We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat from all of the bustle of biking, canoeing and shopping.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Mill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
“Great retreat from all of the bustle of biking, canoeing and shopping.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We loved the layout of the loft rooms. Delighted with the private A/C since it was 95 degrees outside. Nice staff, lovely continental breakfast. It was all good!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
217
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

The Egg Room was very quaint and enjoyable. The Jacuzzi in the room allowed us to simply relax without having to leave the comfort of the room after a day of biking and exploring the town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Enjoyed our stay very much. Bought the romance package and it was all we thought it would be. Kept us busy with the carriage ride, dinner, and massage. Room was very clean and the jaccuzi tub was great. Spent Saturday biking and tubing and relaxing. We made reservations for next summer and are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

At around $200 per night, I thought our room at the Stone Mill Suites was overpriced. I've stayed many times in hotels at this price point and felt I got what I paid for, but not so with this one. I realize the owners have tried to preserve some of the historic character of the building, and I appreciate that; however, in doing so, it appears they skimped on the room furnishings. At $200 a night, I don't feel one should be paying for indoor/outdoor carpeting; surface-mounted electrical conduit (in fairness, maybe this was due to structural limitations and the only alternative; but it could at least have been painted to match the room); a too-small bathroom with the sink (not a vanity or even a tabletop; I wound up putting my bag of toiletries on a small stand we found in another part of the room) in the living area; non-descript compact fluorescent lighting fixtures, including a large globe-style over the bed (Huh? Fluorescent lighting over the bed?); mismatched plastic and metal clothes hangers that appeared to have been left behind by other patrons; a futon and lamps that honestly looked as though they'd been purchased at a garage sale; and so on. I apologize if this sounds mean-spirited. I simply feel that if the owners want to charge a premium price, there's some obligation on their part to see what $200 buys at other hotels. $75 to $100 instead of $200 per night is in my opinion more appropriate.

On the positive side, the room was clean, relatively quiet, and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoneMillSuites, Owner at Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank-you for sharing your honest opinion about your stay with us in the Crate Room which has a rate of $180 during our peak season weekends and during the week is $150. I would first like to address the surface mounted conduits. This was an intentional as it is the same sort of way that the building has always held its electrical. Our goal in renovation was to keep as much of the old ways while still providing modern day comforts. We replaced all the conduit with new and did not have any intention of painting over the silver if possible to keep with the look of this once Egg and Poultry processing plant. The carpet in the room is a commercial grade indoor carpet. As this is the Crate Suite, the lamps are themed as such (a chicken heating lamp, a decorative rooster lamp). I can say that all decor in this room is not of garage sale purchase. As the bathroom takes up 1/4 of the space in 1 part of this 2 section room, we do not consider it to be small and there is a shelf right next to the sink for toiletries. The Crate Jacuzzi Suite is one of our most popular suites and chosen frequently as number 1 for anniversaries and honeymoons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stone Mill Suites is a charming and cozy inn. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and charming. It is located very conveniently to outdoor activities, theatre, fun restaurants and shops. Our two daughters enjoyed the loft and jacuzzi in the Farm Suite. We stayed only two days in the area but were able to bike, canoe, horseback ride, take an Amish tour, eat at the Aroma Pie Shop and Pedal Pushers Restaurant and go to the Commonweal Theatre. We had a delightful time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Plain, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Beautiful setting for a quick weekend for my husband and I. We stayed in the Farm Room -which featured a whirpool (was appreciated after a long day of biking by very occasional bikers :-) and small, low-ceilinged loft area.(Loft would be fun for kids 6-10) Bed was comfortable.

We purchased the romance package which included a carriage ride through town (thought this might be sappy at first - but was a beautiful evening and the driver was very congenial - he let us take our glasses of wine with us!! It ended up being a trip highlight), massage (mix-up in reservation- so we were not able to receive this service - cash refund with NO problem) and dinner at the Root River Inn. The building was unique and quaint - quiet. Breakfast was continental - simple and ok. We will definitely return to Lanesboro! OH - if biking west DEFINITELY stop at the Aroma Pie Shop in Whalen - the Raspberry Cream Pie is worth the trip alone!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed in a split level suite that had a loft bed and, on another level, a futon. Convenient for both time together and apart. The room was appropriately decorated (not to much), the beds (and futon!) were very comfortable. While we weren't there for the cable TV and wifi, the latter was certainly appreciated. The owners were exceptionally helpful in making plans, providing guidance and being warm and gracious hosts. The breakfast was a bit sparse---the oatmeal was rather low end and the coffee was quite weak. We would return, however, and have already commended the Stone Mill Suites to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.