We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Traveled - Very Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribou Highlands Lodge

Save Saved
You added Caribou Highlands Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caribou Highlands Lodge
371 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Lutsen
WI
1 review
“Well Traveled - Very Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

First of all I have been coming to the Lutsen area for over 20years. I truly enjoy the area and have been blessed to travel the world and continue to come back here for the long weekends stays. One thing some of my friends have noted is its not a five star resort, in the eyes of the beholder I guess yes there is no bell boy nor hand passed ordvees'. Reality would have it the accomidations, are very nice and a long distance from alot of people which limits the massive crowds. Some of the really neat things we like about the location, family friendly, people are very nice here, views in every direction, four hills for skiing to really get away, as rustic as one could want without the tent but has all the needs of home plus a few more. If you enjoy the outdoors in an capacity, this is a place that will call you back and yes I have been inspired to share this with others like you and my kids. Thanks for reading - see ya at CH.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    32
    26
    17
See reviews for
99
52
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

If you like a nice quiet retreat with comfy beds this is the place for you. Don't have too many negative things to say. The on site restaurant is kind of pricey. Must drive 10-15 mins for other restaurants. Can find things around the resort to do, swimming, tennis, biking, walking trails, golf and Grand Marais is about a 20 min drive where there are a lot of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogden,iaation not found.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The location and view was amazing, The price seamed to be right. I booked two nights but had to leave early due to Family issues, they charged me for 2 nights. When I arrived I found my sheets were dirty, 4 years U S Army I know clean beds. When I checked out, I left my coat in my room, went back to get it, the maids were making the beds, not puting clean sheets on, just remaid them. Confirmed!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

My wife and I went to the resort for a three night stay on Sunday-Wed. We located a great value online which included $75 dollars in gift certificates to Moguls Restaurant. We paid approx $100 dollars a night for the room, which was an incredible value.

The Good: The hotel has an amazing location with breathtaking views. You are able to ski out of this resort which is a great perk. The room we stayed in appeared to be recently remodeled. It was beautiful and tastefully done. The room was clean.

The pool and workout facilities were adequate and expected for this type of resort. We have no kids but this would be a good place if you did as they have both an indoor and outdoor pool. Also noticed pre planned activities for kids. The Wi-fi connection was great and free, almost unheard of for hotels these days. The front desk also offered complimentary snow shows. Give them a try it is fun.

The average: Moguls restaurant has many items to choose from(Including above average wine selection and phenomenal beer selection). From prime rib to burgers you will be able to find anything you desire. I believe they are going for a high end food quality. Some of the items were good but others including the ribs were poorly done. It was clear the ribs were reheated from the day before or earlier in the evening. That being said the service (John) was phenomenal. I would recommend giving this place a shot but know it is probably hit or miss. We used our gift certificates so really we had nothing to complain about.

After a afternoon of cross country skiing we tried a cafe in the town of Tofte called Coho. It was fantastic. A bit expensive but all homemade and fresh ingredients made it worth it. Just another option.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

The lodge was awesome. We had a very nice room, just like the pictures online, with a great Jacuzzi tub and wood fireplace. Moguls restaurant in the hotel is fantastic. Get the prime rib. We will go back to this hotel or sure!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

What a great way to experience the Lutsen area! The Poplar Ridge Homes are relatively new. What struck me most was how much room there is. We stayed in a two bedroom. The home was in great condition for a rental unit. Master bedroom was huge with its own bath. The second bedroom had two twins and a queen which would work great for kids OR a second couple. These were all on the second level.

The entry level was completely unexpected. A very well furnished kitchen with granite countertops and new appliances. The stone fireplace was surrounded by a huge, comfortable couch and HDTV. We did not take advantage of the gas grill on the deck. The crackling fire really helped our crew relax after a long day on the mountain.

Criticisms are few. The pool is on the other side of the resort so you will be hopping in the car to get to there in the Winter. I would not consider these units ski in / ski out. We ended up driving two minutes up to the ski area.

One last tip- Tired after a long day on the mountain and looking for a quick easy dinner? Drive five miles away to Tofte and get a take and bake pizza from the Coho Cafe. Lots of delicious choices.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Just returned from an overnight at Caribou Highlands where we stayed in the main lodge. The hotel feels very new and we found the room to be nicely furnished. The one main problem is that the heating unit does not cycle off when a certain temp is reached so we were up several times during the evening to adjust temp (first too hot, then too cold). Flat screens in every room and they offer you the choice of two movies from their DVD collection or two games or a combination of either when you check in. Nice touch!
Our room overlooked Moose Mountain and the view was spectacular!

Don't miss dining at Moguls. Excellent food and excellent service. Make sure to say hello to "Whiskey Dick" who is the bartender. He will also light up a bonfire for you if you ask!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribou Highlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Highlands Lodge

Address: 371 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Caribou Highlands Lodge on Lutsen Mountains, Minnesota's and the Midwest's largest ski destination located at the tallest mountain in the Midwest. Caribou Highlands is Minnesota's favorite ski resort. Our location nestled in amongst the Sawtooth Mountains just one mile inland from Lake Superior's North Shore, offers great views and a unique ski experience. Where else can you get big skiing and enjoy the unbroken Lake Superior horizon at the same time.The mountain views as enjoyed from our lodge rooms, condos, townhomes and spacious four-bedroom Poplar Ridge log homes are magnificent. Take the mountain gondola to the top of Moose Mountain and enjoy the breathtaking vistas of wide open water of Lake Superior.A Minnesota Family Ski ResortOnce you arrive at Caribou Highlands family ski resort in Lutsen, you'll find so much to do that there's no need to drive further. We have many resort activities that are offered as complimentary guest services, and are included in the very popular Explore! program. One of our most popular activities is the Mountain Kids Camp where kids are entertained with games and activities that are both challenging and fun. With so many choices of activities, it's nice to know there are also many ways to relax. There are three spa areas at the resort and an indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Caribou Highlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Highlands Hotel Lutsen
Caribou Highlands Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribou Highlands Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.