We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE VIEW MAKES UP FOR OLD HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain to your Saves list
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
County Rd 5, Lutsen, MN 55612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Grey Eagle, Minnesota
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
“THE VIEW MAKES UP FOR OLD HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We got a great deal to stay at this condo-- I have to say it really needs upgrading. The room is a very comfortable size but a new bed would be a good start. BUT THE SURRONDING VIEWS FROM THE PRIVATE BALCONY ARE WORTH IT ALL. Every night they have a nice bon fire with alot of seating around it--it smelled great from our balcony. They do supply two chairs on each balcony also. On the grounds is a restaurant but it was WAY WAY too over priced for us. But in the winter for the skiers-if they can afford to stay at this place they probably would not think twice of the cost. We did stop in to have a beer, wine and appetizers --- then we drove over to the Casscade Lodge for a super great meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    50
    24
    10
    20
See reviews for
55
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We go to the North Shore every year. We had stayed at Eagle Ridge previous years, but will never stay here again. When we first got there, we pulled out the sofa bed and there were crumbs all over the bed, so they obviously didn't changed the sheets on the sofa bed. There were dirty dishes in the sink and in the dishwasher. We complained to the front desk and eventually someone came to the room to change the sheet. At the end of our stay, we check under the bed and everywhere to be certain we don't leave anything behind. There was a pair of dirty underwear between the bed and the nightstand. That is enough to prevent us from ever staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a great time attending a wedding here this past weekend.
Stayed in 1 BR Condo which was super clean and nice.
Great views of the area from the condo and exceptional views of entire area from atop the mountain after the gondola ride.
Staff we had encountered over 3 days was great was great.
From Brian the bartender at Papa Charlies to room staff and the the groundskeepers.
Had a great time with Frosty (Eric) at the fire pit for acoustic music.

Room Tip: Quite the trip from the twin cities (5 - 5 1/2 hours) but worth the effort. Be sure to stop in at B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We go to Lutsen several times per year, and have stayed at various places. We wanted to book a last min. weekend trip, and were able to find a one bedroom condo room at Eagle Ridge. We got a fantastic deal on their website, so the room was very affordable compared to other options in Lutsen (half of what we would have paid to stay next door).

The resort is in a great location on Lutsen mountain. It is an older property, but the room was very clean and just fine. It is comparable quality level to Caribou Highlands and Chateau Leveaux, where we have stayed on other visits. We had a balcony with a decent mountain view. The bedroom in the condo was large enough to fit a pack and play crib for our 1 year old. The staff was very friendly. We didn't spend much time in the room, as we like to be out hiking or spending time exploring during the day, but all and all it was a great value for a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotton MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

initially I was stunned by the beautiful setting and mountain views. I was pleased by the room overall. It had a dated TV that was very small I did some reading and made sure I got a second story room This gave me the advantage of a private deck and a better view. As I walked around the property I could see that there was neglected maintenance everywhere. All the decks need to be stained and some boards needed to be replaced from not having the staining kept up. Many of the paved walkways are littered with rocks and gravel that has been washed down by the rains over the years. This made walking back from the pool a little painful on the feet. This could have been easily maintained by having maintenance clean off the walkways from time to time. But as I walked to the pool I saw a Maintenance worker sitting in a gulf cart on his smart phone right next to the gravel piles next to the pool? He seemed to be hiding out and wasting time. As I entered the once lovely pool I could see it was not being professionally maintained. The Sauna was out of order with a big hole in the wall by the outside of it. The pool tiles were falling off with large portions missing. The surface tiles had the grout severally missing in several spots from not being sealed through the freezing and thawing cycles. Some portions by the pool patio were heaving and had sub surface damage from the same. The ceiling fans and vents were badly rusted. The hot tub interior surface had several holes in the finish. the bottom of the pool was littered with particles that had came off the interior surface. I could not understand how the resort management and owner could let this expensive investment be so poorly maintained? So poorly that it is actually causing expensive physical damage that could have been prevented? Staff were friendly and helpful. Wyfy was slow. Overall my impression is that management if failing to do preventive maintenance and even cheap upkeep that they should be doing. Too Bad it can be a much better resort.

Room Tip: Second or third floors for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Eagle Ridge for two nights in a condo with one bedroom. The resort is in a very beautiful location. It was also centrally located near the golf course, hiking trails and waterfalls. It is a secluded and quiet. Our daughter used the pool and it was fine. We also took advantage of the guided canoe tour which was a great time. Also, make sure you check out the great hiking trails near the resort. For our family, the best part of this resort was the mountain tram. It takes you on a beautiful trip across to Moose Mountain. The only negative is that most hiking trails on Moose Mountain are closed this season. Our 15 year old daughter said the tram was one of the best things she has ever done. A big thank you to the great staff we encountered, especially Danny, our canoe guide, and Tom, at the front desk. We plan to return to view the fall colors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in an Executive condo suite. There were 4 of us, two teenagers stayed on the murphy & sofa sleeper beds, and my husband & I in the bedroom. We loved the location directly across from the Alpine slides. We really enjoyed the slides & gondola! We enjoyed lunch up at the top of the gondola! It had been years since we have been back, so we hadn't been up to the remodeled restaurant on top of Moose Mountain- we loved it! There was a good selection of food - something for all.
When the beds were all pulled out it was hard to move around- kinda cozy. The decor and furnishings were nice. We enjoyed the deck out back. A perfect place for a morning cup of coffee, with beautiful views of Lutsen Mountains and Lake Superior! Gorgeous!
We enjoyed that the pool & hot tub was right out back. They also had a campfire with smores one night, and this was nice!
The bedroom did not seem to have a cooling vent. The air conditioning controls were all in the livingroom area. It made it cool out there, but not very cool in the bedroom. It would have been nice to have an air control in bedroom. It wasn't convenient to open bedroom window, due to this being right next to the outdoor walkway. (There is a heating unit in bedroom for winter stays) Overall we really enjoyed our stay, for the convenience, location, & beautiful views!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain

Address: County Rd 5, Lutsen, MN 55612
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge has 75 slope-side studios and condominiums set amidst the peaceful Sawtooth Mountains where guests play by day and relax by night. Each of our units have been designed to complement the natural beauty of the surrounding Superior National Forest and of Lake Superior; stunning views of both are right outside your door. All rooms feature a gas fireplace and patio overlooking the mountains and Poplar River valley along with refrigerator, microwave and TV/DVD. Many rooms have a whirlpool and all of our condos have a full kitchen. While you're here, enjoy the only indoor/outdoor heated pool on the mountain (heated year-round), whirlpool and sauna, and in the summer the campfire pit is a great place to build a fire and make s'mores! Pet reservations are accepted between Mid-April - October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge At Lutsen Mountain Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Resort Lutsen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.