We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade River State Park

Cascade River State Park
3481 West Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
218-387-3053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northshore park known for its breathtaking waterfalls.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great little falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Another great walk full of falls and pools, picture perfect. Walk up on one site of river and come down on other side of river to see all angles.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Short hike to beautiful waterfall views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Good hike on maintained trail-some wooden steps otherwise dirt trail. Within a short distance you're on a bridge with great views. You can go 1-5 miles further on maintained trails, climbing a bit in elevation for more views. Hold small kids by the hand and discourage climbing to the edge to see the river- a fall could be fatal here. I didn't see bathroom or other facilities at this location. The .cascade lodge is right here tho

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thief River Falls
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It almost didn't look real--like something our of a movie set. The rushing water leaves you struck with the power of mother nature. I can't believe this is in Northern Minnesota. I almost want to give this a bad review so the area doesn't get hit with even more tourists--know what I mean folks.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cascade Loop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great if you want to get a feel for the beauty of the area but don't have the day to spend hiking. No charge to use this trail, but the access area can get tricky being right on Hwy. 61. Many great photo ops, bring the bug spray, and if you have young kids keep them close. Also, be prepared to encounter muddy and slick areas in spring/early summer and after rain. We encountered a woman who slipped on a muddy slope and broke her ankle...not easy to access so took a couple of hours to get medical help to her. That said, the falls and overlook are well worth the stop.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Family - Keep an Eye on the Little Ones!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

For readers on Trip Advisor, I am reviewing the short Cascade River hiking loop only, not the entire state park. Our family does this short hike numerous times each year. We live just five miles away and seeing the falls and crossing the road to see Lake Superior is fun for everyone in our family. Know that this trail is also connected to the Lake Superior Hiking Trail as well.

If you are in a hurry, it is just a short 5 minute walk from the highway up to the bridge which is where most people take their pictures. This gives you a great shot of the largest waterfall. However, if you go to the far left of the bridge over to the westernmost edge you will see a small lookout which is the best place for a picture (in my opinion) as you can see the numerous falls and the river coming your way. I have a picture included so you know what I mean.

The trail is marked well and is well taken care of. Keep an eye on little kids. There are edges where if you fall, there is no coming back. Young kids cannot just run crazy and unattended. After a rain, the river is fun to watch, just know that there are places on the trail and on the rocks that will then be a bit slippery.

Beyond the bridge at the halfway point, you can continue up the trail a bit more on the eastern side of the river you come out at the top and it is a neat place to walk along the river and even have a picnic if you prefer the scenery over a picnic table by the Lodge.

One thing to note for families, know that Highway 61 is the one major highway along the North Shore. People speed through this 40 zone frequently, so watch your kids and respect the highway. Overall, a great place with great scenery. If you are coming up the shore, this stop can be as short or as long as you want it. Make the stop, it is worth it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascade River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cascade River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.