We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average resort in most beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain to your Saves list
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   County Rd 5, Lutsen, MN 55612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Above average resort in most beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have been to Eagle Ridge many times over the past 20 years and have enjoyed it every time. Eagle Ridge is a no-nonsense unpretentious resort hotel that offers large, comfortable accommodations at a very reasonable price. No, this is not 5-star, but it doesn't pretend to be. But you get more than your money's worth. I recommend the 1-bedroom condo for the most room because you have a true separation of sleeping quarters from the rest of the accommodation and you have a full kitchen with full sized stove, refrigerator/freezer, and dishwasher. Every room no matter the size has a private deck that overlooks the valley and the mountains across it. The rooms are clean and the furniture and fixtures all in great condition. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

People should be aware that the various buildings on site are built into the hillside, so you need to do a good deal of walking and much of it up and down slopes. I think it is part of the places charm, but other people may not like it. But that is true of the whole area, it is a ridge among valleys and mountains. The views are spectacular and so are the hiking, and canoeing. Eagle Ridge is the best stay on the north shore.

Room Tip: Go for the 1-bedroom condo for the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    26
    10
    20
See reviews for
58
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the A building on the upper floor. The room is dated but was clean. The bathroom looked very clean and may have had the tile re done in the past. The view was very nice. This room had the jacuzzi but we didn't end up using it because the hot tub pool room were sufficient enough. Had a lot to do like the alpine slide, the short canoe trip ect. OVerall a very fun time. The only complaint I would say would be that the TV's were the small old tube sets in these room. We watched movies with my parents who were in the adjacent room at night and the TV was too small. The AC got a little loud at night and the king bed mattress in our room was a little uncomfortable, but overall was a lot of fun and very beautiful!

Room Tip: A building has the best views probably but these are the ones that are outdated with small TV's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place is a scam. I made a reservation for a date that was over a month later, and then emailed a day and a half later to cancel because of a conflict. I was charged a cancellation fee of $35. I can see being charged if I cancelled right before my stay, but not the way I cancelled. No one mentioned anything about the cancellation fee over the phone or in our email correspondence
No one answers the phone when you call there, instead you get voicemail. I couldn't figure out why a business would operate this way even during normal business hours. It's no doubt due to the fact that they get calls from irate customers and want to screen those calls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family has been going to Eagle Ridge for years in the summer and we love it. We just returned yesterday and I noticed things seem to be deteriorating. Things are looking shabby. Missing curtains in the bedroom. Pool chairs all broken resulting in a very painful injury. Dishwasher smelled like it was on fire. Pool was wonderful as was the view and the overall comfort. I really hope they get on top of it because we love it there!

Room Tip: Condos are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The room we stayed in was only 2 years old and had enough room for a family. The granite countertops and nice kitchen were wonderful and the shower was HUGE! The kids enjoyed the pool area and LOVED the Alpine Slides even though we bought a pass for all day and were only able to use for part of the day because they were closed early for weather.

There was a sofa sleeper in the room and when we pulled it out there was a mattress pad on it that was filthy with lots of hair and crumbs on it plus there were a few other things that looked a bit dirty so I am not convinced the housekeeping is fantastic. It was a bit hard to sleep on the beds after seeing that. Plus the air conditioner only cools the first room so the bed room was extremely warm. Then there were different sets of people drinking and partying just outside our room both nights so it was hard to sleep with the noise (We had our window open because it was so warm).

The staff was very friendly though and we would probably return during a cooler portion of the year. The restaurant at the top of Mosse mountain was great. The other restaurant had good food but very slow service.

Overall we liked the room layout and the kids had fun both there are a few things that could be improved.

Room Tip: The one bedroom executive condos are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We just spent 2 nights a Eagle Ridge for my husband's birthday. Overall we were pleased with our time there. We had a lower level jacuzzi room facing the mountain. It was a bit dark in the room but the view was quite lovely. We had a bit of an issue with some mold in the shower curtian but we left a note and they replaced the curtain for us. The rest of the room was clean. There's a small microwave and frig. in the room and a gas firplace which we did not use due to the warm weather. The bed was okay but late night partiers could be heard through the walls when they came home after midnight and woke us up both nights.There's a nice cable car ride to the summit of the mountain with a fabulous view of the area and Lake Superior. We ate close by a Mogul's and also had a meal at the Papa Charlie's grill at Eagle Lodge. Nice place with lots of hiking trails and a view of the Poplar River.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Eagle Ridge is at the top of Lutsen Ski hill amidst fantastic mountain scenery. The balcony gives you a view of the mountains as well as the lake (if you're lucky) and even wildlife on occasion.
The rooms are average size and some have fireplaces and jacuzzis. They are very comfortable although in need of some updating. Rooms show some wear and tear including peeling paint, worn carpeting and bedding and older televisions. However, the rooms are clean and comfortable and have a small fridge and microwave for convenience. There is a beautiful pool and hot tub complex. More economical than staying right on the lake, the location is still convenient to all the North Shore and Lutsen has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain

Address: County Rd 5, Lutsen, MN 55612
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge has 75 slope-side studios and condominiums set amidst the peaceful Sawtooth Mountains where guests play by day and relax by night. Each of our units have been designed to complement the natural beauty of the surrounding Superior National Forest and of Lake Superior; stunning views of both are right outside your door. All rooms feature a gas fireplace and patio overlooking the mountains and Poplar River valley along with refrigerator, microwave and TV/DVD. Many rooms have a whirlpool and all of our condos have a full kitchen. While you're here, enjoy the only indoor/outdoor heated pool on the mountain (heated year-round), whirlpool and sauna, and in the summer the campfire pit is a great place to build a fire and make s'mores! Pet reservations are accepted between Mid-April - October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge At Lutsen Mountain Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Resort Lutsen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.