We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is not customer focused” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lutsen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain
Save Saved
You added Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain to your Saves list
County Rd 5, Lutsen, MN 55612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Service is not customer focused”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here for a skiing trip in late January. Check in was fast and efficient. Our room was in Building E on the first floor. The room was clean and fairly spartan: the carpet looked new, there was a gas fireplace, flat screen tv, DVD player, tiny microwave and fridge, and small bathroom. This may be unique to our room, but the pipes squealed loudly when we took showers and water pressure was low. Wireless did not work in our room, which we were warned about at check in. They suggested that we use the PC in the lobby or bring our laptop to the lobby. In another building, there is an indoor-outdoor pool, sauna and hot tub. No food or beverages are allowed in that area--disappointing--but guests ignored the policy. We noticed that the walls of the hot tub are in need of repair.
We stayed when Lutsen resort was fairly empty, so cannot comment on crowds or noise during a normal skiing season. The service at the ski resort was great. At Eagle Ridge, not so much. First, beware their cancellation policy. We booked hotel and lift tickets as a package. If you cancel within 2 weeks of your reservation, there is zero refund. With no natural snow this winter and many slopes closed, we were pretty ticked off. Second, after our first day of skiing, we discovered that the cleaning crew had left our room unlocked, and uncleaned. They made the bed, but no towels were changed and nothing was clean. Nothing was taken, thankfully. We reported this to the front desk. From then on, the room was locked but we noticed that the cleaning crew does not clean, they merely make the bed, refill the in-room coffee, and will replace towels if you ask.
Friends of ours stayed at the Caribou Highlands and liked it, so we will try there next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located where a particular amenity is important to you: ski in/ski out? in the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    22
    10
    20
See reviews for
55
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grey Eagle
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We got a jacuzzi fireplace room with a balcony. The wonderful gentleman who checked us in was super friendly. Yes, the rooms could use updating and a few repairs but with the view we had who cared. The jacuzzi and fireplace made the room warm and cozy. We sipped champagne on the balcony and just enjoyed the peace and quiet. We are sure that if the hotel were busier it would not have been as quiet but we were lucky. The restaurant was expensive and so were the drinks. But again they had an outside seating on a large veranda. Another beautiful view. The management gave us two compilmentary dinners because the lift was out of order. We drove up to Grand Marais for bkfst. and walked around the very quaint village. Expensive but interesting shops. Lunch was at "Sven and Ole's Pizza"--the best in the state. We had pie at the "Blue water cafe"--great service and resonable prices--been there many times .The same gentleman who checked us in --checked us out two days later--again he was a pleasure to talk with.

Room Tip: when you make your reservation request a corner room on top floor for the best view and the most qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

HEre is the letter that I sent to them certified mail, they never responded

To Whom it may concern,

My apologies for this being so late the first letter I sent was to the wrong address so it was returned.

My name is xxxxxxxxxx, I'm writing in regards to my recent stay at your establishment. I stayed in room 215 in "A" building February 4th thru the 6th. The room was booked under xxxxxxxx. We had a wonderful time skiing the slopes at Lutsen, weather was great and hill conditions were nice. The slopes were very well groomed and the whole atmosphere while skiing was exactly what I would expect from a ski resort with the caliber that Lutsen is synonymous with. However the room conditions were the exact opposite.

We arrived around 9:30 p.m. on the 4th, checked in and retired to our room to rest after a long drive. While laying in bed you could hear every step that the people above us took. We could hear the water run in the tub above us and you could hear everything they DID! I mean everything! Then after some time we heard the water begin to drain. The water started pouring into our room thru the knot holes in the boards of our ceiling. We sprang out of bed and began franticly moving our clothes bags and gear as it was getting wet with the used bath water from above. I would estimate that about 15 gallons of used bath water entered our unit from above. I called the front desk and got an answering machine, I left a message with all the information to be contacted back. I then called the security number and talked to a maintenance guy. He came down to our room right away. He looked at the water dripping (dripping as the bulk of the water had poured in already) and said that there was nothing more he could do for us. He had brought a garbage bag full of bath towels and proceeded to lay them out on the floor only covering the water and not even making an attempt to remove the water. By morning the water had soaked into the towels. I then had to lay down more towels to gain access to the bathroom area so we would not have to walk through the dirty bath water. I truly would have expected a phone call at least from the front desk at this point as we are guests at your facility. No attempt was made to contact us.

Over the night I noticed how loud the heater in our room was. Every time it warmed up or cooled down the metal wood bang loud enough that it would jar me awake. The bed was very uncomfortable as it was very thin and was like sleeping on a board.

Saturday night the 5th we returned from skiing and we were looking forward to relaxing in bed and watching some episodes of our favorite TV show that we had brought on DVD. The first couples of episodes that we watched were at home and worked fine. We tried to play it on your DVD player and it had a large amount of static and the picture would oscillate from very bright to very dark, making it impossible to see what was going on. I asked the front desk for some assistance. Two maintenance personal came to our room this time. They assessed the situation and told us that the problem was with our DVD and not your player. They also told us that they had just had the same problem with another guest the night before. I own a media installation company and can tell you for fact that it was not the DVD it was the regional format ability of the very cheap quality DVD player and not the DVD itself. I tested the same DVD at home in multiple players and it has worked all the players I tested it in.

Later that night, around 11 P.M., I had just dosed off whenxxxxxwoke me up in a panic and said there is someone trying to break in to our unit. I then heard heavy banging on the door and a man’s voice yelling, “god damn it Sheila the fxxxing xssholes wont let me in". He was hitting the door so hard that the door was twisting off the jam by a couple of inches. I sprang to the door and whipped it open to find a highly inebriated man standing there. After some coxing and convincing he left. I shut and locked the door. We then realized that our rental skis were out on the porch so I decided to bring them in to prevent theft or vandalism. I opened the door and found garbage around our entry area and I also seen the same man in the bushes just around the corner from our unit. I was so disgusted at this point that I just brought the skis in and locked up.

The next morning we cleaned up, packed and I went to check out. I walked in the front desk area and there was one gentleman behind the desk on the phone. There was also a customer that had already been waiting there to ask him a question. After several minutes I realized that he would be on the phone for a while. I went into the office area behind the desk to find someone who could help us. There was another person in there, but he too was on the phone. I went back to the lobby and waited. The first man on the phone finally put the person he was on the phone with on hold then began to help us.

In summary here is a list of the things that should have been addressed.


1.) Our unit flooding from above with dirty bath water.
2.) The dirty bath water was never removed or attempted to be cleaned.
3.) The amount of sound insulation between units
4.) The noise level of the heater in the room
5.) The drunk man beating on the door
6.) The DVD player
7.) The overall customer service offered by your maintenance and front desk


A simple phone call in regards to half of those problems goes a long way, an offer to move us to a different room, a comped dinner, or a refund, anything would have eased our concerns. As none of that was offered we are now formally requesting a refund for our troubles. I understand that not all of our issues were preventable but certainly all of those issues were addressable! I feel that a 50% refund is not out of the question and is completely acceptable.

Room Tip: Its very tempting to get a ground floor room bbut try to go with top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed for a long four day weekend in October and enjoyed our stay. We had 5 people so we rented one of the newer one bedroom jacuzi condos. Had a full kitchen and so we brought food for some meals and snacks and yet had planned to eat out for most meals. Condo was very clean in all areas. Family took advantage of the alpine slide, gondola and the indoor/outdoor pool. Be aware that the slide has a very long line up on the top of the hill (can not see from the waiting area below) so the ride took at least a half hour wait at the top each time. The all day unlimited wrist band ended up not being worth it because the line was so long that we could have just bought the 8 rides to share. The 10pm quiet time felt a bit early for a weekend but we followed the rules as did most people around us except one night the couple below us argued for hours in the later night and we could hear all of it. Papa Charlies was busy in the restraunt and bar and needed more help as service was very slow at best and food was fine but drinks were expensive (1 bottle beer, 1 bloody mary, 1 skrewdriver $20 + tip). Check-in staff was great. Free DVD movies can be checked out from the check-in desk. They only emptied the trash and brought new towels during our stay, no other cleaning. Kitchen had papertowels and some liquid dish soap but no dishwasher soap. New sponge in a wrapper. Kitchen was supplied well but we were glad we had brought a few items like a large cake pan and a few kitchen utensils that they did not have. They had correl? dishes and cups and wine glasses, pots, pans, silverware and a few serving utensils, coffee pot with packets of coffee as well as dry creamer and sweetener or sugar. Bathroom had the wall hair dryer and seperate tub and shower units. Balcony had three chairs and a small end table. Living room had a murphy bed, 2 stools at the kitchen counter, table and 4 chairs, fouton sofa, stuffed chair, coffee table, fireplace and a TV that needed to be updated. The bedroom did not have a TV and we would have liked that since we had 5 people and the kids were watching movies during the evening news. Overall the place met our needs and we had a great Fall getaway!

Room Tip: Decide what it is that you plan to use as far as amenities (pool, slide, gondola, papa charlies etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We just got home from our weekend up there and it was a very good experience. Our room was a Jacuzzi/Fireplace room. Clean and housekeeping stopped by to ask if we needed supplies. Bed and pillows were comfy......bedspread was a little snagged and tattered but nothing too bad. Front desk staff very friendly, Papa Charlie's was excellent, The chalet at the top of the mountain was good despite having water quality troubles and the Alpine Slide was a blast, only encountered one grumpy employee at the top. We will definately come back and bring family with us. It's not the Hilton but it served all our needs and then some, we wouldn't have had to leave the area if not to visit Grand Marais for dinner one night. The noise issue was evident occasionally but not excessive and there was no sewage smell or problems we noticed. Guest registration was easy to find, as was our room. I think the naysayers on here are expecting too much, if you want turn down service, then stay somewhere else, this is rustic and cozy and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

They need some major remodling. Kitchen was filthy. Stay somewhere else if you want to stay somewhere nice but it may be ok if you want somewhere cheep.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Service was horrible and I never got anything back after we checked out for all the problems we had in are room the biggest problem was the toilet was not fastened to floor and it came off and leaked on the floor.Save money go some place else

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain

Address: County Rd 5, Lutsen, MN 55612
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge has 75 slope-side studios and condominiums set amidst the peaceful Sawtooth Mountains where guests play by day and relax by night. Each of our units have been designed to complement the natural beauty of the surrounding Superior National Forest and of Lake Superior; stunning views of both are right outside your door. All rooms feature a gas fireplace and patio overlooking the mountains and Poplar River valley along with refrigerator, microwave and TV/DVD. Many rooms have a whirlpool and all of our condos have a full kitchen. While you're here, enjoy the only indoor/outdoor heated pool on the mountain (heated year-round), whirlpool and sauna, and in the summer the campfire pit is a great place to build a fire and make s'mores! Pet reservations are accepted between Mid-April - October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge At Lutsen Mountain Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Hotel Lutsen
Eagle Ridge Resort Lutsen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Ridge at Lutsen Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.