front desk was very nice and speedy in every request.
Our room was just great, the two queens featured crisp white super clean and brand new quality linens, the bed was perfect. The room was large and had a good size fridge, a microwave, coffee pot, iron, hair dryer, table and comfortable chairs. the bathroom had great and abundant fresh towels nicely displayed in a fan style. The room was quiet, the airconditioning system was quiet and the breakfast in the am looked fine featuring fresh fruit, waffles, pastries, hot coffee and tea service, eggs and sausage. I just grabbed coffee so can't vouch for the taste, it was well attended by both customers and staff filling all of the food trays.
Overall, this place was great and we hope to book it again as we travel thru. Oh, there is a restaurant down the street that this hotel enjoys a good relationship with called the Bluestem. They will give you a drink voucher. Go there (my next review will be of that place.) It was outstanding.

Room Tip: All new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne and for your review of your recent stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and brought your dog with to the hotel! The room is new, having opened in May of 2013, and the staff takes excellent care of all aspects of the hotel so you can enjoy your reason for visiting. Thank you for the kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We love suite style hotels, especially when traveling with our young children. We found this online a few weeks ago and saw it was brand new, so we decided to use it as a quick stop on the way home from our family trip out to the Black Hills area of South Dakota. We are Hilton Honors members, and there was an option for us within an hour either was of Luverne, but who can pass up "new" and "suites", right???

The hotel is immaculate (as would be expected for a property that was two months old). The king suites worked perfect with a 3 and 5 year old. The sofa bed was easy to use, kitchen well stocked, and the king bed in the separate bedroom was firm but well cushioned.

All staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful, and the young lady who checked us in even offered a variety of restaurant choices in the area when we asked. The morning breakfast provided a wide variety of continental options that all tasted great, including sausages, eggs, and waffles for warm options. The breakfast added great value for our family at a $129 room rate.

The only down side - there needs to be better supervision/monitoring of the pool area. We left after about 30 minutes after a group of drunk adults were around between weddings and the receptions, hanging out by the pool with lots of kids, but with one hand on their "beverage" and the other on a cigarette or two... most provided no real supervision, and not all of the young kids were well behaved. The pool door to the outside patio area was propped open, and people sort of came in and out as they pleased... they smoked outside and at times just inside the door such that you could smell it on the other side of the pool area. The hotel might want to consider a camera (or better use of it) to monitor what is going on in there since it can't be seen directly from the check-in area. Our boys had really been looking forward to using the pool for a chunk of the evening, but we didn't feel comfortable in there, and stopped swimming a lot earlier than we wanted to after spending a full day driving in a car.

Despite the negative encounter with the pool area, would we stay here again? Yes. It was the best night sleep I had on our seven night trip, and a wonderful breakfast that was better than I have sometimes had to pay extra for at a Hilton... Nice little town - consider it as an alternative stop to Sioux Falls when traveling through SW Minnesota of SE South Dakota.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Luverne and for choosing to stay at the hotel even though there are other options nearby. The hotel is perfectly located for a stop to the Black Hills, Sturgis, and other South Dakota locations!

The staff is great and we love to make the experience memorable. We hope you will consider staying again upon your return.

We are sorry a few other guests disturbed your pool and swimming time. No matter where you stay, please contact the front desk if you feel other guests are being disruptive. All guests should be respectful of one another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is located right off the interstate. When we arrived the front desk staff greeted us immediately. Every time I walked by the front desk area they’d ask if they could answer any questions or if everything was going OK.

The room was spacious and clean, we stayed in a king room. The room had a large flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and microwave, too. They have nice pool area with a big pool and a Jacuzzi that could accommodate 10.

They have a nice continental breakfast, which was well stocked. They offered scrambled or hard boiled eggs, fresh waffles, bacon, and an assortment of cereals, pastries, and yogurts.

I thought this was a nice hotel at a very reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne

Address: 908 S. Kniss Avenue, Luverne, MN 56156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Luverne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Luverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish, comfortable yet affordable 51 room, non-smoking, pet-friendly, and limited service hotel offers a variety of king and queen rooms and specialty suites for the leisure and business traveler. Each guest may start the day with the Gourmet Express Breakfast™, Seattle’s Best Coffee, and Bath & Body Works products and finish the day in the pool and whirlpool. Complimentary high-speed Internet and the Grand Returns Reward Program are available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Hotel & Suites Luverne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.