We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, rustic, authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lutsen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascade Lodge
3719 West Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
St Paul mn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quaint, rustic, authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you need wi-fi, cable TV, big paved parking lots and room service, then this is NOT the place for you. If you want rustic romantic cabins with character and ambiance, creaking screen doors and a fireplace, then take a look. Long relaxed meals, hiking, reading, and exploring the woods, creeks and shoreline; and that quaint, old-fashioned thing called TALKING are more the pace at this place. Take a look at the cabins/rooms on the website--they are well represented.

Room Tip: Look at room pictures on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
prior lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Beautiful area. Enjoyed restaurant next door. Staff we came in contact were pleasant. We stayed in room 204 in the lodge. Room was clean. Bathroom looked like it had been recently redone. Bed was uncomfortable. Mattress and the rest of the furnisher need to be replaced. One of the window panes in the room was cracked. Deadbolt didn't work. Lodge is starting to look run down. Didn’t see inside the cabins but if the condition of the lodge and the grounds indicates the condition of the cabins inside I won’t be interested in staying in them. Wireless internet in the lodge didn’t work either. We ended up leaving a day early. Lodge has potential but needs TLC to bring it back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Plaine, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Our plans were for cross-country skiing but the unseasonably warm week leading to and during our stay melted all the snow. Instead we brought our bikes and with helpful advice from the lodge found our way to the Gitchi-Gami trail. Wonderfully easy ride but spectacular views of the snow melt through the many creeks with outlets to the big lake. We also took advantage of the foot trails right off the lodge property to explore the Cascade River trails and were astounded at the natural beauty of the area. Of course the weather was wonderful and the rushing white water and falls added to the magic. The lodge was like a step back in time, everyone cheerful and helpful and knowledgable about the area. The restaurant adjacent to the Lodge didn't dissappoint either, good food and Lake Superior Ale on tap. Need we say more.

Room Tip: Room 211 has great water pressure in the shower. It's always cool next to Lake Superior and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We discovered Cabin 11 at the Cascades several years ago and have stayed there three times, the most recently in November 2011. Cabin 11 is a true, rustic log cabin located inconspicuously behind the Cascades restaurant on Highway 61 close to Lutsen and Grand Marais.
Real estate agents often quote :Location, Location, Location" when decribing a property and Cabin 11 has to be the ultimate example of this. The cabin is located right on the Cascades river (actually a small stream most of the time) and you get there by crossing your own private wooden bridge, largely surrounded by trees. Inside the cabin (basically a single room with an added bathroom), you immediately notice a real fireplace and rustic log furniture. From the "bedroom", you can open the window and listen to the soothing sounds of the stream right below.
Very romantic!
Cabin 11 dates back many years and as such, has minimal wiring and amenities. The floor slopes noticably, but we were aware of this and ok with it. This is not a "housekeeping" cabin, so you will need to have your meals elsewhere. The cabin is best visited in the spring or summer when it is warm outside and the stream is flowing. On our last visit (in December of 2003, we FROZE due to the total lack of insulation in the building.
But our biggest complaint this time around is that NOTHING has changed in the past 8 years that we could see. The furniture is tired and the place could be cleaned better. An ancient tube TV hangs from the wall like a bulging eyeball and the VCR that used to be hung underneath the unit has been missing in action for some time now. A little flat screen LCD for $200 would take less of the limited space in this cabin and would make it look like SOMETHING had been done to upgrade the interior. Reading is one of the things we like to do at a vacation retreat. The floor lamp would not stay lit, and we eventually stole one from the main lodge to be able to read. There really should be a pair of reading lamps permanently located over the only couch for this purpose. An end table to put a glass of wine on would also be nice.
We returned to Cabin 11 because of its unitque location and the fact that it is a funky old log cabin.
However, I think that a bit more care is required to allow this place to maintain its allure.

Room Tip: If you are adventurous and want to experience a unique location, book Cabin 11. Otherwise, find anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Again this October returned for fall color and the weather and leaves were perfect.
We rented Cabin 3 this time as we knew it has a nice wood fireplace for cool evenings.
The cabin was built in 1922 and the interior just beautiful. The logs really are impressive.
While the cabin is historic we had modern movie channels and free movies. I enjoy the fireplace and had forgotten I had ordered chocolate chip cookies for the room so that
was a surprise I played on myself. Hiking is nothing short of incredible during peak color time.
Everybody should hike behind the lodge to see Lookout Mountain when leaves are blazing red. I really hadn't expected just how wonderful it would be at peak. A added bonus was the Salmon were spawning in the Cascade River. Something you only see on the Discovery Channel for most of us. The North Shore really is a wonderful trip. Dining in the Lodge Restaurant was very nice. Prime Rib on Saturday night was excellent and a local folk singer
in the bar was very good. You just can't complain about minor silly things as the big picture is this is a great place. Staff is nothing but great and plenty of Minnesota nice! I have no idea what people are talking about when they complain about the staff? I was at the Lodge three times this summer and nobody is unfriendly. Quite the opposite? I hadn't planned on three trips but it's such a enjoyable and relaxing place that you want to return again and again.
I would think a family with children would just love the Cascade Creek and exploring. We enjoyed it and we are in our 50's. It would be a wonderland for a young child. And there is a playground and game room. I'll be back next Spring as I've never been there for waterfall season and want to do that. Each time I pick a different cabin. As with most things in life the quality of the cabin goes up with the price. You can't pay a cheap price and expect a luxury
cabin. But I think they all are just fine and good values.

Room Tip: If your a family I would think a cabin would be a wonderful time. Private and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
I really appreciate your kind review. My staff in particular gets positive feedback from 1000's of customers every year. We send every guest an email request for feedback and these contain 95% positive feedback on our resort and close to 100% positive feedback on my staff. We have worked hard at improving our property and invested each year into new upgrades. It is hard to beat the natural beauty around us as you pointed out. Beautiful photograph! Thanks again--Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed in room 202. Poor maintenance. Curtains were 4 inches shorter than windows. Baseboard heater had gaps in the cover that could cut someone. Mold on the peeling wallpaper in the bathroom. Too bad for a historic lodge.
Played pool in rec. room. Only had 14 balls. Internet was either slow or not available. They had a note saying it might be out for as much as a week at a time because they have satellite??
Careful of any offers. The offer they gave through Living Social showed a 48% discount. 2 nights for $150, a $290 value. List price of all options using their prices did not come close. They refused to correct pricing. Saying the stay was worth almost $300.
The restaurant offered good food at reasonable prices.

Eat there, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not stay in lodge. Cabins may be acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thanks for giving us a try via the voucher program. We have been learning a lot about what we can improve in our establishment from folks like you! Our winter plans include remodelling most of the baths in the main lodge and somehow dealing with the heat registers. Those were two of the most common comments we received from our new guests. Since 94% of you had never been to Cascade before, it was a great opportunity to have feedback from new eyes. Most of our newer guests have been very pleased with our resort and restaurant. I am sorry you were not. At the same time, we have never milked this business, we have in fact, invested every cent of profits directly back into the operation since we bought it 8 years ago. If you want a dollar figure, give me a call or private email and I will outline them for you. It has been a huge and ongoing project, one that we are proud to offer to the public. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Toungue & groove wood walls, woodsy nature decor, little run-down but clean and very campy! This lodge is located in the Cascade River State Park. We hiked the state trails right from our cabin. Lake Superior is right across the street so I woke before sunrise to hike along the shore with a beautiful view. The breakfast was good at the on-site restaurant and at night we drove 15 minutes north to Grand Marais for dinner. If your wife is high maintenance, looking for the "spa lodge" feel, this is not the place for you. If you want a clean, reasonably priced, quiet northern mn cabin then you'll love your stay here.

Room Tip: If you have a choice of the hotel or the cabins, I definitely recommend the cabins to get the true n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: 3719 West Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascade Lodge on the North Shore of Lake Superior featuring log cabins, a historic main lodge and motel units. Miles of wild, scenic and accessible Lake Superior shoreline interspersed with ledge rock and cobblestone beaches unspoiled by any development. Completely surrounded by one of Minnesota's finest state parks, Cascade River State Park with the nationally recognized Superior Hiking Trail coming right to your door. Excellent restaurant and pub onsite serving hand crafted meals daily. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Grand Marais or the Lutsen Mountains ski area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lutsen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cascade Lodge to your Saves list