We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst lodging experiences I've had in 10 years” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Asteria Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Asteria Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Asteria Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 Willow Drive N, Long Lake, MN 55356 (Formerly Americinn Lodge & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Lake
Mount Airy, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the worst lodging experiences I've had in 10 years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Although the room was adequate, the service was deplorable. Over 1/2 of the lobby lights were turned-off (intentionally) --even over the stairwell going to the 2nd floor. No replacement of soap or shampoo the second day. I tried to reach the hotel operator at 9 PM one evening, no one ever answered the phone after 2 attempts. The breakfast food was terrible -- no attendant anywhere to ask questions, including the front desk. The biggest issue was checking out -- my business trip was shortened by one day so I checked out one day early. After waiting for the front desk clerk (I swear I woke her up ringing the bell) -- I was told the computer system was down and I was promised a copy of the bill the next day -- wrong. After waiting a week -- no bill -- I went on-line to look at my American Express transaction and discovered I was charged for all 3 nights, not 2 nights. I called the night clerk and was promised a call the next morning by the manager the next morning -- that didn't happen. I called the manager and was told the system was still down and a credit could not be issued until my story was verified. Somehow they managed to process the charge but could not get to anything that verified I checked out a day early. Terrible, terrible experience. My suggestion --spend the extra money to stay in a properly run facility. This place is run like a hobby -- not a business. How anyone could possibly recommend this place is beyond me. Oh yeah, I forgot another interesting point,one of the staff members had no problem letting his dog run loose in the lobby -- not once but twice during my stay. Truly a unique experience --- we'll see if they man-up to my departuring a day early -- somehow I doubt it.

Tim Loden --

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    6
    10
See reviews for
11
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have stayed at a few American Inns before and this was not that nice. Good size room but no fridge, no Microwave and toilet leaked. I was not worth the 100 dollars for one night stay. Had to get ice from the machine for my cooler to keep things cold. I have stayed at smaller cheaper ones and they atleast had a fridge even if it was a very small one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My stay was awful from the moment of walking into the room as it smelled musty and dank. The room was not as I booked online and when asked for a change was told there were no other rooms that could accommodate me. The furnishing were old and in disrepair. When getting ready to take a shower I noticed excessive dripping of yellowish water from the ceiling tiles above the tub. I heard the water begin to run in the room above and the dripping turned into a deluge. I called the front desk who responded that it probably would stop once the occupants above were done showering. I was not offered any other solution such as a room change. I ended up showering in a relative's room during my two night stay. The only solution offerd from the staff was a $20 deduction on the room rate. I frequently travel to the area and will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

Everyone at the hotel was so friendly, every requests was granted. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was perfect. Our kids loved the pool!! It was a great stay!!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Weekend was too short
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Lake
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis West
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis / West-Minnetonka
7.6 mi away
Sheraton Minneapolis West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis-Minnetonka
4.7 mi away
Medina Inn
Medina Inn
#1 of 2 in Medina
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plymouth Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asteria Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asteria Inn & Suites

Address: 521 Willow Drive N, Long Lake, MN 55356 (Formerly Americinn Lodge & Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Long Lake
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Asteria Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asteria Inn & Suites offers affordable comfort as one of the best hotels in Long Lake, MN. Great location, affordable, and pet friendly, we have it all. The Asteria Inn & Suites provides easy access to Minneapolis without a metropolitan price. Less than 20 miles from the city center, our spacious hotel rooms feature popular amenities like free Wi-Fi, in-room mini kitchenette, work desk, and ironing facilities. All of our guests are welcome to partake in a complimentary hot breakfast or to de-stress with a dip in our pool or soak in the hot tub. A business center is available for those who need to work on the road. For luxury lodging without a five star price, we remain one of the most affordable hotels inLong Lake, MN, and the greater Minneapolis area. We are proud to be one of only a few pet friendly hotels in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Asteria Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asteria Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.