We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Midwest ski vacation destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lutsen Mountains Ski Area

Lutsen Mountains Ski Area
467 Ski Hill Road, Lutsen, MN 55612
+1 218-663-7281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Lutsen
Activities: Skiing, Cross-country skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World class scenery and terrain. The ancient Sawtooth Mountains rise 1000 feet above the coast of Lake Superior-topography unlike any other Midwest locale. And that brings more of what you want in a ski trip. More runs. More elevation. More epic days. You'll find the very best Mid-America has to offer-the highest mountains, the most snow, and the breathtaking beauty of the North Shore. Lutsen offers 95 sweeping runs over four mountains with a lift-serviced vertical rise more than double that of other regional resorts.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Top Midwest ski vacation destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Many upgrades make this an ideal ski destination. The addition of the gondola and Moose Mtn restaurant with all of the new ski runs provide many ski levels for all levels of skiers. Favorite run has always been the Mogen as it is a gentle run with wonderful views of Lake Superior.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM_Customer_Service, Customer Services at Lutsen Mountains Ski Area, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Judy-we have had many exciting updates to our ski resort lately and we are so happy to hear that you are enjoying these new amenities. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Lutsen Mountains Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    45
    6
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lutsen Mountain Ski Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Longest ski runs in Minnesota and great ski terrain. Even has a cable car. The new Moose Mountain chalet is beautiful and very scenic...worth a cable ride to enjoy it. Could be icy because located off Lake Superior but views are wonderful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Second last week of September and although it is a ski town there is still much to experience here! We took the last ride on the tram (pricey for two but worth it) up to the mountain top, a fun and memorable ride which allows you to take in the beautiful surroundings while wondering if they oiled the tracks well as you take a steep route up the mountain-side! The tram drops you off next to a little cafe which has beautiful views on their outdoor patio, unfortunately we went later in the day and it had closed so we didn't get the full experience of sitting and eating while taking in the view. We did however walk to the lookout which offers a breathtaking view of the forest canopy and we were lucky enough to see some colour change in the trees although the last week of september is rumored to be the most beautiful time to witness all the colours!

Will be dreaming of returning soon for a longer trip and can only imagine what fun it would be in the winter!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Take the Tram!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

All these years on the North Shore, I have never taken the tram from Lutsen Ski Area! It was the most amazing view of the incredible fall colors-...loved every second of it! We arrived just as they opened so didn't have to fight the crowd. It is very worth the reasonable price ($18 for adults I think) The guys working the gondolas were friendly and got us right in. It's about a 10 minute ride to the top of Moose Mountain--you go down and over another ridge and then straight up to Moose Mountain. Over scenic rivers, through the forest. Once at the top, you have a short hike to the incredible overlook, a view you'll never forget. You can tie in with other hiking trails on top as well. There is a restaurant on top, but I think it's more just quick food for skiers. We didn't eat, but sat on the outside tables and took in the view. Another 10 minutes back down and up to the start. Bring your camera! We Loved every second of it!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Alpine slide rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Alpine slide is a must, especially if you travel with children. Also, the tram to the Moose Mountain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lutsen Mountains Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Lutsen Mountains Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lutsen Mountains Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.