We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reconnect with nature!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior to your Saves list
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reconnect with nature!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for work-related reasons but it was hard to feel like we were on a business trip with such beauty surrounding us day in and day out! The beach was welcoming with a constant fire burning through the evening, open for anyone and everyone! It was great for keeping warm and even meeting new people! In the day time the beach is simply stunning, some mornings there was a thick fog that moved in, swallowing the horizon and trees and other mornings were very clear and sunny-- perfect for reading a book peacefully by the water's edge. Brought home a few smooth pebble rocks for memories!

The pathway from the main lodge to our condo was an appreciated touch. It forced us to get some exercise and unwind as we moved around the resort. Beautiful pathways, bridges and stairs! I can only imagine how gorgeous wedding photos would turn out here, no matter what time of year it is!

Our condo was very cozy and private! We were put up in 610 with a great view of the lake. Stepping out onto the balcony was enjoyable, morning or before sunset! Remember to look upwards in the evening and you will be able to see the stars as you've never seen them before! Saw the big dipper (I believe) for the first time ever! A very sweet moment!

Don't know that this was an ideal place for business meetings as the Wifi was beyond weak, except for at 3am when no one else was trying to get online! This seems more like a nice romantic or family getaway spot with a warm in-room fireplace and jacuzzi.

Our only complaints were the slow wifi, which perhaps cannot be helped due to location, and the yellow rings around the jacuzzi jets. You can clean those off, you know! Didn't use the jacuzzi feature as a result of seeing these, kind of kills the thrill! Also, toiletries are needed-- worth the investment, property owners! I don't know how long the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel have been in those wall dispensers and am very grateful I had brought my own!

Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful! Seafood was very fresh and well cooked, we ate everything off our plates! I heard the breakfast buffet wasn't anything special but ordered a small breakfast option off the menu and throughly enjoyed it. Restaurant staff is very friendly, accommodating and polite!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Lutsen Resort and will be dreaming of revisiting someday for vacation!

Room Tip: Bring your own toiletries and ask for a condo with a clear view of the lake, 613 was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    80
    27
    19
    10
See reviews for
87
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I came to the area to spend a week watching the colors change. We stayed at the Sea Villas down the road from the lodge but used a number of the resort facilities.

Nice hiking trails on the property along with a nice "pitch & put" golf course (included in the lodging cost). Did not end up eating at the lodge but the menu looked good.

Lots of activities to try next time we visit. And we will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There is no question that the Lutsen Lodge is in an amazing location, directly on Lake Superior, beautiful pebble beach, rocky shoreline, a river, and, just five minutes down the road, a chance for the most incredible view from Lutsen Ski Resort. We loved the chance to sit in the big chairs on the beach, build a campfire and just relax. The lodge is historic and lovely--an old Shore feel and we appreciated the fire in the big fireplace each morning. The Spa was nice (a little pricey) Cheers to the staff at the Pub for their good customer service and delicious margaritas!
That said....we spent a lot of money for a really small, very bare bones room. Small windows, but that goes with the historic building. So, heads up on that. You do just have a fan for your room. The front desk staff were polite but not very friendly. We tried their breakfast buffet which was mediocre. So, mixed review for Lutsen--my best advice, it's a beautiful old historic log hotel, prepare for those rooms and be independent, get outside and explore the beautiful property around and you'll have a good trip.

Room Tip: Make your reservation over the phone vs online.....ask specifically what type of room you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svaty Anton, Slovakia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lutsen Resort is north of Silver Bay on the North Shore of Lake Superior.

After studying the website, we opted to trade up to a double room in one of their condo complexes that overlooks the water, rather than stay in the hotel proper.

Our condo was comfortable, utilitarian and dull, frankly. Apart from the fireplace (the weather made it too hot to use) and the whirlpool bathtub. It felt like a timeshare, which it is. No minibar, no maid service, minimal bathroom amenities.

In order to get to the hotel restaurant, we walked down 100 steps from the bluff where the condo sits, and over a covered bridge. The views were what we hoped for. . .

That meant walking up 100 steps going home. It wasn’t that bad. . .

We ate dinner, breakfast, lunch and our 15th anniversary dinner in the restaurant. There were some really good dishes served, including wild rice soup, teriyaki steak, beef tips, perfect roasted scallops; but ambience was uninspiring, even though the staff was friendly.

I emailed twice to say we were there for our anniversary but no one responded to my request for a memorable dessert. I did not pursue it at the hotel.

All in all, we didn't manage our expectations very well on the Lutsen resort – we figured with the word "resort" it would be a little more luxurious. You can’t tell a whole lot from the website.

It's open all year-round so there are summer as well as winter activities. But if you're only interested in hanging out in a "luxury resort" Lutsen is not the place to go.

Room Tip: the condos are good if you want something away from the hotel. Be prepared to stock your own fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlefork, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The scenery is unquestionably lovely. However, our room was tiny with absolutely no amenities, not air conditioning, not toiletries, etc. The TV did not work particularly well, but the room was clean. We enjoyed our stay but felt the room did not warrant the price. To get to our room, we had to climb quite a few stairs. Possibly there was an elevator, but we did not see one. The lady at the desk was polite and cooperative, but not so with the gentleman who was rather abrupt. A big plus was the food. It was wonderful, and the wait staff did a great job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I reserved my room online and the room was not what it was online. Not even close, Major false advertisement. To resolve the issue, they switched us to a room that was more similar to what we thought we were getting (for an additional $25 per night).... Also for $194 per night you don't get toiletries, not even equate brand... You get a disgusting looking dispenser mounted in the tub with labels "Shampoo", "conditioner" etc.... Really? $194 per night gets you that? The wifi is non-working... You may show 3,4 or 5 bars of connection but it is actually slower than 3G speed, unusable. There were no vending machines to be found, if you wanted to have a beverage you had to go into the bar to pay for it (at least that we could find). And I know this is the North shore and it is usually cooler but the lack of air conditioning in the unit amaze me... It was not an exceptionally hot weekend and we were uncomfortable because of the heat. The few windows that are there just could not provide enough airflow to cool down the room... I have stayed at many lodges, cabins and resorts on the North Shore, this is by far the most deceptive and worst value.

Room Tip: Call (DO NOT BOOK ONLINE) and demand a lake front room. There are some rooms that are listed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I were married at Lutsen Resort 5 years ago and have made the trip back to the North Shore and Lutsen every Memorial Day since.

I have come to expect a relaxing time, filled with opprotunities to enjoy organizaed activities at the lodge or receive excellent, unvarnished advice from the Staff regarding activities and adventures off of the lodge properties.

The staff is top notch, truly attentive to your needs, the grounds, beautuful, activities fun and the food at the main lodge is good.

We now have 2 kids in tow and the lodge has fun activities for the little ones to give mom and dad a chance to unwind. My oldest couldnt stop talking about all the fun she had during her "kids only" exploration of the grounds and activities. The girls who took the kids out really made an impression, kudos to them (it was over Labor Day but cant remember their names).

Stop by to see Don in the bar, usually there Friday and Saturday night. Great bartender and he has all sorts of suggestions about the where's and what to dos.

Dont mean to short anyway, the entire staff is excellent and really do go out of their way to make your stay a good experience!

If you are heading to the North Shore, Lutsen is a great option for your lodging!

Room Tip: the Cabins are GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior

Address: 5700 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lutsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lutsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lutsen Resort On Lake Superior Hotel Lutsen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.