We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascade Lodge Restaurant

Cascade Lodge Restaurant
3719 W Highway 61, Lutsen, MN 55612-9534
+1 218-387-2911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Lutsen
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Award winning serving breakfast until 2pm, lunch from 11-close and dinner from 4-C. Handcrafted meals, vegetarian options, fresh fish seasonally. Happy hour 3-6 pm with half price appetizers and drink specials from our full bar. Pub and Restaurant open daily except for Christmas day.
Knife River, Minnesota
1 review
“Every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A few times each year my daughters and I have been driving up the shore stopping at shops all along the way. We always stop for a early dinner at cascade restaurant. For the past few years we have stopped in for dinner the food is always good to great depending on the dish we choose but the service- that little Jessica is always there. She is always alone there and it is almost always packed nearly full. I don't know how she runs around with a smile on her face serving old farts like myself. We come about three times a year and we've only not had her as our waitress once We were dissapointed not to see her this last time. She is amazing and we look forward to her polite and fast service. Four years of this little girl zipping back and forth smiling and making jokes. If she still works there I hope to see her next time we stop. She is worth coming back to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Jess won #1 server in all of Lake and Cook County last fall! I am sure she will appreciate seeing what you wrote. I am happy for your return visits! Maureen-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    56
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast: great food, ambience and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

With a northwoods lodge ambience and a view of the lake, we enjoyed a lovely late breakfast on a Sunday morning in March. . The cook was able to accomodate our specialized order for eggs Benedict with turkey instead of ham and cajun sauce, just the right amount of spice. My dining companion and I enjoyed 3 pots of coffee without being made to feel guilty. Lovely ambience, good food and a responsive wait staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the way home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was an average cafe breakfast. Service was good. The pancakes were good and fluffy. The atmosphere is northwoodsy and was well kept.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“food took a long time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The service was poor--too bad given the nice location. There are many other choices, and even when it is not busy and you call ahead it still took over an hour to get our food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our Award Winning Restaurant. We were clearly understaffed during your visit. This occasionally occurs on the North Shore when we are unable to hire the number of people we really need or when we are suddenly deluged with an unexpected rush of people looking for some good food! We strive to maintain excellent service and speed and hope that you return some time to experience us at our best! Michael-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Slow service inconsistent food quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We ate here 3 times (2 breakfasts and one dinner) over 2 days. Dinner Sunday..we arrived ar 5:30 and there was one waiter on duty.., after waiting a couple minutes he said he would be right with us... after about 5 minutes we seated ourselves. In another 5 minutes he came and got our drink orders..., we went and got our own menus. We finally got our ordersbtaken and waited about 15 minutes for our food..while it was cooked it was not hotbwhen it came out...not really the waiters fault but more so the management who only had 1 person on duty.

Breakfast the next day was included as part of the hotel package we purchased...and service was better but not overly friendly. The food was better. The last day we had breakfast again and my wifes pancake had an uncooked spot in the middle....ewwwww.

The decor is northwoodsy with a number of animal mounts on the wall..nice enough building, it was clean but needs a bit more attention to details.

Also.. the bridge connecting the resturant to the lodge was covered with ice..very slippery and just asking for someone to fall..it sure could use more attention

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadelodge, Owner at Cascade Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are surprised at your comment regarding breakfast as we were recently awarded the Number 1 breakfast spot in both Cook and Lake Counties and all of our chef's--all who are food certified, take great pride in their food. While we make every attempt to keep our facility well staffed, occasionally, we get an unexpected rush of people and it's difficult to keep up with it all. Also, a little known fact is that hiring on the North Shore is extremely difficult. There simply is not enough people to fill the jobs! Thanks again--Michael-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascade Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cascade Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascade Lodge Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.