We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Charlie's Saloon & Grill

Papa Charlie's Saloon & Grill
467 Ski Hill Rd., Lutsen, MN 55612
(218) 663-7800
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 6 Restaurants in Lutsen
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
plymouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Everything here is disappointing. Wilted lettuce for salad, cream soup tastes like fat, not cream, nachos is just crappy tortilla chips (not fresh, yummy ones!) with pace salsa!! And yet they charge crazy prices...

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    41
    28
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Ok food, spendy drinks, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The place was packed and there was not enough help working. The workers there did the best they could I am sure but one person can only do so much. Spent more than we wanted on a few beverages and food was just ok. Not sure we would eat there again. The boys did play ping pong for free while waiting for service and food etc.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Steak was delish, as were the smoked gouda mashed taters and the spinach and mushrooms, and the full rack of ribs. End with the mini bundt choc cake!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Service, nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The service was good that's it... the food was really lame and expensive. I ordered a side dish of spinach and local wild mushroom, I got spinach and canned button mushroom! The salad seemed old and the huge meat balls way too spicy as was the check - $110+ for 4 people and not even alcohol.

This place is a party place only stay clear of the grill.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great View, Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

During our stay at Eagle Ridge, we visited Papa Charlie's for drinks and appetizers. The weather was unseasonably warm and we enjoyed the view from their deck. Our drinks were good and the appetizer (nachos) was average. The bartender/server was a bit slow, but the service was good overall.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Charlie's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Papa Charlie's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Charlie's Saloon & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.