We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL HONEYMOON SPOT.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stone Mill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belle Plaine, Minnesota
1 review
“WONDERFUL HONEYMOON SPOT.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We wanted a quick, relaxing honeymoon and this was the perfect spot.
It is quiet and close to everything that we could walk wherever we wanted to go.
It was raining so we were unable to enjoy the biking, however it gives us an excuse to come back. The rooms were clean and charming.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    60
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
217
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Stone Mill Suites on June 12th and 13th for a weekend getaway. We were drawn to it by its top ranking on Tripadvisor and its corresponding high reviews from visitors.
Overall, we were mostly pleased with our experience at Stone Mill Suites. The rooms are nice and roomy. It really is quite cool how this mill has been turned into loft suites. We stayed in the Bicycle suite on our first night and the Garden suite on our second night, as no room was available for both nights we were staying. Each room was nicely decorated per its respective theme and had character.
Upon arrival, we were disappointed by the lacking guest relations displayed by the woman at the front desk. She seemed inconvenienced by our seemingly late arrival at 5:00 p.m. on a Saturday, well within the stated business hours. We did not feel welcomed or appreciated by this woman, particularly when compared to the hospitality shown by employees of much lesser quality hotels that we've visited over the years. Unfortunately, this sub-par hospitality continued at any other point that we saw the same woman at the main desk during out stay. A smile or thanking us for staying at Stone Mill Suites would have gone a long way.
When we got to our room, we found that a hand towel had fallen in the toilet, the ice bucket still had melted ice in it, and there were no glasses/cups in the room. (Despite the fact that there was a stocked coffee maker.) We were frustrated by each of these things and quickly went to the front desk to request assistance, but found that the staff member had already gone home for the night. To be fair, we chose to handle these issues ourselves rather than call one of the on-call phone numbers. This is something to be mindful of--the Suites are not staffed throughout the day, as one would expect in comparable "big city" hotels.
The televisions in the rooms are small, old, and low quality. This was more of an issue for us, as the poor weather led us indoors more than we would have liked. Watching the World Cup, etc. on these TV's was less than ideal. We also tried hooking up our portable DVD player, but were unable to because these TV's don't have the necessary A/V hook-up's.
The breakfast was decent, but fairly picked over when we arrived at 8:40 one morning (it goes from 7:00-9:00 a.m., which seemed a bit early to end). There also was not enough seating for all guests and we consequently brought our breakfast to our room. We did enjoy the pastries.
Overall, Stone Mill Suites is a nice, unique place to stay in Lanesboro. However, I don't think it was worth the $180 for Saturday night and $150 for Sunday night. I expect much, much better service and more/higher quality amenities for those rates. I have a feeling that one could find a B & B with much better customer service/hospitality for less in the Lanesboro area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoneMillSuites, Owner at Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
It is aparent to me that my employee must have forgotten that YOU are the reason she has a job. I have always reviewed with my staff the importance of the motto that the guest is the reason we exist and that they have a job. While I am excited that you found your rooms nice and roomy and the building to be unique, it is with hearfelt apologies that you felt you were shown sub-par hospitality while you were here. I am in disbelief on both the housekeeping and customer service ends as this employee has been with Stone Mill for 8 years. This is not my standard expected from staff. It will be addressed.

The 19" televisions in the rooms that were purchased at the time of building rennovation does seem small to todays viewers. They were at the time considered a standard hotel size. We know we need to replace and will soon (maybe after we begin to come out of the recession). There are adaptors for AV hookups at the front desk.

As we are a small business we do use our "please call" numbers quite frequently. We are very used to being of assistance at all hours of the day/night. At check-in guests are typically told "Do not hesitate to call".

I sincerely hope that you will return to beautiful Lanesboro, MN and enjoy all that our village has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

It's located at the end of main street Lanesboro so it's close to everything, but there's not much traffic. We stayed in the Boat Suite and it was really cool. The jacuzzi was great! I would definitely recommend Stone Mill.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed in the Crate Jacuzzi Room from 6/5/10 to 6/7/10. The room was spotless and the bathroom (always a big deal for me) was in new, perfect condition. The 2 room suite was larger than expected and the chicken details were adorable. The large covered porch was such a cozy place to sit during the rain; didn't even seem like a bummer that we couldn't go on the trail that afternoon.

The morning pastries were the best I've ever had! I'm not usually a pastry person, but I would go back just for those. We were told they were from the bakery right in town. Wonderful!

We were invited to take a look at any of the unoccupied rooms. All of them were very clean and very cute. I'd would stay in any of them.

The few critiques I have of the Inn were first and foremost, no shampoo or hair dryer for the room. I'm used to traveling now without having to bring those things, so it was very disappointing to be caught without either.

The other negatives were the lack of personality of the front desk employee who was there when we checked in and out. She was not the owner, but an employee. We felt very much like we bothered her with our presence.

Lastly, the room was noisy in the morning, like most places. We could hear the upstairs guests in their bathroom, making it impossible to sleep.

Despite those minor negatives we would stay again. Very cute place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoneMillSuites, Owner at Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
We are so excited that you found your room to be extremely clean. My housekeepers know toothbrushes by the name of Tommy! We have thought about creating T-shirts that say "Ask me about Tommy". My motto for my staff is if its not toothbrush clean, its not clean. Those pastries receive many rave reviews and are homemade fresh daily at the Lanesboro Pastry Shop. Our Soaps and lotions are also made locally at the Essence of Lanesboro where we have created our own "Suites Scent". The all over body wash is formulated for both hair and body. Hair dryers are available at the front desk. The part of your review that of course concerns me the most is the way that you felt the front desk staff treated you. Please be assured that your review along with my comments will be addressed. We are in business to over exceed guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lester Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at the Stone Mill Suites on June 4th. We stayed in the bicycle Loft room. We are small business owners, and the mangers we spoke with were all on the same level as we are, operating a small business in a small town. The job done in remodeling the stone mill into suites was absolutely wonderful! Each suite had so much personality. It was quiet, and had the feel of staying with friends. They were all very helpful, and breakfast was also done so nicely, with a small town feeling. The lofts gave us privacy when traveling with teenagers also.
It was so cool to walk to the theatre in the evening!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Stone Mill Suites. The owner was very helpful with recommending activities and restaurants.
We'll most certainly return

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings, mn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We've been staying here for many years while I ride my bike and in the evening take in a play at the nearby Commonweal Theater. Should you go and stay there? All I can say is a big YES, we keep going back regularly and have never been disappointed. Its a great hotel experience put on by a wonderful staff and a very interesting place in a wonderful little town located on the Root River where the bike trail is second to none!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Location: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Mill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.